Ratings based on 154 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Quaint hotel in historic city center.

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Cons: Air conditioning provided by an in-room machine that barely cools.
Location: Hotel located in historic city center. Mission, shopping and galleries close by.
Easy ride from airport. Basic hotel in great location. Birds in cages, wild iguanas on roof and friendly cat add to casual, happy atmosphere. Hotel restaurant has outdoor seating on city and good food.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cobble Hill

tropicana

Posted Mar 30, 2015
The Tropicana is a comfortable well located hotel. There is no wi fi in the rooms as stated on their website.You have to be outside or near the pool to get wi fi. I brought this up to one of the front desk people and he pretended to be surprised that there was no internet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Get what you pay for

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Cheap smelly old building that's not easy to find by taxi drivers. Air conditioner leaks after being turned on for a while and will scare the heck out of you when awakened out of your sleep by what seems like a faucet just turned on full blast. The place is frompy looking and smells like stale cigarettes. Wouldn't recommend no matter how cheap the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location near main plaza San Jose del Cabo

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Pros: Nice swimming pool in landscaped courtyard. Good food in restaurant. Great location in town. Best front desk staff I have met in 90 days Mexico travel
Cons: Room is completely adequate, but smallish: limited counter space in bathroom, very little space to hang things to dry. Restaurant a bit pricy.
Stayed here two nights on arrival in SJD before going on to La Paz. Would do it again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Just what I expected :)

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Stayed for three nights over Spring Break. Centrally located very near town square. Shops, restaurants, coffee shops etc..all within strolling distance. A quaint hotel, in which to use as a starting point for all activities, and nice to return to at the end of any busy day; or relax by the pool for as long as you wish. Quiet at night and I always felt safe and secure. Reasonably priced and it is what you make of it. Relax, go out all day..whatever you desire..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 24, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fantastic spot

Posted Mar 21, 2015 on Hotels
Much better than expected. This is my first review (I travel to about four vacations a year). I must say the place and especially the staff were probably the best. We are not pool people but loved the pool it was great. If you don't mind walking like us ( the beach is about a mile away) this is the perfect spot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from holland, mi

Wonderful stay

Posted Mar 15, 2015
We don't want spring break lunacy and enjoy a place with atmosphere and some flavor. This wonderful place fills it all. Great staff, really good food, colorful Mexican decor and furnishings. Right in the old town historical center. We would return to this place in an instant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Mary Ann from Rancho mirage

Tropicana inn at san Jose del Cabo

Posted Mar 9, 2015 on Hotels
This is without doubt my best vacation ever. From beginning to end it was smooth, enjoyable and fun! I am planning to return--especially to the Tropicana Inn.... Laurent, a manager, was most gracious...staff was excellent...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Linda from Arizona

Hidden Jewel

Posted Mar 6, 2015 on Hotels
We found this jewel in the rough on the internet. The back parking lot is just a test as you walk through the entrance, the most incredible sight emerges. The inn is absolutely perfect with great rooms, heated pool, surrounding ambiance is perfect. The caged birds, tropical vegetation, fountain, etc. was picture perfect. Wish we had more time to stay in San Jose del Cabo. If we are ever back, we certainly will stay at this place. The office staff was very helpful& courteous and all our needs were met quickly. The restaurant connected to the Inn, was amazing in its old world design and the food was very good. We ate outside and enjoyed visiting with a couple from GB while we enjoyed our breakfast. Location is near the town square with many shops, benches for people watching and evening entertainment. A perfect start to our vacation.