Ratings based on 324 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Johnson City Tn

Great Gatsby- like hotel !!

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Beautiful! The oak room restaurant which was inside was also gorgeous and delicious! I would recommend the 7 course tasting menu with the wine pairing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missou

Don't forget a guest impression is key!

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Cons: Safe area for the "pet-friendly" aspect of the hotel - grassy patch instead of the risk of taking your animal out especially if you are a female.
Location: Visit family.
Checking in was a bit distressing and confusing given our luggage was moved outside while checking in without conveying such to the guest - confusion by busman, and there was only one person to check in several guests. Front desk clerk controlled the emotions arising from the confusion, but was condescending and made passive-aggressive remarks to the guests behind without knowing I was still there. All other staff were excellent, professional and genuine - need to replace the particular clerk. Food was very good and room service menu was pleasing and staff personable. The hotel was pet friendly except for restaurants and no where for your animal to relieve itself at night except for in a very sketchy area around the side of the hotel or a parking lot. There is a park area 4 blocks up the street that is recommended, but travel in twos for safety sake - they need to grow a small patch of grass by the hotel! Other than the minor nuisances, the hotel and its staff are wonderful and if you are yearning for a crazy, noisey, "foodie" night out than the Seelbach is your choice. If you want a relaxing evening in with great drinks, food and ambiance than the Seelbach again is your choice, just stay indoors in the evening!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southern Travelers

Disappointed.

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Their website shows spacious, clean, well decorated rooms. Reality is half the rooms face a rooftop space and the rooms were Claustrophobic! Be sure to ask for a street facing room. They claim a four star rating ... Not sure who rated them, but they must have been counting a few stars they saw in the window! Historic but forgetable hotel. One bright spot. People that work at Seelbach are the best. Many times, they went above and beyond. Valets were quick. Desk helped us with directions. Good people.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient to downtowm

Posted Sep 1, 2014
A little over priced for what you get. The smallest bathroom I have ever seen !! The staff was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cary, NC

Nice hotel, convenient to the downtown

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: location and quiet.
Location: Slugger baseball, Churchill Downs and the trolly tour is great
We enjoyed it because it was at the Ironman finish line. However, staff was not aware of that even finishing right there. Would be helpful if they were more aware of the city events. Staff was very pleasant and helped with airline reservations. Would recommend for a visit to Louisville.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room Comfort

Posted Aug 26, 2014
The air conditioning in our room was broke. We had to call 2x to get the repairman up there. He couldn't fix it and told the front desk we would need moved. They indicated they were full (probably close to true as the Ironman was in town that weekend). After several hours we were ultimately moved. I had to ask that our breakfast be comped as no offer for anything was made. They comped the breakfast. Not the end of the world, they just could have acted more quickly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oh

Felt like the room needed an entry way table

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: The history and the architecture
Cons: The price plus valet parking- a little pricey
Location: Short walking distance to most attractions
Beautiful hotel, recommend this hotel to anyone. Had a wonderful time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tampa, fl

Comfortable and accommodating

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Beds are comfy, staff is very nice and attentive. Will visit again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Cons: We were on the 10th floor where they also had a wedding going on, and the music was pretty loud until close to midnight.
Great old hotel with lots of character. Great location in downtown Louisville.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Saggi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels.com