Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by MGB from NY

comfortable, spacious, hot water, amenities

Posted Oct 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
GOOD STAY, OLD TOWN WITH ANTIQUITY, SAW THE ST. JAMES MUSEUM ... THIS IS A MUST SEE !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Anonymous

Ideal for family reunion

Posted Oct 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a large group and this establishment catered very well for our purposes. Rooms / suites had basic cooking facilities and decent sized fridge, generous sized bathrooms and plenty of space throughout. Beds and pillows were more comfortable than in some of the more expensive hotels on our itinerary. A lovely outdoor area with table, chairs and playground meant that we could meet for aperitivo while children played in sight. It was a real bonus to have the wonderful Antico Monastero restaurant available for fine dining. Local wines are terrific and inexpensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brad from Brisbane, Australia

Wonderful historic Monastery stay

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Pros: The history, old world charm, and yet very comfortable. Food and wine was the best sampled in Italy.
Cons: Nothing - it was perfect.
Location: Visit the 2 restaurants in town as well as the Cantina Sociale. There are many wineries and other towns to drive to close by.
A beautiful historic Monastery located in a quiet hilltop town in Northern Italy. This is a real local village experience off the tourism beaten track, in a place full of charm and old world feeling. The food was extremely affordable and exceptional, as well as the very inexpensive excellent local wines. A visit to the Cantina Sociale is a must to sample to local Barbera grape as well as other varietals. This is a step back in time in a most relaxing atmosphere. The proprietors, Atillio & Peireina were perfect hosts, in the stye of the accommodation, which made it a most pleasant experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Anonymous

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Barbara from Virginia

Wonderful & unique!

Posted Aug 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Stayed at the Palazzo for 6 nights and found it to be a wonderful spot for touring the NW Italian countryside. A lovingly restored monastery from the 1400's, with updated amenities (A/C, TV, kitchenette). Spacious clean units (we had an apartment for 4). The town is lovely and very very quiet. The only sounds you hear are the church bells every hour. Not touristy at all. 2 good restaurants within walking distance (La Trinita & Orazio) and the hotel has a restaurant on site (we did not eat there). Not a lot of English spoken but no problems checking in or with service. They do have limited check in & out times when the office is open. Great base spot for touring the Monferrato, where one hill town is prettier than the next with vineyards, cornfields, sunflower fields between. You definitely need a car in this area. Roads are well marked. We did day trips to Valle d' Aosta, Torino, Acqui Terme/Sasello/Albisola, Novara, Lake Maggiore & Orta. All fantastic!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, Ohio

Exactly where we wanted to stay - a 13th C castle

Posted Jul 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Our stay at the Palazzo Paleologi could not have been nicer! Yes, there is a language problem but the manager, Ottilio's son Davide, speaks English. This is the kind of village that Americans can only imagine in their fantasies! This is easily stepping back 700 years to a time when the streets were narrow and crooked and villages were build on mini-mountain tops for defense from the wandering hoards! The innkeepers, Otillio and his wife, could not have been nicer. The minute I asked for something, it was being placed in my hand. Past visitors had said that it is difficult to find - YES! it is but well worth it! Pay for the B&B, the breakfast's are also wonderful. The restaurant in the hotel is usually only open beginning on Wednesday or Thursday, or depending on how many guests are staying, and through Saturday evening. This may be called a resort and for this village, it will be one day. For now, it I a hotel with a view and stands alone on the hilltop of the village of Lu (from the Latin: Lukus) Monferrato; where the panorama is a once-in-a-lifetime view of 5 or 6 not-so-distant villages. On a clear day, "You can see forever," or at least the snow-covered Alps. And, yes, a car is a necessary requirement, so drive carefully.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by pamela from Cotswolds, Moreton-in-Marsh, Gloucestershire GL56, UK

Great find

Posted Jun 12, 2013
Pros: Views from restaurant
Cons: Ease of finding it
Location: Very quiet. Definately need a car, or to be a keen cyclist!
Great location, even though it's quite difficult to find. The main road to it is closed and the diversion signs not the greatest. It took us probably an hour to find it once within 3 miles! Beautiful view, very quiet and certainly a little different from most hotels. Great views from the restaurant, and a lovely room to dine in. Owners speak very little Engligh, but delightful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Kingfrog from Wales - UK

Stunning!

Posted May 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
If you are into sympathetically renovated medieval monasteries - with all mod cons, including free wifi - then this is a must! The owners speak not a word of English, but are non the less very welcoming - and have a sense of humor ! Well done them - can't wait to our next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 31, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Icklefritz

Nice place but needs some extra love

Posted Jul 13, 2012 on Hotels.com
We had one night to break up the drive from Nice to Venice. It was pleasant enough with sparsely decorated clean rooms. The lady on reception was welcoming and gave hubby a little tour of the property that was once owned by the Count who owned a massive amount of land in the area. The only criticism was that nothing seemed to be going on in the town and the building and grounds needed a lot of love to bring out it's historical beauty. Dinner in the on-site restaurant was special, watching the sunset from the balcony.