Ratings based on 461 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

On the beach, close to town, snorking near by

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Great place for families. Loved Linda at the kids club. The boys asked to go back three days in a row!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nickeled and dimed the whole time

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: It was near the beach
Cons: Customer service, disclose your prices
consistently used one member of our group's bathroom on a daily basis. We were required to have our room cleaned after 2 days, which was marginal and they do not offer anything larger than double beds. There were guests that were not all-inclusive and so it required filling out tickets for everything, which was tedious at best. All in all, I understand that it is a different country, but it is a different world from Cancun and we will not be returning to Cabo. Just beware, that if you are looking for all-inclusive, I don't recommend you go here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange county

On the beach great atmosphere.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Hotel was just okay considering what you pay, service overall is slow but things get done. Biggest gripe would be the extremely slow service at restaurants, the servers at pool and bar were great though. Rooms were nice, just remember to keep AC running in order for it to be cool as its not as strong as you would hope, make sure you book the all inclusive because if not then it would be completely over priced for food and drinks that are mediocre at best. But, with the all inclusive then it's a good deal.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

The employees are not willing to give good service

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Nothing really.
Cons: Service and updating the facilities.
Location: Close, but not close enough to town.
They pretend they don't hear you. They look you in the eye like they are listening, but turn away like they never heard you. I thought it was just me and my husband, but other guests were complaining and asking us if we were experiencing the same thing. For example: I waived at the server twice and both times he looked at me and kept walking. So I chased him down and asked him if he spoke English and he said pequito. I asked for two shrimp cocktails and two margaritas and he said ok, I will bring them over to you in a few minutes. Really? He spoke perfect English! We went all inclusive and the servers at the pool, pick and choose the guests they like to service, and several times I had to go and look for our server. I guess $4 and $5 tips per drink wasn't enough to get them to come back. It was more than frustrating. The hotel is old and I would not recommend it to anyone. I just felt that the employees couldn't give a crap if we were their guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

On the beach

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: service-waiters were responsive and place was clean, and room service excellent for meals and cleaning
Cons: unfortunately since it was hot in the month of august and most all but one restaurant was outdoors, meant a generally warm setting in hot humid climat
Location: not much nearby except other hotels, need to book things there mostly and get transported by those companies elsewhere, even to 'town' as it was hot
With the 'all inclusive' package 3 night or more stay, we got a good deal, as the all meals and beverages/alcohol was included at baseline, and we got to access the sister 'blanco' hotel right next door with it's restaurants and pool too, as there were no near reasonable walking distance restaurants besides other hotels while it was hot out. conciere was very helpful in booking trips. we gave into the time share morning in exchange for discounts on snorkeling and dolphin adventure, we probably ended up ahead. unfortunately the beach was rough with the backlash back into the ocean overwhelming for kids, even some adult swimmers, unless you went out 20 ft with a flotation device-thats why the pool was so important.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado springs, co

Nice resort, friendly staff, close to beach

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: Very "Mexican" style resort - bold colors, lots of tile, nice outdoor common areas. Very friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: The rooms are beginning to look like they need a bit more maintenance - mostly cosmetic.
Location: Within walking distance to the marina (must walk on the beach), close to "town". Resort is literally on the beach - just walk 10 yards from the pool.
Check in process was very slow - it seems that they still do everything manually, on paper, even though they have a computer system at the front desk. Can exchange money at the front desk and the rates are reasonable. We rented a car, and found parking to be easy at the resort. Pool was very nice and not crowded. Only downside was the beach access - it was close, and beautiful, but full of "vendors" trying to sell you everything from excursions to jewelry to hats. Some of them are overly aggressive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Get The All-Inclusive Package!

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Very hospitable & attentive staff. Food and drinks overall were very good. Felini's Restaurant was excellent and easily worth the upgrade price ($10)
Cons: Top floor had some leaks sprouting (presumably from running the AC constantly). Also, more umbrellas on hand would be great for beach loungers.
Location: Short walk from the Marina, plus close to many great nearby resorts. We could see Land's End and Lover's Beach from our room.
Great vacation overall, and we're so glad we booked all-inclusive. Staying at a resort like Rose that offers both pay-as-you-go and all-inclusive plans is really the best since the quality of the food and drinks is still excellent, but it's all paid for upfront and unlimited! The room we wanted wasn't available on the day/night of our arrival, but it opened up for the rest of the trip so they were willing to move our luggage for us the next day while we were out exploring. Hotel grounds were well maintained (very large staff). Ideally there would be some enforcement of a time limit on people leaving towels on chairs to prevent the monopolizing of great spots under the cabanas and umbrellas. Beach servers were very prompt and attentive. Wifi is spotty (like most nearby hotels), but at least it's free in certain parts of the resort. Having full all-inclusive access the neighboring Blanco hotel meant we had double the food/drink options, and double the areas to rest and relax!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Perfect location, great time overall

Posted Aug 4, 2014
All the reviews I read we're pretty accurate. This place was great for my family ( husband, 18/20yr old sons and my sons girlfriend) location is perfect on the beach, close to town, amazing views. Hotel itself was solid 4. Would be a 5 with better staff, improved grounds keeping and better than average food. I did not come to Cabo to have fine dining every night so the buffets were fine and being able to walk next door (sister hotel) was a good change. They try to give a variety. The Fellinis restaurant was awesome-we did all inclusive but didn't mind paying extra for this. Many reviewers mentioned the extra cost so I was prepared. Food and staff were great at the restaurant. You can walk on the beach to many activities parasailing, jet ski's, kayaks etc. We did the snorkeling cruise recommended by the hotel it was very nice. The Mango Deck was a blast for the kids, highly recommend for people watchers, 18 year olds. Beach party atmosphere, people just having fun. It was end of July/beginning of August so very hot. Spent a lot of time at the pool. Pool food was good, service very hit and miss.but awesome to be able to have this feature of ordering from a beach lounge chair and being delivered food and drinks. Drinks were fine and the kids loved room service. We never waited more than 45 minutes. ( although other people we talked to had different exp. ) All inclusive seems the way to go. Overall I'd recommend pueblo bonito rose.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno, CA

One bad apple spoils the bunch!

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Our stay started off by our room not being ready at 4 pm instead it was until 530. My husband called from our friends room next door but they didn't seem too interested or even apologetic. Our safe didn't work but we didn't want to take longer in them fixing it. We got settled in & day 2 was so much better. Staff was very friendly and willing. Food was great, room was nice. Taxis available all hours. Room service was great too (45 min wait). ..But on our last day, the bartender at bar by the beach was very rude. My husband went to bar to get a drink for him and I and also two sodas for my kids. This bartender tells my husband he can only get two drinks per person with all-inclusive. My husband says "sir these are for my two girls" and he grabs his name tag and says "my name is Mesrain not sir!" My husband continues to tell him that it's the first time we hear that in the 5 days we've been there and that the two sodas are for our two little girls and he was not going to have my girls go up to bar to get their own. So he gives him the drinks but is very rude. We of course asked a waiter for a manager. Manager apologized and had us fill our a survey. Overall our stay was good. It would've been so much better without the bartender!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Fabulous experience

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Everything! Loved activities directors Angelo and Linda, Wilver and Gerry by the pool, Raul, Alberto and Juan Luis at Mare Nostra, Jorge at Cilantro.
Cons: Despite multiple advanced requests and assurances, we did not get all 3 rooms on the same floor which was hard having 1 room with kids 2 floors away.
Location: Cabo Dolphins was well worth the money, as was fly boarding and parasailing
We'd never been to Mexico and didn't know what to expect & found an amazing experience. PBR was fantastic! The rooms are very comfortable, clean, roomy and had everything you need & all inclusive is absolutely the way to go. The food is fantastic at both Rose & the sister property next door, the Blanco. Both resorts are on the Sea & the beach is a blast. They both have great pools with activities which kept my 5 kids, ages 13-20 very occupied for 7 days. The Blanco is smaller w/a round pool area & feels like a more intimate resort; Rose has a larger, longer pool which is great for volleyball & for finding a corner of the pool to yourself. Both resorts have fantastic, energetic vibe & I can't say enough about how gracious, kind, helpful & friendly the staff was at both resorts. My husband & I took the shuttle to the other sister properties, Sunset Beach and Pacifico. SB is on a steep hill so you have to wait for golf carts to get from place to place while Pacifico was adults only & very quiet/Zen. Both are beautiful but we agreed we liked Blanco/Rose better. Room service is very slow--upwards of 90 minutes but when you are at a resort you should not waste time in your room so it didn't matter. Only issue was room locations. We asked at booking & a week prior to arrival to put our 3 rms on the same floor since 2 of the rms had kids. Didn't happen which was disappointing. But that was the only rub & we're definitely making PBR our only beach go-to vacation resort.