Ratings based on 2,246 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by cindi from california

Beach hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2014
I loved the place is beautiful and the staff was so nice at all times, always with a smile on their face!!!:) I would defenatly recomend a friend. The poor bar was fun and the Mexican restaurant was one of my favorites! I loved the Mexican coffe made right in front of you. Overall it was an excellent experience and I will defenatly stay at Riu again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Experience!

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Great staff, location, food, room, everything! Id only like to see a bigger room service menu....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and great staff!

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: The food was amazing!! The staff was the best EVER!!!
Cons: The beds were too hard for all of us, and the rooms were pretty loud in the morning when we were trying to sleep in. The Wifi was very, very spotty.
Location: We went Jet Skiing, took a booze cruise and saw whales, and went down town to the clubs every night. Bring cash! The pool party is at Santa Fe.
Very pleasant experience here for my second time with a group of 7 ladies for our Bride-to-Be. The is the very best! They were able to make sure our rooms were right next to each other. The only thing that could be better was the beds. The beds were very hard and you can hear everything from people walking in the hallways. Also, our room was very far from the lobby where we had to catch taxi rides from so that was not a fun walk to make everyday in high heels. We will be requesting a closer room to the lobby next time. I will say that I had a better experience here at the Palace then at the Santa Fe last year. They even had name brand alcohol in the room which is better then the cheap stuff. Everyone in Cabo that we met that asked where we staying, said that the RIU Palace was the best place. The wifi only worked for 3 of our phones which made that hard. I would recommend not relying on have wifi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to th beach

Posted Apr 14, 2014
good sevice, management, and safe. close to th beach, family, kids friendly hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nicky from Mexcio D.F

very nice hotel on the beach

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: Staff were great!
Cons: Stop people putting towels down on sun loungers, its really annoying!
We had a really great time here, 2 very large pools one busy with entertainment the other was relaxed. Not enough sun loungers and hated the fact people put towels down on them and didn't show up for hours!!!Although it was on the beach you couldnĀ“t swim in the sea which was a shame as it looked amazing. There is a nice beach further up the coast for swimming though. Staff were great and were very helpful with anything you needed. I travelled with my 2 children ages 13 and 9, there was a lot for them to do.....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kurt from Lake Tapps, WA

Very clean, right on beach.

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Staff goes out of their way to fix problems. Pretty noisy at night with live music, in the beach front rooms. Good selection of food, good flavor too. Lots of activities for all ages. Pools clean, staff works hard cleaning facilities. Staff has limited English understanding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Best ever

Posted Apr 11, 2014
The food was outstanding! The scenery was beautiful. The service was prompt and the staff was very friendly. We will absolutely take this trip again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ken from Reno, NV

Right on the beach! Wonderful, caring staff!

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: The food was incredible and diverse enough to please all nine of us.The staff treated us like family.The beach was beautiful.
Cons: On check-in one room was not available.Gave us an overflow room above a noisy 24 hour bar.Got king instead of double beds for family of four.
Location: We took a fun boat ride to the arch.Walked to town along the beach.But, didn't really have to leave the resort!
We had a party of nine with three kids (7,10, and16) and everyone had a wonderful time. The food was excellent, diverse, and beautifully presented. We ate all but one meal at the buffet as we had difficulty getting reservations into the other restaurants. We never did get reservations for the steak house although we tried several times including upon arrival at the resort. The drinks flowed all day and night. And, the staff was friendly, helpful and accommodating. They knew our names on the second day and treated us like family. The pools and grounds are beautiful but there are not enough lounge chairs and you have to grab chairs by 7:15am if you want to be pool side. The staff had pool side participation events that we all enjoyed and the winners (six of the nine of us) were brought on stage at the evening show and were given a certificate and a prize. Even the grounds keepers were friendly; they gave us coconuts from the trees they were pruning prepared, with a straw and ready to drink. We will go back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mimi from OR

Overall

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: the fun part
Cons: service, hotel staff especially the manager is not understanding and is very rude and the quality of the bed sheets , pillows ..etc
Location: location is great
I liked the hotel in general , it was fun but i wouldn't give it a 4 out of 5 because it's just fun don't expect it to be luxuries.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrea from Corbin, KY

Great Vacation

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Cons: The process to make dinner reservations was terrible. I would get in line at 7am to make a reservation for that night and everything would be booked.
Location: The hotel is about 2 miles from the marina and a little less from shore activities. The sand was hard to walk on to get there; perhaps a water taxi??
First for the bad stuff.....I had requested a king bed and my room had 2 twins pushed together. The hotel was unable to change my room until the next to last day of my stay. My room also had a musty smell every time we had the air turned off. The bathtub was set up high so I had trouble getting in and out of it because I am short. Making dinner reservations was very frustrating, near impossible. You can't swim in the ocean in front of the hotel. Now for the good....The staff was very pleasant and helpful. They were always cleaning. The property is beautiful. The food was tastey and so were the drinks. Even though I wrote more negatives than positives, it was a great vacation and I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there myself again.