Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

My awesome vacation.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
This hotel caters to their guests comfort like no other. From the moment i arrived until my departure the staff were friendly and courteous to my wishes. The rooms are lovely and food is delicious. This is my favorite hotel thus far
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from GCM

Nice accommodations, staff needs MAJOR training!

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Property and surroundings
Cons: Customer service
Location: Shirvan WaterMill Restaurant
It is an absolute shame that the staff ruin the rating of this hotel. As the service was poor from check in. Melissa at the front desk and her supervisor Rachel acting like if they were doing me a grand favor by checking me in 1.5 hrs earlier than their regular check in time. And although I told them I was with a Party of over 20 people that was in rooms 111 etc (North Wing) I was placed in literally the last room of the property in the South Wing (room 188). And when I called to get the room changed it was a bigger issue! And they refused to do it. It was only when I complained to my party host did they immediately say they would work on it and changed my room. So there was rooms available on the North Wing...Why could I not be accommodated before pulling rank? Generally staff does not say good morning/evening to you. They clean the pool late. No staff was in the gym (and no towels) on the morning I visited (3rd Aug)...I called the operator for towels as there was about 5-6 persons in the gym at that time. Very decent food at the buffet but again the service sucked. They were slow to bring out the coconut bake and the pieces were small. The juice glasses were almost like shot glasses (yes that small). It's a shame, because its a beautiful property, room comfortable, 24 hour pool access and sufficient parking. Would highly recommend customer service training for all staff! When you stay at Hyatt Trinidad (we went there after) it was like night and day! Excellent service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Perfect place to chill out and relax

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: The location is very enjoyable with a beautiful ocean to behold.
Cons: Wider choice of menu in Robinson Crusoe pub.
Location: The hotel lays on a bus service to Pigeon Point which is an ideal beach for all ages to enjoy.
We found this hotel to be very customer focused and thoroughly enjoyed our time there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

Excelent Hotel.

Posted Aug 2, 2014
I spent 4 days with my family and we had great time. Wonderfull place, the staff is very kind, the food is excelent. Pool and beach lovely. The only thing I didn't like was the beds. The beds are too small for two people. Are not confortable. The rest of the hotel is excelent. For another stay i will ask for a biger bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Beautiful hotel on the beach. Serene and relaxing.

Posted Aug 2, 2014
This hotel is well kept, filled with friendly staff eager to ensure you have a pleasant stay. Although it's right on the water, it is on the Atlantic side where the water is rough, so it is advised to stay out of the water. No worries...the pools and view more than make up for the ocean's misbehavior. Had a few issues with our room, but they were quick to respond and address our concerns. My only disappointment were the food options. Although the hotel boasts of its four restaurants, what they fail to mention is that one is rarely open, the buffet wasn't the greatest, and the poolside restaurant has a LIMITED menu...oh...and you can't eat by the pool ? ! ? ! All in all, it was a great stay. I recommend the top to pigeon point where you can sign up for a glass boat tour, snorkel on the reef, visit the amazing Nylon pool, and jet ski.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin

Horrible service - would not stay here again

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Checking out
Cons: service. cleanliness
I couldn't believe how bad the service was. I ended up walking back to the lobby and getting my own towels. I also walked into the luggage room to retrieve my own bags. Nobody said a word. Pool was dirty. Couldn't order a drink on the beach (good news is that virtually nobody is on the beach). They seem to close the bar/restaurants based on wind, etc. Fire alarms woke us 2 of 3 nights. Beach area was dirty as well. I felt like a 2 star hotel and not a resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Airdrie, Alberta

Appeals to the senses

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Location, ocean, staff and breakfast - serenity
Cons: Think a free shuttle on the hour to strategic points would be worth considering and information on hotel activities could be given on check in.
The sound and smell of the ocean is so appealing and the feel and taste is awesome. The atmosphere is overall very relaxing and the breakfasts, oh the breakfasts are heavenly. The staff is accommodating and very special. I particularly enjoyed browsing through the gift shops. It's an excellent location for a reflective getaway and I recommend it with no hesitation
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Beautiful Property

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: Very nice property. Great swimming pool.
Cons: Unfriendly staff. Dated rooms. Treat all guest with the same respect, for that price it should be a given.
Except for the Bell Boy and the Pool Bar Lady, we found the staff at this hotel.... from front desk to restaurant, to break-feast buffet staff to be very curt and unfriendly... not sure why. This was our first time there as we usually stay at the Coco Reef when visiting Tobago but wanted to give this hotel a try for a few days before going to Coco Reef. As Canadian Trinidians, we felt a bit discriminated upon after noticing that other foreign guest were greeted in a friendly and courteous manner and given welcome drinks etc. while we sat waiting to be checked in. It made me wonder if the local guest were not afforded the same courtesy. To make matters worst we were given rooms at the extreme end of this very large property and on our first night we called the desk to get water and milk for the kids. We were informed not only would we be billed for the items but there was a delivery charge to have it sent to the rooms. Although we booked and paid for a 2 night stay, we decided to leave the next day as we felt very unwelcome and uneasy to say the least. During checkout we were asked if we had a good stay. I replied not really which is why we are leaving. They didn't seem phased or surprised at all and carried on very nonchalantly as if its a normal thing, didn't care to ask why. Hence the reason for this review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location, friendly staff...efficiency?

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Great pool
A terrific service recovery was, and had to be , performed for room service. The shuttle driver is an awesome character!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Cons: I understand hotels make their money by charging you for anything consumed but I wished there were more water fountains available throughout the hotel
My overall experience was a good one, staff was very helpful and warm from the time my family and I stepped into until we left. This level of customer service did not only occur at the hotel but also at the spa and golf shop/course. My only issue was on checking into the room we noticed our bedroom toilet was not clean, but Housekeeping quickly resolved this oversight.