Ratings based on 340 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Parking garage better marked.
Just stayed one night. parking lot confusing & not well marked & expensive.Since the room was over $200. after taxes & parking lot was empty felt that parking should have been reduced or free. Bed was very comfortable. Coffee maker had a used filter in it so obviously had not been cleaned or attended to. Otherwise everything else was good. Great location!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Columbus, Ohio

Weekend getaway

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Pros: The lobby, the grand staircase, the Oakroom and the Rathskeller.
Location: Downtown Louisville. The bars and clubs on 4th street are just steps away!
The hotel itself was beautiful. The lobby and common areas, the Rathskeller, the Grand Ballroom, the Oakroom...all were lovely. Our room was nice if a bit small. Some work needed to be done in the bathroom. Some of the floor tiles had missing grout or were loose. The Seelbach bar was a bit of a disappointment. As one of the stops on the Urban Bourbon trail I was rather disappointed that the bartender wasn't more knowledgeable about bourbon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom AR

KY Muscle!

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Overall great experience. Room was a smig small. Room service was overall good, except one small mishap that was corrected quickly!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cincinnati, OH

Very nice hotel, staff is excellent

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Location: Within walking distance of the Yum! Center, our reason for being in Louisville for this trip.
We enjoyed our one night stay at the Seelbach. The staff is great from valet to front desk to the bartender. Everything was as we expected. I'd still say it's a bit pricy but for one night it was worth it. If you have the time, Live on Fourth is only a hundred feet away and looks like a great time. (We didn't have the time to enjoy the area, only walk through.)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Beautiful Hotel, excellent service. Love the Old Seelbach Bar.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Louisville trip

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Location. History.
Cons: See experience.
The hotel's exterior and lobby are historical. The rooms are dated. There was a dead cockroach in our room. We appreciate the hotel's history, but everything about it is dated and tired, including the lounge and the menu. The staff was wonderful, but we the room was small, the bathroom was very small, many of the electrical plugs were loose and there were not enough to accommodate modern life ie: places to charge your phone..space to place your blow dryer without it falling into the toilet. We wanted to like this hotel. However, there is a lot of competition with new boutique hotels (ie: Kimpton). The menu at the lounge is very dated. We felt it was dated and were concerned about the overall cleanliness of the accommodations. Sorry. Not ones to say negative things. I hope this actually helps the management consider updating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Johnson City Tn

Great Gatsby- like hotel !!

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Beautiful! The oak room restaurant which was inside was also gorgeous and delicious! I would recommend the 7 course tasting menu with the wine pairing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Missou

Don't forget a guest impression is key!

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Cons: Safe area for the "pet-friendly" aspect of the hotel - grassy patch instead of the risk of taking your animal out especially if you are a female.
Location: Visit family.
Checking in was a bit distressing and confusing given our luggage was moved outside while checking in without conveying such to the guest - confusion by busman, and there was only one person to check in several guests. Front desk clerk controlled the emotions arising from the confusion, but was condescending and made passive-aggressive remarks to the guests behind without knowing I was still there. All other staff were excellent, professional and genuine - need to replace the particular clerk. Food was very good and room service menu was pleasing and staff personable. The hotel was pet friendly except for restaurants and no where for your animal to relieve itself at night except for in a very sketchy area around the side of the hotel or a parking lot. There is a park area 4 blocks up the street that is recommended, but travel in twos for safety sake - they need to grow a small patch of grass by the hotel! Other than the minor nuisances, the hotel and its staff are wonderful and if you are yearning for a crazy, noisey, "foodie" night out than the Seelbach is your choice. If you want a relaxing evening in with great drinks, food and ambiance than the Seelbach again is your choice, just stay indoors in the evening!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Southern Travelers

Disappointed.

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Their website shows spacious, clean, well decorated rooms. Reality is half the rooms face a rooftop space and the rooms were Claustrophobic! Be sure to ask for a street facing room. They claim a four star rating ... Not sure who rated them, but they must have been counting a few stars they saw in the window! Historic but forgetable hotel. One bright spot. People that work at Seelbach are the best. Many times, they went above and beyond. Valets were quick. Desk helped us with directions. Good people.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient to downtowm

Posted Sep 1, 2014
A little over priced for what you get. The smallest bathroom I have ever seen !! The staff was excellent.