Ratings based on 159 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from Austin, Texas

It's an okay hotel-for Lubbock.

Posted May 20, 2014
This is not a newer hotel, and its age is showing. The design is from the era of big shopping malls, and if you happen to get a room the faces the inside, it feels exactly like you are staying in a vast, empty, shopping mall that has been converted to a hotel. The hotel itself is not in bad shape, it simply feels tired. However, I'm not sure there is much in the way of competition in Lubbock that is going to push this hotel to upgrade or refurbish anytime soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for reasonable price

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: Reasonably priced, decent area of town.
We came in one night for an event. The hotel was not new , but for the age is reasonable yup kept. No breakfast or fridge was a downside. We did not use pool facilities. Our room was clean, but older. We did have a hard time sleeping due to old and noisy air conditioner that is oddly placed in room and very inefficient. However we did not discover this until after we were settled and heading to bed so we did not report problem until the next day, because rest was priority and we had no time or energy to move. Therefore, cannot report on staff response.
3 out of 5
by Nena from texas

No complitamtery breakfast

Posted May 4, 2014
Pros: The indoor pool
Cons: Offering a continental breakfast
Fist hotel I've ever stayed at that didn't have a continental breakfast! :(
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would Not Stay There Again

Posted Apr 28, 2014
When I booked my room I chose non-smoking, two queen beds and an interior room. There were three of us traveling together - my mom, my daughter and I were taking attending a campus tour of Texas Tech. When I checked in I was told they only had smoking rooms with 1 king bed! The staff was nice, but just gave excuses about why they were so booked - it didn't seem to bother them that I didn't get what I had requested. The thought of the three of us in a smoking room in one bed was not fun. Another staff member was able to find us a non smoking room with two queen beds. It was an exterior room, which I didn't think was as safe as an interior room, but I had no other choice. The room was in the back of the hotel by the trash cans. We had to lug our suitcases up two flights of stairs. I have no idea if there is an elevator in the hotel, but the staff did tell me we had to use the stairs. The room was very large and spacious; obviously an older hotel, but it did seem clean. We were awakened a little after 6:00 a.m. by the trash trucks picking up the bins. Ugh. Next time we do anything at Texas Tech, I will reserve a room weeks in advance so I will have better options.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Leah from Wimberley, TX

Great location, great staff!

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Large, clean rooms, roomy bathroom. There is a beautiful, indoor pool in an atrium setting inside the hotel, plus a bar near the pool.
Cons: I noticed that the security doors in Section B seemed to stay unlocked at all times.
Location: I was not aware of anything else to do but we visited the University.
I was in town to visit Texas Tech University with my daughter. We stayed two nights. The reception staff were helpful and friendly and even called us in our room after we had checked in, to make sure we were happy with the room. The only complaint I had about our room was that I noticed mold growing on the "popcorn" ceiling in the bathroom. The beds were comfortable. We had a nice dinner in the restaurant in the hotel.
3 out of 5
by Suzi from Lubbock, TX

an OK hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Nice pool and nice restaurant inside.
Cons: put a fridge in the room
This is a nice hotel if you get the rooms that are not rooms with the door going straight outside. the older rooms are a little dated and I noticed that they didn't have a fridge inside the room(and I needed one). We went through expedia and it was not cheaper than if we'd gone through the hotel itself and we got stuck with the exterior rooms which are not very quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Our stay was great. We arrived late & only had a few minutes in the pool. Pool hours could be extended. Other than that our stay wa great, room was clean & beds were comfortable. Best part was breakfast down in the cafe. I would definitely stay at this location again.
2 out of 5
by Erin from Texas

Not Worth It!!!

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Check in is at 4:00. At 5:20 our room was not ready and our two small children needed a place to stretch their legs. We settled for a different room. The room was ok upon first glance; however, later that night I discovered a towel hanging on the bathroom door from a previous guest. The popcorn on the ceiling had come down in two places in the bathroom. The next morning we took our children to the swimming pool and it was not clean. The pool area does not open until 9:00 am, I assumed so it could be cleaned from the night before. It was not. There was all kinds of trash around the pool. I notified the front desk about the housekeeping issues and they said they would address it. There was not an offer to discount the room or provide any type of compensation. Choose somewhere else if you can. This was a last minute booking for us and I will not make this mistake again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dannh from Dalhart Texas

Refurbished and comfortable.

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: Location Location Locationi
Cons: Signage to ammenties
Location: Shopping, dining, ease of access to all points of Lubbock.
Hotel stay was very pleasing, only off note was refrigerator in room had no door on ice compartment and everything you put in it froze solid. Signage directing you to restaurant or other areas definitely need improvement. Staff was efficient and my stay was comfortable once i learned to go opposite of posted signs. Yes i would stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by s from austin, tx

Just ok

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: It had a bar, but the bar closed an hour early
Cons: Bathroom tiles need caulking, some replacing. The room smelled like a smoking room when we entered even though no smoking is allowed in the rooms.
I've stayed at a number of holiday inns and this was by far the most run down. I'm not a big fan of hotels with room doors that open to the outside, feels a lot less safe. Also, we had to pull the door closed several times for it to lock- this needs fixing