Ratings based on 2,789 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great Hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: Great staff, smaller resort so you are never more than a 1-2 minute walk from food, the pool, bar, or entertainment.
Cons: Only improvement would be the beds. Sheets were lower quality than even a budget hotel in the states. The mattresses were also not too great.
Overall great stay and great value. We did have to wait to check in but in fairness we arrived before the check-in time. Hotel staff was always very helpful, regardless of if you were tipping or not. Pools weren't too crowded, and there was a "party pool bar" and "relaxation pool bar" so you could choose what atmosphere you wanted. Only disappointment in the food was the steak house. Service was sub par and so was the food. All other restaurant experiences were great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: Staff is awesome! Beautiful hotel, very clean.
Cons: Very loud in the rooms, also make it easier to make reservations at the restaurants.
Had a great time! Staff is very nice and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fl

Good

Posted Jul 4, 2015
I liked the hotel and the the environment. The only complaint I have is the room. The bed was hard and the AC was very loud. Early in the morning there was noise in the hallway with cards traveling back and forth.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san jose, Ca

Great location

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Loved the Riu Palace. All inclusive really means all inclusive here! ( alcohol is included) It was like a cruise on land! Food was available all day long, but overall quality was just okay. Staff was amazing!!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great all-inclusive hotel on the beach.

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: The all-inclusive aspect of this hotel was great.
Cons: Bathtub was a bit on the narrow-side.Would have liked a separate shower.
Location: Location is good. Could be content never leaving the resort.Need to take a taxi to get to downtown Cabo San Lucas.
Hardest working staff I have ever seen. Every employee is hustling. Great food and drinks. Friendly staff. Excellent Infinity edge pools with ocean/bay views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Utah

Great Hotel, Amazing Food !

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: Hotel staff ( Caroline ) was friendly and helpful, Rooms were very clean and smelt clean and fresh daily. Beautiful landscaping and pools.
Cons: Observed the bar tender not putting alcohol in our drinks several times...Drink beer or do shots if you want alcohol in your drink !
Location: Shopping in town, Sunset cruises, Parasail, Go to the beach you will have all to yourself.. No one goes to the beach in Cabo.
Getting to the resort was a joke.. U.S Airways cancelled two of our flights on the second leg of our trip. They said it was due to needed maintenance on the planes... Ok great hopefully they/we avoided an in fight mechanical problem... But two planes in a row? Hard to believe but better to be safe than sorry. Lost one night and one full day at our resort ! We stood in line with 150 other equally frustrated people most of the day trying to get any available flights to our resort with no luck ! Finally we found a U.S Airways counter that was willing to help us in Phoenix, Az and he was able to get us on a flight to Dallas where we were able to get a connecting flight to our resort in Cabo. An Expedia representative was supposed to contact our resort and notify them about our canceled flights and advise them to hold our reservations. Which they did but the resort desk employee never in put the information in to the resorts computer system. So when we arrived at the resort we did not have a room for the last day of our stay.... After several emails and international phone calls $$$$ we were able to get things figured out and the remainder of our trip was amazing... Moral of this long story....Make sure have a way to contact a live person at Expedia, your airline and resort by phone 24/7 if you need to resolve any scheduling conflicts or you will lose valuable vacation days !!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas, tx

Gorgeous views

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: The views, the decks, pool, staff.
Cons: Food and desserts
Location: Location was perfect because of the view. The taxi was $14 to go to the marina, it was a nice walk, nice bars and restaurants.
This hotel was so perfect for us. The view was incredible, all we saw was the gorgeous ocean and the rocks of the arch. We just sat in the pool for hours watching our view. The staff is so nice and helpful. My daughter fainted due to the heat and sun, we were by the scuba diving office, the lady at the massage tent came running with alcohol to help us, the lifeguard was also very nice and most of all Juan Carlos, the scuba diving instructor, he was so knowledgeable and caring. The decks of this hotel are spectacular, the shows were bad but were entertaining, our nights were so nice after dinner we went to the bar where the band and show was and after we went upstairs to the "Ventanas bar", this place is gorgeous, the atmosphere was great too. The only thing they need to improve is the food and desserts , they are beautifully displayed and the variety is incredible, but they didn't taste good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice hotel, in front of the beach.

Posted Jul 2, 2015
My husband and I really enjoyed our stay. The room we got was ocean view on the 4th floor, it was private with great beach view and at night the moon would reflect the water giving it a natural glow. The staff was so accommodating, we tipped each time we ate at the buffet and restaurants and the service was above and beyond. We want to give special thanks to Abril at the buffet, Jeremias at the steakhouse, Felix at the piano bar, and Manuel at the front desk. They were very accommodating, professional and talkative. Overall, enhanced our stay at the Riu.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Honeymoon!

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Staff was incredible! We couldn't have picked a better place to spend our honeymoon! The food selection was amazing! It's so nice to just spend a week not having to worry about anything! I would recommend Riu Palace to anyone who wants a luxurious getaway that is still reasonably priced!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Modesto, CA

Nice Hotel - We'd stay here again

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: Hotel staff was great! Food and restaurants were good. Bar service was awesome. Beautiful grounds and pools.
Cons: The bedding needs to be improved at this hotel. The pillows are flat and not very comfortable and the bed spread could be updated/improved.
Location: $14 cab ride to downtown Cabo........you can walk it on the beach, but it's a workout. We golfed and jet-skied, had massages and swam with Dolphins.
We had a great family trip to Cabo. We chose an all-inclusive to help keep the costs down since we traveled with our 18 and 21 year old adult children. All of the food and beverages are included in the price at this hotel - even the mini-bar and room service, which my daughter ordered from nightly. The grounds and pools are beautiful. Bring lots of ones and fives for tipping the staff. There is a charge to use the ATM at the hotel and it only disperses Pesos. I will bring more cash with me next time.