Ratings based on 421 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom WI

Great Deal

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Really nice place. Foods was top notch. Clean. Friendly staff. Sometimes a little crowded, but varied each day. 20 min walk to downtown, or 5 min $9 taxi. As for the people complaining about being harassed for time-share sales, don't bite when they offer discounts on activities! I told them NO right away and never heard from them again! We booked a couple activities through Expedia with great success. Didn't like that I had to sign every time we ordered drinks, food etc. (all inclusive) but were never charged extra as some reviews claimed. For the price I'd stay here anytime.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento, Ca

Friendly resort on the beach

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: It was clean and the staff was professional and extremely friendly.
Cons: For the AI customers it would have been nice to have bottled water stocked in the room refrigerator.
Location: On the beach, but a short Water Taxi ride to Lover's Beach or down town.
This was our fourth trip to Cabo and we've stayed at a different resort each year. This was by far our best experience. The All Inclusive was worth the price if you are drinking and eating on the premises. The staff is beyond friendly as they wait on your needs (although they seem to go at a slower pace). It is a family resort with a lot of young families and we were traveling as a couple looking for an adult getaway so it was not exactly what we wanted, but we still had a great time because of the overall great energy the VDP provides.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2015
6 days in a "junior suite", should be renamed to "single bedroom". Kids' bed was a very uncomfortable sofa - squeaky and in bad shape. With the bed down there was no space to move around the room at all. Resort is nice, but quite small, only the 'hotel' facilities are available, everything else is for timeshare owners. At 7:30am all beach and pool chairs are already gone, so be warned. Activites are very limited, almost nothing for kids, some beach volley for grownups. Food was average/good, somewhat limited choices, but using fresh and quality ingredients. Nice beach and swimmable ocean, just enough waves to be fun for the kids. Constant buzzing of boats, jet skis, banana rides, parasailing, flying buggies, etc. was very annoying. So were the huge cruise ships parked all day on front of the Cabo and taking away the sights. Positive note: the excellent staff, always friendly, helpful and polite.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Stand in line for food!

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: The location was good. We could swim in the calm waters. It was close to the center. But out of all the Villa hotels, Arco is the best location
Cons: More places to eat and less lines. More chaises and towels. And after check out let people eat and drink till they have to depart to the airport!
Location: Location was good. Calm waters and close to all the action.
We have arrived at Villa del Palmar on march 29th to spend a spring break with our 8 year old and to celebrate my 39th birthday. Right at the check in we realized what a terrible choice we made. The hotel did not have a children's club! We did searched originally for all-inclusive with the children's club and marked it to filter our search. Our son was looking forward to that club, because he had such a wonderful time in one of those clubs at Grand Riviera Princess in Cancun. He almost cried when he heard that. Thank goodness there was an arcade where he could spend some time playing with Giovanni. We had to pay for that! SO much for all-inclusive. Also, we were very strictly told that if we loose our bracelets we will be charged over $100! Wow are those made of gold? I was nervous because I like to swim, but mine stayed on ok at the end. Still, a little rude.. Then we were constantly harassed by the timeshare person.. Every day. Another disappointment was the places to eat. While the staff were very nice, we had to wait 30 minutes in line every single morning for breakfast! If you come between 7:30 am and 10 am - you will wait in line.. And also, after 7:30 good luck finding a chaise to lye down by the pool or the beach!! Only Bella California open for Breakfast! For lunch however you can also eat the taco bar. Wow 2 choices! Dinner: Bella CA or the pool buffet. And again - you will wait in line for food.. Sad. Not enough bars. Always a line!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, Texas

Nice hotel close to beach,

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Wifi.
Location: You can walk on the beach to town or you can walk through town. Its not too far and not too close. But, taxi's are always available and affordable.
Had a great time. The staff is super friendly and accommodating. A nice store in front of hotel to buy things you may need. The sports bar had great food and drinks. The buffet was good. You sit right next to the Sea of Cortez and feel the breeze as you eat. I will go back. Hopefully soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom California

Poor service

Posted Apr 7, 2015
This hotel is nice but has very poor food and bar service. The servers seemed to be trained to avoid all inclusive customers. The taco bar restaurant at the pool area is the worst. The taco bar has very limited tables and good luck getting a drink or food. We waited over 30 min for a beer and had to ask for the beer three times. This place is for cheap tourists that don't care about poor service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Villa Del Palmar is in a good location right on a nice beach and the Marina area of Cabo is a short taxi ride. The pool area is ok and the rooms are adequate. It's annoying to be constantly bothered by so many locals selling their stuff on the beach though when you're trying to relax on a hotel chair on the sand. The pushiness of the Villa staff about time shares in the three Villa community is annoying too. I wouldn't return to this resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Highly recommended

Posted Apr 5, 2015
We stayed at Villa Del Palmer for 5 nights. Our daughter was married on the beach. Hotel staff was attentive, polite, and friendly. The grounds are beautiful. There is no need to leave the resort. We were able to book all activities from there. We were not bombarded by timeshare sales. They are very family friendly. We can't wait to go again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom T Indiana

nice hotel on the beach

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Beautiful weather downtown restaurants are amazing. On site restuarants great for breakfast and lunch. Hard to get pool chairs during busy season. Occasionally ran out of pool towels. Beach merchants very anoying camp out in front of resort selling there goods. Distracts from the beautiful view.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mullins SC

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Overall everything was great except the line outside at the bar! Only one person serving and I think that's CRAZY!! We stayed in line for more than 30min to an hour just to get a mix drink!!