Ratings based on 1,970 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel and great location!

Posted Apr 15, 2014
I would recommend the Gault Hotel, I have been at the Gault a few times and in each rating category I have had above average experience there! and location is great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richco7 from Knoxville TN

Stayed for concert at the Yum center

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Checking in was fast and easy. Staff was helpful and friendly . Our room was nice and had a good view. Only complaint was carpet was in rough shape
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Huge hotel, fine location.

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Cons: Room service food.
This was a brief stay. My only disappointment was the room service food. Really poor. Breakfast in the restaurant was fine though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Received a free upgrade to a room with a view. Also, received complimentary wi-fi. Would rather have had free parking.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by 30 YO from Knoxville, TN

Great Location - Hotel a bit dated

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Great location. Within walking distance of several restaurants and the KFC Yum! Center.
Cons: Just needs a bit of TLC. Update the styles/decorations a bit.
Location: Within walking distance of several restaurants and the KFC Yum! Center.
We chose this hotel based upon its close proximity to the KFC Yum! Center. The location was perfect (less than 0.1 miles from the venue). The hotel was obviously a very luxurious place at one time, however, it is now a bit dated. This does not mean that it was unsatisfactory, just not worthy of a 4-star rating. All in all, I would stay here again, especially if I were to attend another event at the nearby KFC Yum! Center.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jean from Tennessee

Perfect location

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: The location. We didn't have to walk outside to access the YUM Center, a huge benefit during rainy weather.
Cons: I wish the restaurant on the 25th floor was open on Sunday evenings.
Location: Several restaurants located within a short walk. We enjoyed a meal at the Gordon Biersch Brewery. Would like to have had more time to explore.
I had my doubts about the Galt House when I read other reviews, but because of the location adjacent to the YUM Center I made reservations. The location couldn't have been better. The room was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I stayed in the Rivue Tower and despite other reviews, the room had been updated and the balcony had a beautiful view of the river.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marianne from Indiana

Great Stay

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Location, rooms had great views! clean comfortable.
Cons: The valets were a little too friendly, very obvious that they were jockeying for tips!
Location: Dish on Market, great restaurant!
Great experience in a historic hotel. Service was nice. We didn't take too much advantage of other amenities as we were there for a concert. Like the fact that it is connected to the YUM Center. Like the location would definitely stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Missing some basics for 2014.

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: Location, price on Expedia.
Cons: Free internet, microwaves for guest use, and bigger beds.
Location: On the skyway to the International Convention Center. Fourth Street Live for music and food within 4 blocks, walk to Muhammed Ali Center.
Great location, fast elevators, but internet in the room is an extra charge. There are also no microwaves available for guest use at all. Pop machines on our floor and two floors above and below were empty. Beds are comfy, but felt small being only doubles, not queens. Air temp in our room was not responding to what we set it on. When we called down, a maintenance guy was there within minutes and completely replaced the unit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for downtown events.

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Cons: Ice maker on our floor not working. Reported to staff and housekeeping, but never repaired.
Location: All downtown venues.
Indoor access to YUM Center. All staff very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TN

Nice hotel , long wait- elevator

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Only 3 elevators were working in each tower and the wait time to get on one, that actually had room, was around 5-10min. Which is a long time to wait. Overall its was fantastic with a awesome revolving restaurant. Just won't go there during a event or holiday