Ratings based on 561 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from yakima, wa.

Fantastic Solmar

Posted Jul 3, 2014
After looking at dozens of places to stay in Cabo finally picked Solmar and definately made the right choice. Yes other resorts have many more amenities but Solmars location is perfect for anything you may want to do in Cabo!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, Texas

Loved the location and NO buffet

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: For the price I don't think you can beat the size of the rooms, the location and the food.
Cons: Closing all the bars and restaurants at 10:00 seems a little early, even for me..
Staff, room, food all were really good. They called me by name after the first day. Loved no vendors on the beach.. Only issues was the noise outside buildings J and K due to the construction of a new building at Gran Solmar. Started about 8:00 am and went till about 6:00pm Monday-Thursday I think. Not really a big issue unless you had been fishing in the heat and wanted a nap during the day. Couldn't hear the noise anywhere else in the resort really.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

decent hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Cons: food services, wi-fi shoudl work EVERYWHERE, especially if you have to pay for it.
We went with the all inclusive. The rooms were large and cozy, bed was huge and very comfortable. Overall I think we definintely got our moneys worth given how much we ate and drank. Things that were sub-par or irritating were that the bar tenders/servers took an excessively long team (it took an hour to get a vegetarian sushi roll) and were often times hard to track down to obtain something simple like a canned beer. I think it comes from the fact that its an all inclusive so they probably don't get tipped well and so they don't care as much. One evening the bar tender told us he was closed at 940 when it was well known it closed at 10pm. All we wanted was beer. He told us to go to the kitchen who then sent us back to the bar and made him give us alcohol...so stuff like that got kind of old. As a vegetarian the options are limited. Breakfast was by far the best meal though, with lots of options for meat and veggie lovers. Dinner seemed pretty good if you like meat/seafood. But for vegeatrians there are a few soups, a veggie enchilada, and spaghettis and those are literally the only options. The veggie sushie pretty good though. Also, wi-fi is 13 dollars a day and DOES NOT work in the rooms. seriously? if you are going to make me pay you better make sure it works.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ann arbor, MI

All inclusive was a great choice

Posted Jun 23, 2014
The food at the restaurants was awesome, I didn't expect such high quality fare. The only thing the place could use would be an update to the rooms decor/tiling, the bedding and towels we're very luxurious and the room was much large than expected. We had 3 balconies! Junior suites easily sleep 4 adults, we also had two full bathrooms. All of the staff was very friendly and they get to know you by the end of the stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Surprised after reading such great reviews.

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: Food, grounds, view, close location to town.
Cons: Customer service, speed of food and service, and to have more than 2 waters in your room and allow people to take waters back to their rooms.
Location: Close to town and lover's beach but the trek over the mountain was too rough and seemed unsafe for most.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Enjoyd our stay . Onley a couple of issues . They shut all the facilities down @ ten oclock. So u cant even get a water ! Thats not cool . Plus the maids never replenesh the water in your room fridge .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fix the AC

Posted Jun 18, 2014
It was not cold and it was difficult to sleep at night
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from La Canada, CA

Very nice and Quiet!

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: Good size rooms and clean
Cons: Service and music!
Location: Just a few minutes from town and the main beaches
Very nice and quiet! I wanted some music by the pool but no, there was NO music at all. The hotel is clean with very good food and the staff is ok, coudlve been nicer and needs to improve on service but overall its a nice place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bonny from pleasant hill ohio

NICE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Cons: some times there is a language barrier issue and the idea of people nagging you about time shares is quite irritating!!!!!!!
Great place to stay. lots of r and r or shopping and site seeing with in close proximity. want to go back soon again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No A/C in Mexico!

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: All inclusive was great and a good value
Cons: A/C that works.
Everything was fine about the hotel. It was a little dated, but a good value with the discount we received. We had no A/C at all, and it was way too hot to sleep. That is the reason for my low scores on Hotel Facilities, Condition and Room comfort.