Ratings based on 207 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from TX

Nice but be willing to drop the $$

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: The lazy river and pool area are great, family friendly spots to relax.
Cons: Drinks are $10 each for a solo cup size beverage... that's quite insane
Location: There isn't much within a 10 mile radius. We did drive to town to avoid the expensive resort food.
It got a tad warm at night, no matter what we put the A/C on. Maybe just part of August in TX on the top floor room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2014 by Jill, Hotel Management
Hello there! Thank you for much for sharing your feedback. We apologize that the room temperature never quite met your expectations. We will share your experience with our engineering department so they can evaluate thermostats to ensure they are operating properly and to their full capacity. We hope you'll plan to return for another stay soon - it would be our pleasure to welcome you back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: Nice and relaxing.l. Liked the convenience of everything
Cons: More indoor family activities and better plumbing.
Very nice accommodations, loved the activities offered. Like the connivence of charging everything to the room. Staff was very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2014 by Jill, Hotel Management
Greetings! Thank you so much for sharing your kind feedback. We are thrilled that you were pleased with the accommodation, activities and convenience of billing while you were at our resort. Our staff will be delighted to know that you are pleased with their service. We invite you to return for another getaway soon - it would be our pleasure to welcome you back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Wonderful grounds and amazing family activities.

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: The relaxed atmosphere, activities, and the very helpful and friendly staff.
Cons: The hotel rooms are nice but could have a microwave. There was some mold around the shower but I suppose that easily happens.
Location: We stayed only on the hotel grounds as there was so much to do and it was very beautiful and relaxing.
My family of 4 had a great getaway at Lost Pines. The activities that came with the hotel package were perfect for us! My kids are 9 and 10 and had a great time with soccer, arts and crafts, s'mores making, horses, movies, and of course the amazing pool. We left tired and satisfied!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2014 by Jill, Hotel Management
Hello! Thank you so much for sharing your kind words with fellow travelers. We are delighted to know that you were pleased with your stay and that your children found plenty of fun at our resort. We hope you'll make plans to return for more summertime fun and memories made in Lost Pines, Texas very soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Nice, but...

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: I appreciated the family activities, but also an Adult Pool option.
Cons: Management and POLCIES need to be addressed.
Location: I did not want to take advantage of them, but Austin offers many options.
The hotel is a nice, family-oriented resort, which allows one to bring one's pets. I guess the caveat is the pet stays in a crate. That being said, I do NOT want to stay in a room where a cat has been, as I am highly allergic. That will cause me to inquire about policies of hotels going forward. The "beef" I have, is that a guest was allowed to bring a pet RAT to the hotel. Against rules, she even brought the pet rat to the pool, and had it in the "lazy river". I find that incredibly unacceptable. I cannot believe that rats are domesticated. If it had gotten loose to swim in the water, I can only imagine dangling toes or fingers would have been appealing to the rat. The guest was asked to leave the pool area, but I (and others) were left knowing we were residing in a hotel with a rat. Disgusting.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2014 by Jill, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you very much for sharing your feedback. Your thoughts mean very much to us and we are sad to know that the actions of another guest has rendered your view of our resort unfavorable. It is absolutely against our policy for any member of the animal kingdom apart from a k9 companion to stay at our resort (this means that no feline friends are permitted). Our pet policy is actually a dog-friendly policy. We apologize that this policy was not closely followed during your stay. We are taking this opportunity to remind our associates to closely monitor our four-legged guests upon arrival and throughout their stay to ensure accompanying pets are dogs only. Please accept our sincerest apologies for this experience. We hope that you will give us a second chance to provide you a wonderfully positive experience at our resort. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Spa
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mark from Argyle, TX

A slice of Texas

Posted May 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice resort. Great food, fun, golf, and I love the lazy river.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2014 by Jill, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words! We're so thankful you chose to stay with us and that you are delighted with our food and amenities. We invite you to come back for another stay soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by melissa from kentucky

Best Family Spring Break Vacation

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Absolutely everything!
Cons: Nothing I can think of
Location: Perfect location, far enough to feel secluded in nature, peaceful and relaxing yet close enough to city to do everything offered in the city as well,
We've traveled a lot over the years staying in many nice resort hotels but this one takes the cake. We have a 16 year old son and a 12 year old son. We were looking for a reasonably priced luxury resort where it was warm and sunny, relaxing, good food and had activities available if we wanted them. We struck gold with this choice. Customer service was best we've experienced in US. Steve at valet service was fantastic upon arrival. Malia and Darron by the pool went over and beyond. Each and every employee was friendly, helpful and actually seemed to love their job. The food was excellent. The activities were endless and most free of charge, bikes, tennis, hike trails, lazy river, slide, pool, s'mores over fire every night, pool table, checkers, chess, roaring fires to sit by, lawn movies, games, playground, popcorn, exercise room, basketball goal, frisbee golf, animals, wifi, self parking...all freebees! Natural, peaceful surroundings were breathtakingly beautiful and made us breathe deep and relax. A very short drive to austin airport and downtown made it easy and fun to have a rental car. Kayaking Barton springs and LBJ library worth trips.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2014 by Jill, Hotel Management
Hello! Thank you so much for sharing your kind feedback! We are so happy to know that you were pleased with your stay and that we exceeded your expectations. Thank you so much for mentioning Steve, Malia and Darron. We will make sure to let them know they made a lasting impression on you and your family. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for more delicious meals, endless activities and peaceful surroundings soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by RNPK from houston

amazing rustic charm

Posted Apr 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great get-a-way from hustle n bustle of Houston at best time of year. Bluebonnets and indian paintbrush along highway and on property in full effect. Could possibly benefit from more diversity among front line staff. Excellent healthy food/menu choices incorporated a variety of very fresh vegetables.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2014 by Jill, Hotel Management
Greetings! Thank you so much for sharing your feedback! We are so happy that you enjoyed your time at our resort - bluebonnets, paintbrushes and all! We will be certain to let our Chef and team know that you were pleased with the healthy menu choices incorporating fresh ingredients. We hope to welcome you back for another stay very soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Indianapolis

All Encompassing Resort

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Cons: Fitted sheets on the beds would be an improvement. Also, consistent delivery of morning newspapers to the rooms would be appreciated.
Location: Bastrap is a great little town to visit.
The location and the facilities are ideal for a long getaway weekend. Golf, swimming. horse back riding, biking, hiking are all very good. The hotel staff was exceptional. Everyone was friendly and customer oriented. Whatever they are doing from a training perspective is paying off. Couldn't have asked for more!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2014 by Jill, Hotel Management
Hello! Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay at our resort. We are so delighted to know that you found our hotel to be exceptional and our staff service oriented. We invite you back for another stay and look forward to welcoming you the next time you are in our neck of the woods!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Pradeep from Houston

Loved this resort

Posted Mar 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great getaway from Houston very much like the Hyatt hill country in Austin
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2014 by Jill, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind comment! We are so happy you were pleased with your recent getaway. We hope to welcome you back soon!