Ratings based on 2,430 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice Hotel, Gorgeous Ocean!

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: The pool is huge and the rooms are fully stocked with booze :)
Cons: No water pipe issues would have been nice so we could have showered before our departure!! Or at least a late check out would have been appreciated!!
Location: Beach, Bars, Food, Pools, Fishing, Snorkeling, Surfing, Massage, Dancing, Chillin.......
We had a blast! How could you not? The hotel was a little bit further from the downtown scene than we thought but we could still walk there in about 10 min on the beach! Would stay again!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Western Australia

Amazing Hotel right on the beach!

Posted Sep 15, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Excellent resort, food below average.

Posted Sep 13, 2014
This resort is amazing. Right on the beach with gorgeous views of the ocean and "The Arch". The staff is constantly at work keeping the entire resort spotless. Very friendly and attentive. Service is excellent. Only downfall is the food, although I've come to expect this at all inclusive resorts. There are tons of variety but the quality is not very good. It lacks flavor and overall satisfaction. By the last day we wanted to puke thinking about one more buffet trip. Also, don't buy in on the "restaurants". They're simply buffet food presented in a fancy way. Another complaint is the noise in the mornings. Their website specifically states they can't guarantee noise free rooms, and they're not lying! If you drank too much the night before and want to sleep it, forget about it. You will be awoken to the sounds of loud door slams and cleaning crew in the hallways.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Amazing View! Wonderful staff!

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: location, staff, and pool
Cons: The rooms smelled musty and were damp (furniture and beds). This could be contributed to the hurricane that was there a few days before we arrived.
Location: Location was great. Take a taxi to downtown Cabo and marina for some local shopping. Riu has staff on site who can book many excursions as well.
The view was Amazing! The staff were very polite, welcoming, and friendly. Anytime you were ready to sit down someone was there to pull your chair out for you. Always coming by to see if they could get you something.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Great getaway

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Loved the Riu Palace! Room was always clean and neat, plenty of towels. Would recommend it highly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice facility. Beautiful grounds.

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Too American for my travel preference. Great place for couples. Zero culture
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA ,CA

Very nice hotel and best service

Posted Sep 10, 2014
I had a wonderful time .Very nice hotel and staff .Great service ,exelant food.With one word everything was perfect .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cali

2nd time staying here, always top notch.

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Never disappointed, they remembered us from 5 years ago and upgraded our in room bar with top shelf. We will be going back in 3 months!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Great Resort overall

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Cons: Staff friendliness and manners
Location: So much to do within the hotel that you never needed to leave.
Great resort overall. Much to do, lots to eat, and never needed to leave the area. Only downfall was the hotel staff at times. When we arrived our ocean view room had a broken shower. It took 2 hours for someone to come out and "fix" the knob (after we had been at the pool all day and missed dinner). Eventually we asked to be switched rooms. They put us in a much lower room with a view of a dirt field. Very un-accomodating and never apologized once.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redwood City, CA

Good hotel property with some room for improvement

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: The food was outstanding. The staff were friendly and very hard working. The hotel was large and clean with huge space
Cons: Coffee maker in room didn't work. TV wasn't hooked up (I hooked it up). Low alcohol content liquor with no option to purchase the real stuff.
Location: About 2.5 miles from downtown Cabo San Lucas. I ran there along a horrible little road with a crumbling sidewalk.