Ratings based on 1,109 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Close to the Marina

Posted Mar 1, 2015
We enjoyed our stay at Finnisterra. It was convenient because it's close to the beach, close to marina, walking distance to the cabo dolphin where we spent couple hours and multiple different styles of restaurants and they have activities every night that we also enjoyed. Will definitely go back. The staff were amazing too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tacoma, WASHINGTON

food, staff, location, and resort was excellent

Posted Mar 1, 2015
i cant say enough about my stay at Sandos Finisterra in Cabo San Lucas, Mexico. The staff, food, location, and shows were all excellent. I'd highly recommend Sandos and definitely recommend being all inclusive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Noblesville, Indiana

Nice hotel with ocean and marina views

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: The food, the views, the staff and the closeness to the marina and shops.
Cons: Possibly having golf carts available to take guests back up hill when returning to the hotel. The hill is pretty steep.
Location: 10 minute walk to water taxis, shops, bars and restaurants. We did a sunset cruise which was fantastic. We were entertained by whales the entire tim
This hotel is really nice and clean and a 10 minute walk to the shops, bars and restaurants at the marina. We stayed in a marina/bay view room and could see the dolphin show across the street, watch the hotel's nightly shows from our balcony and watch the ships in the marina. Todd was pretty good, especially at Emiliano's, the Italian place. Agave restaurant had really slow service but I think they were short on staff and that was the delay, we didn't have this anywhere else. Views from the pool and beach area were beautiful, especially being able to see whales from the beach. Sebastian is the Expedia rep on site and he was awesome! Super friendly and helpful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Nice location, beach and close to downtown.

Posted Feb 28, 2015
This is a very nice all inclusive resort hotel. It has a nice private beach although you can't swim due to strong under current on pacific side. It is also close to downtown and Marina. Hotel pool, facilities and rooms (with oceanview) are very nice, Food is okay, not many restaurants and food options. Lots of pork and red meat and not much veg or chicken items, it needs to have other Restaurants such Asian, Mediterranean, etc, Overall a good resort except for food choices,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom canada

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Shows its age a bit, but it is well maintained. Lunch was the worst meal of the day with not many options or choices. Breakfast selection was great and dinner choices were awesome! Pool areas were great, just disappointing that you can't swim in the ocean by the resort, but they can't control that. All in all a really great stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bay Area, California

Bachelorette Trip

Posted Feb 27, 2015
The hotel facilities were well-kept and beautiful. We enjoyed the food and the service a great deal. The amenities like the yoga/pilates classes, fitness center, bon fires, and nighttime entertain were always wonderful and a nice privilege to have on vacation. My only gripe is the condition of the hotel rooms. We stayed in 2 junior suites and it seems as though the resort spends a great deal of energy maintaining the facility and amenities but not the hotel rooms. Our bathroom caulking was dirty and peeling and our floor tiles was cracked. The shower was not clean either and our screen door to the balcony broke twice. Otherwise, we enjoyed the resort a great deal. We especially loved the staff in particular the wait staff on the beach!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great pools, mediocre food

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Staff was great and accommodating. The pools were great and lots of activities going on so there is never a dull moment. However, the food was mediocre. Buffet for breakfast and dinner was not that impressive. Quality wasn't very high. Disappointes that the fruit wasn't fresher. the best meal is at Agave. Tacos and shrimp cocktail Acapulco style were very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Beautiful hotel on beach and near downtown.

Posted Feb 23, 2015
The Sandos was absolutely gorgeous. It's perfectly situated on the beach and within walking distance to downtown and everything fun. However, while at the resort you feel very private despite being so close to town. You also get to be @ beach level or up on the hillside since the hotels bars, restaurants (most of them), spa & gym are situated higher up giving guests the best ocean & city views. Whale watching was amazing and an everyday occurrence for us during our stay in February. We can't wait to go back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, Alberta

Great Beach

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: Loved the beach, the privacy, the remoteness, the views.
Cons: Food was mostly only mediocre, which seems typical of all-inclusives. When you don't have to pay for every meal they tend to offer mid-range fare.
Location: Location was great, didn't do anything nearby, just wanted to lie on the beach. Would like to have swam in the ocean, but it was too rough.
We only stayed 3 days then moved on to another resort, but the beach at Finisterra was fabulous, big, spacious, lots of room in between the pallapas. The big drawback was no swimming in the ocean, which I get, it's too rough, but it still compromises their offering. The pools were very nice (not too warm), but I didn't like that they played music (sometimes bad music) from 9 to 4 every day. It was especially nice when the kids stuck to the upper pool, and the adults could stay in the lower, but that didn't always happen. Overall it was very relaxing and we really enjoyed the convenience of the all-inclusive aspect. The wrist-band class system was a bit frustrating at times. Also, if you don't get a really, really good deal on your room, the whole place is criminally over-priced. Like truly ridiculous. We paid $225/night for a room (they claim) was normally charged out at $820/night or something. Even at $225/night it was a stretch. Nice hotel, but not that nice. We'd return, but only if we found a similar deal. I wouldn't go near the place at full price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Really nice hotel in the PERFECT location......

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION. We did the All-Inclusive, so for free food it was very good, if I was paying for it maybe not. Entertainment was great too
Cons: Rooms weren't the nicest I've stayed in, but definitely not the worst. Also we're not in there that often. Elevators were out of order all week.
Location: With this location, you had Cabo at your fingertips. Restaurants, bars, the marina, everything in walking distance.
This was my first time in Cabo and really wanted to do and see as much as possible in the week we were there. This hotel was in the perfect location for that. Was able to walk the beach, although you can't go in the ocean, but the scenery was beautiful and you could walk with a bit of rock climbing to Lovers Beach. It was also right across the street from the marina, which had a ton of restaurants and bars and tours to choose from. Also you can get a water taxi there to take you anywhere you would want to go. Also going through the marina you could walk to all the nightlife spots(Cabo Wabo, Pink Kitty, Mango Deck, etc.) That is IF you want to leave this hotel. The entertainment staff was excellent and put on great shows each night. The Wednesday White Party on the beach is a must see. The servers by the pool all hustled pretty good and never forgot what we were drinking all week. And 90% of the time you order you got "one for the right hand and one for the left" We did the All-Inclusive package, but still tipped pretty well. We upgraded to have access to the Royal Elite pool, not worth it, unless you want peace and quiet. Someone complained that we were being to loud talking and that we put music on, which we did not turn up very loud. Sorry for trying to enjoy ourselves too. If it was for Ismael, the bartender at this pool, I would have never gone back to that pool, but his drinks were excellent, he was very attentative and genuinely a nice guy. He took care of us all week!!