Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Traditional German Hotel at the Heart of Passau

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Great Hotel with many floors and exits both to the City and water side. Great view from higher floors. Neither fashionable or fancy, but solid and German quality, good service and Perfect for a stay in Passau.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Rail Travellerfrom Colchester

Overnight stop on way home from Budapest

Posted Aug 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very Friendly staff. Traditional German Hotel with comfy beds. Good location on River front. Easy 15 minute walk from the train station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ian and Janfrom Melbourne Australia

Great location

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Perfect place to stay in Passau
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by jeremy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Georgefrom Vancouver, WA

Good Choice for Passau

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Pros: Location
We were in Passau on a 2 week trip to see Christmas markets. This hotel was convenient to everything, including the town square and Christmas Market as well as the river. Short walk from train station, as well. Rooms were well appointed with free wireless and the breakfast was very good, and included with our reservation. They recommended a restaurant nearby that proved excellent for dinner one evening.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by SJfrom California

Danube Glory

Posted Dec 24, 2013
Pros: Location, wonderful free buffet breakfast
Cons: Shower was in the tub, and the swinging plastic "wall" to block water caused water to get on the floor. Beware of slips, and put extra towel down.
Location: Right on the Danube River, facing the castle on the hill. Near the Ilz River also. Next to cruise ship docks.
This hotel overlooks the Danube River, and is only a short walk from the main train station. The room was furnished with beautiful wooden furniture -- heavy, classic styles. Exceptional quality in every way.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by SJfrom California

Great location

Posted Dec 24, 2013
Pros: Location, optional buffet breakfast, across the street from the main train station. All the main downtown attractions are within walking distance.
Cons: There was no grab bar in the shower, and it was somewhat slippery. Caution needed getting into and out of it.
Location: 1. Across the street from the main train station. 2. Two blocks from pedestrian shopping district. 3. ~6 blocks from museums and attractions.
Great location and optional buffet breakfast. We had requested a queen size bed but were disappointed that it was "French queen-sized" and the European measurements don't match US ones. Otherwise, slightly dated rooms but they were clean and functional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ColdCanuckfrom Ottawa Canada

Perfect Stopover for Danube Cruise

Posted Oct 20, 2013
Pros: See above.
Cons: Nothing - just carry on what they are doing now.
Location: All the highlights of Passau, from the historical cultural sights to the modern shopping areas, are within easy walking distance.
After an overnight flight to Munich from Canada, we needed a hotel in Passau the night before a late-day sailing for a bike and boat trip on the Danube. The Koenig proved the perfect place. The location could not have been better: facing directly on the river, it was an easy 15-minute walk from the train station; our room overlooked the day-tour boat docks and river promenade; lots of restaurants and all the Passau attractions were just out the door; and, depending on your departure dock, it was just a few minutes to many of the boats. The Koenig was severely damaged by the record 2013 spring floods but the good folks at the Koenig have done an amazing job of cleaning up the mess, completely rebuilding the dining room and getting back into operation, although the lobby (including bar and reception desk) were still missing. There was not a hint of the damp, musty smell that lingered in other water damaged buildings along the river. The room and beds were comfortable, the breakfast was stylish and plentiful, and the staff were extremely helpful in looking after our luggage before our sailing, ordering a shuttle to take us to our ship at Lindau, etc. I booked this hotel 4 months ahead of our stay, and everything about the Expedia.ca booking went exactly as planned. I would highly recommend the Koenig to anyone wanting a stopover in Passau.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lymanfrom Denver

Good sightseeing spot

Posted Oct 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel was still being renovated on the ground floor from floods, but the breakfast room was complete and very nice and the buffet was the best of the 10-day trip. Room was nice, with above average-sized bath. Great location in the old city, parking along the cruise ship docks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by danube cyclistfrom scotland

cycling danube

Posted Jul 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
hotel was placed perfectly for visitting passau and starting our holiday