Ratings based on 225 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D

Not the best stay

Posted Aug 18, 2014
When I got there, my room had been doubled booked because someone was in my room when I got there. Luckily they had another room to put me in. Then one day my room never got cleaned and no one had been in the room that day & no sign was posted on the door to not clean it. For paying $340 for a 3 night stay I was not overly impressed. I told the manager about this and all he had to say was oh.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Terrible Terrible Customer Service

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Cons: Managements responsibility.
Location: No problems with the location. It was directly off the highway and easy to get to.
Upon check in, you could tell a disaster was about to ensue. The front desk attendant was crying on the phone while people were waiting to check in. Apparently her computer had messed up and cancelled everyone in the system. She was bribing her co-workers with gas money to get someone to come in and help her because all managers said no. She then went to the back for a few minutes to get her act together. During this time, a guy who had already been checked in informed us that he stays here every weekend and they always have some sort of problem. When the front desk attendant returned, she informed us that there was no housekeeping today and the entire third floor hasn't been cleaned. Unfortunately, I had already paid for the room and didn't want to lose my money by going somewhere else, so we stayed. We called the 800 number to find our reservation and they were no help. She told us we needed to make another reservation, even though I had already paid for a room through Expedia. I asked multiple times if we would be charged again, and she assured us we would not as we had already paid. A second employee finally showed up to help. It took another 15 minutes for him to get us checked in with our new number and said we had in fact been charged again. The entire ordeal took over an hour. I will NEVER stay at a Super 8 again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: location to my event.
Cons: Smell of room was atrocious. The room was not stocked with towels upon our arrival.
terrible experience. Would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy. I guess you get what you pay for. Overall musty smell upon arrival that did not leave when entering the room. Having no towels in the room, shows that housekeeping's attention to detail is below par.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, Ohio

Disappointing Hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: The proximity to the Expo Center.
Cons: Better customer service and better maintenance of rooms.
Looked okay from the outside but upon check-in I was told I had a smoking room.I can't stand cigarette smell and would never knowingly book a smoking room. I was told by the woman at the front desk that because I booked through Expedia, she couldn't change our room. It was probably my mistake when I booked the room, but it makes no sense that they couldn't simply switch our room for a comparable non-smoking room. Anyway the whole 4th floor must have been smoking because it smelled awful and the room smelled only slightly better. The sleeper sofa was not put back together- the cushions were upended and one of the lights by a bed didn't=work. The air conditioning unit had to be turned to the coolest setting to make the room comfortable. The lobby smelled like cheap disinfectant and the free breakfast was very minimal. There was very little to choose from. I will definitely stay somewhere else when we return to Louisville next year!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for....

Posted Jun 23, 2014
I arrived at the hotel at 1:53pm, so I asked the man behind the front desk if I can check in. He told me no, I have to wait til 2:00pm. So I had to wait 9mins to check in. While I was waiting the man behind the desk had a strange visitor. He went outside, and I didn't see him again til 2:10pm. So when he came back I was still sitting waiting. My check in was late and the front desk staff was rude. I will Never stay their again..
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Daphne Lofton from Memphis

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff was very helpful and kind during our stay! The hotel needs to be remodeled to keep up with today's society and other hotels upgrades and appearances. Esp the tv, bedding, and upgrades to bathroom. We had problems with the air condition, cleanliness, and mold!
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Close to Churchill downs

Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel overall was very average at best but the location was great. My daughter and I went to the Kentucky Derby. We were able to walk and didn't have to deal with traffic or parking.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Sarah from Lexington, KY

Housekeeping needs a vast improvement

Posted May 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
I usually don't believe the reviews I've read that are negative about hotels. I take them with a grain of salt, because until now (with extensive travels) I have never had an experience with a hotel not being able to provide a clean room. I had to request new sheets because the ones on the bed when I arrived had some kind of red residue and a large palm-sized spot of who knows what on them. The new sheets, in spite of me asking for king-sized, were not king-sized (so I couldn't even get them on the bed entirely), had holes in them, and noticeable black stains. I don't doubt they had been through the washing machine, but they were simply not acceptable to use for guests anymore. In addition, there were black spots all over my pillowcases and something on the wall near the bed that looked like dried snot. If it wasn't so late and I hadn't been there for a brief one-night stay I would not have slept there at all. The cleanliness and housekeeping standards were way too lax to be even remotely acceptable. The hotel was reasonably priced, and close to the attraction I came to visit and will return to Louisville to visit, but if that is how they operate, I know for sure I am not returning to this hotel again.