Ratings based on 366 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel downtown

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Very spacious room hotel check in was very quick and very helpful comfortable bed and spacious bathroom. Close to restaurants and night life. Very courteous staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Brown Hotel Louisville Ky

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Expedia
We had a very pleasant experience. Room was clean and comfortable. Front desk and valet staff were excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brunswick, OH

Beautiful historic hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: the ambience & location
Cons: it was perfect
Location: perfect location near theaters; 4th street live/dining
excellent location to theaters & dining areas; this beautifully restored historic hotel takes you back in time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati OH

Close to Palace

Posted Jul 8, 2014
We enjoyed our visit. Breakfast was particularly good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Memphis

Get Away from the Chains

Posted Jul 7, 2014
We stayed at The Brown over July 4th weekend and loved it. We stayed in their "small" King-Bed room. It was huge. Nice large bathroom and even a walk-in closet. The hotel was quiet. The staff told me I could even park across the street for free parking over the weekend instead of paying for valet parking. I'll definitely book here again next time I return to Louisville.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Farmers Branch, TX

A time when hotels were someplace special

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: The service, condition (great WiFi!), and quality of the food in the bar area.
Cons: The fake flowers were very old. The desk manager said he would have those removed.
Location: Great location for the theatre district and restaurants - but I just ate at the hotel on this trip.
I go to Louisville twice a year and have been wanting to stay here for some time but could never get a room. I was very happy with the room and the service is terrific. As a tip, park in the garage on the second floor and you can walk across the "PedWay" right into the second floor lobby. The man operating the payment booth as you exit the garage was great - wanted to have a longer conversation with him but I had to get to the airport. I even had a "Mr. Brown sighting!" He can be pleased that the level of customer service has not let up any since his passing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wheaton, Il.

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: History was wonderful. Food at restaurant was wonderful especially the Hot Brown. Beautiful old hotel.
Cons: Beds were small.
Location: Great location downtown close to attractions.
Lovely experience. Beautiful hotel with wonderful history. The lobby was amazing with the ceiling architecture. Very Southern elegance. Everything decorated in equestrian style. Beds rather small in the room. Two full size should have been two king. Beautiful white marble bath. Restaurant was very nice. Food excellent especially the Hot Brown. All the staff was very cordial. I would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2014 by Brad, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the thoughts following your recent stay. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed our history, central location and the Hot Brown. Please allow me to handle your next reservation in Louisville and I will ensure that we meet all your expectations. Hope to see you back soon. Regards, Brad Walker Vice President and General Manager bwalker@brownhotel.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Room with a View

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: The overall design, upkeep, history and experience.
Cons: The iron in the room was pretty cheap but I'm being picky here.
Location: The location is central, you can take Uber, Lyft or cab service. We walked a bit too. There is a pretty good pizza place on the same block.
We stayed in a corner room (Room 1101) and it had great lighting and a nice view of the city. The staff was great. The room was clean and well done. The hotel has history and the restoration seems very faithful. I would recommend trying the 'Hot Brown' at least once, the wife and I split one at the bar. Also, split a burger another night there and they actually separate it all for you on 2 plates and the fries at the bar (which are different than room service) are really good. The hotel bar was a great laid back experience. We met some really cool people there. It can get expensive, but the prices are comparable for what you receive and are not overpriced per se. The hotel is also centrally located to attractions in the city. We took Uber to most places (NULU and The Highlands). I'd like to see the Ali Museum and some other neighborhoods next time. I chose this hotel because of the history, ratings and proximity to the Louisville Palace. We were there to see Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds. I highly recommend catching a show at the venue if possible. Overall, there is not much I would change. I hope they entice me to return in the future with some nice deals (hahaha).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by journalist from k

Hotel nice, but the bums outside not good

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Hotl was very nice . Valet parking employees very nice. Did not give five stars , because right outside the from door there were loitering bums . This was disturbing . Elevators were super fast and efficient. Big plus
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jamie from Houston

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jun 16, 2014
We loved this hotel. The staff was very helpful, the restaurants great and the room beautiful.