Ratings based on 2,799 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 1, 2015
The worst hotel experience ever. Do not go here if you want to relax. Food is horrible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tipton, IN

Very clean resort

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Resort is very accomadating. Depending on room/unit it is a long walk to beach area. Food was a 3.5 out of 5 rating. Staff was very courteous. Lots of pool activities which caters to young people. The pool areas needed more loungers/chairs to accomadate the resort size. You had to reserve your pool loungers/chairs early in the morning to have a place to set. The RIU Palace next door would be more accomadting to people looking for a quieter environment. Airport is 40 minutes from resort. Overall a great experience we will return someday but maybe consider the Palce depending on additional cost.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom indiana

Posted Feb 27, 2015
The dinner reservation system could definitely use improvement. Basically you can't get a reservations at one of the dinner places for the first two nights unless you check in the morning. We stayed for 4 nights and were only able to get dinner one of the nights. Other than the food the place is very nice and we had a good time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Iowa

Awesome resort

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Right away the size of the resort blew us away. Rooms were very nice and kept clean daily by maid service. The staff was top notch. I've never seen people work as hard as these guys. Especially the bar tenders. I would definitely go back and would recommend. Food is good but don't be afraid to venture off the resort and try new things.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Walla Walla, WA

Great deal & location!

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: Accomadations were nice, grounds were absolutely gorgeous and maticulously taken care of daily. Room was clean and comfy.
Cons: Didnt care for the lounge chair saving by people who didn't even show up until late afternoon to use them. Pools need a tiny bit of repairing.
Location: Location is perfect! Close enough to walk to town or down the beach to beach bars. You can book tours on the beach, ride sea doos or get a massage!
We were pleased with just about everything about the RIU Santa Fe....It was wonderful! Perfect location, comfortable and beautiful accommodations, hardworking staff always seeking to help/take care of you, immaculate grounds, good food and a lot of options, drinks are strong and plentiful. Not too far from downtown Cabo but yet you feel like you are away from the downtown hustle for relaxing. Be sure to get your pool towels early (night before, 6 pm) as people save their lounge chairs as early as midnight the night before. If you want a seat be sure to go a minimum of before 7 am or you may not get a spot! Food options were not all gourmet but they were very tasty and there were plenty of options for every meal, we were never hungry! Plus you can have snacks in between meals that were like light meals and again, lots to choose from. Pools were wonderful and we greatly enjoyed lounging and drinking poolside to unwind. Would definitely recommend this resort to friends and come back again :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego,CA

Great family vacation resort!

Posted Feb 26, 2015
I have to admit that i was hesitant after reading all the negative reviews. But you know what?I've come to realize that it was mainly people with high standards. Don't get me wrong, i have high standards but realized that this resort was perfect for the price i paid. Staff was fantastic. Everyone seemed to be happy and willing to help. All you can drink alcohol NOT watered down was good. Try the superman, crazy horse, and mojito! My favorites. I have to admit that yes the resort can prob. Up it on the food, however, there are tons of selections often fresh food be it in the morning or evening! The taco stand at the plaza every night was delicious and fresh. Gotta give the resort props for that. Reserved at the chinese and italian. I highly recommend the asian.not the italian though. I would go back if i want to do a family trip. Lots of couples all ages and family with kids. Pools were great. Spent most of the time by building 3 since it is a lot more quiet and relaxing.Entertainment at 8 for kids and 9pm for adults were fantastic.Recommend to see international show, groovy, and grease!If you plan on staying here please please tip your bartender, your housekeeper, your waiters,your luggage carrier and anyone assisting you.I noticed that these are hard working individuals willing to provide great service to us all.to management, i hope you are paying your employees well!They are representing you very well. Please recognize them all!Cancun VS Cabo?Cancun still bc of the ocean!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom wisconsin

Great return experience!!

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Location: We actually traveled by city bus for sightseeing in downtown Cabo--$1.00 each way
A group of seven!!! Arrived 2/16/2015 for a week of glorious sunshine and pampering at the Riu Sante Fe--food fabulous, rooms kept spotless, hotel staff-10 stars, shows and entertainment a lovely bonus to the end of your day. My husband and I had been to this resort 3 previous years and wanted to share this gem with our friends--it was an easy choice!! Special thanks to Grey Lines for assisting us with our sunset dinner sailboat cruise and whale watching and swimming with dolphins!! See you next year!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MN

10 day vacation from our frigid weather

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: The neatness of the property every where!! We never saw one bug! The speed and politeness of the staff. The location to the beaches,etc.
Cons: The all inclusive food became monotonous. The reservations to the steak, asian, & Italian places should have been easier to get.
Location: The view, fishing, whale watching, activities & water sports were all fantastic!
We have traveled numerous places in Mexico and Central America. This all inclusive hotel was the best one we have stayed in. For the 10 days we were there we didn't have any major problems. Our room, was in building 7 where we requested to stay prior to our visit because of its reviews. We had a room on the main level. We could walk out of our room and be close to 3 huge pools,one of which had a swim up bar and also a restaurant. We had a few minor complaints: 1-It was far from town and it cost $14 each way either by boat or regular taxi. We like to walk but because of a medical condition that I have and the distance, we had to pay a taxi each time one or both of us went to town. My husband is an avid sport fisherman and he would have preferred that the hotel wouldn't have been that far from the Marina. The fishing was awesome so we had plenty of fish to bring home. The hotel kept the processed fish frozen and safe for us for one night so that we could bring it home on the plane the next day. When we have stayed at other hotels in this area that has not always been the case. 2-One morning we had trouble with some one removing our towels from our two chairs plus our marked umbrella but the pool staff replaced them within minutes. This hotel was full practically the whole time we were there and did an excellent job! 3. The food is the pretty much the same for each meal each day but pretty good quality, great quantity and an excellent presentation but it got boring.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

Beautiful pools beachfront, but service lacking

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: The property has 2 beautiful pools with swim-up bars, 1 of them an infinity overlooking the beach. All-inclusive is very convenient.
Cons: After hours, the only food available is unappetizing pre-made hot dogs and hamburgers that you pull from a fridge and microwave.
Location: Right on the beach, and quick taxi or boat ride (~$15 each way) to town. You can book scuba, whale watching, and other trips from the hotel.
The general staff serving food and drinks and maintaining the property were all extremely friendly and polite, always smiling and saying hello if you passed them on the property. However the front desk managers, particularly Daniel P, have a few things to learn about customer service. We had an issue arise during the stay and Daniel's attitude toward us was extremely condescending and arrogant. Rather than apologizing for our inconvenience (or ever uttering the words "I'm sorry"), he refused to discuss how we could fix the situation. When we asked to work it out with another manager in hopes of finding someone with a better attitude, he threatened to have us forcibly removed from the property for refusing to cooperate with him. Fortunately we were able to speak to another manager and it did not come to this, but this was an unwelcome and stressful experience during our vacation. Beds weren't very comfortable and food while plentiful was not as high-quality as we expected. Overall we liked the property though and would have recommended it if it were not for our unfortunate experience with Daniel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Check in Non-Sense/ Nightmare

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: the variety of pools and food
Cons: Keeping the bars in the plaza open an hour longer.
Everything was great but the check in. They kept changing our rooms and the clown who grouped us wasted about two hours of our time.