Ratings based on 165 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hertfordshire

Still good after 28 years

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: We were very pleased with the room, the staff, the facilities and the location. Good, secure parking reasonable at 15 euros a night.
Cons: Buffet expensive at 12 Euros especially as main course low on veg/salad. Didn't seem to be side dishes to add to meal. Will book half board next time.
Location: Hotel location good. Resort not as lovely as before: low season/economic situation? Visit Lucca/Pisa/Florence - drive or use the good transport nearby
I and my family have stayed at the Royal a number of times over many years, and while it was quite a different experience in the 90s (particularly where the food was concerned and no inclusive use of beach facilities), it has retained its charm and slightly faded elegance. It is a lovely hotel with a lovely, peaceful garden with a very clean pool, table tennis. croquet and pool café, which had snacks and drinks at very reasonable prices. The room we were allocated (411) was very large, well appointed and spotlessly clean, and quiet. Bed was huge but a bit hard for us. We requested a high floor, quiet location and got it. The staff were all great as usual. We will return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Large room with great view of beach

Posted May 13, 2015
This hotel has "great bones" but needs a little touch up. That being said, it's pretty and has a great location right on the strip. The breakfast buffet is plentiful and delicious. Our room had 18-20' ceilings and a balcony where we could drink our coffee and enjoy the sunset. There is a fee for using the private beach across the street, but the beach club was immaculate and worth it, especially if you walk down and look at the public beach. The Best Western staff was terrific. Nice bar for evening drinks. We did not use the pool but it was attractive. The only downside about our room was the small shower and the mattress was a bit hard. But I would definitely stay here again. Viareggio is a great beach location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hampshire, UK

Well run hotel on the beach road.

Posted May 10, 2015
Pros: Clean, large room and bathroom. We pre-paid a small premium for a sea-view. Staff were very helpful. Decent breakfast. Good facilities in general.
Cons: No complaints - just be aware that the swimming pool (outdoor) does not open until beginning May.
Location: Very handy for the beach - although most of the beach is occupied by private beach clubs - and nearby restaurants and shops. Also market once a week.
Large, but well run hotel just opposite the beach. We stayed two nights in April (before the season really gets going) and enjoyed it very much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by elizafrom São Paulo

Surpresa inesperada

Posted Nov 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Não conhecíamos a cidade e foi uma agradável surpresa, lugar pitoresco, excelente hotel, com ótima localização e muito conservado, parece um palacete.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Hans-Joachim Weissfrom Badenweiler

Belle Époque

Posted Nov 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Tja, wir wussten, was auf uns zu kam, um es gleich zu sagen, wir bereuen es aber nicht. Das Grand Hotel Royal ist ein Haus mit Seele und kann viele Gesichtern erzählen wenn man genau hinhört und hinsieht. Leider ist mit der Zeit ein Renovationsstau entstanden. Auch die Betten sind nichts für defekte Bandscheiben. Trotz alle dem, man wird an anderer Stelle im Hotel dafür mächtig "entschädigt", wie beim Frühstück zum Beispiel, oder wie mit dem hervorragenden Personal. Wir werden wiederkommen, dass ist sicher!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by mustafa gökselfrom İzmir

Otopark

Posted Nov 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Otel otoparkının ücretli olmasını yadırgadım
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Steffenfrom Gothenburg

Fine and classic hotel

Posted Nov 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Business related visit to Viareggio area. A nice and classic hotel. Fairly close to the highway and many restaurants to choose from. Easy to find a parking right outside the hotel (Note that this stay was during low season), parking is €8 / 24 hrs and is paid at the reception desk. Internet connection was included, but very slow so it took a while to download large mails. Overall very satisfied, great breakfast with kind and helpful staff. Unfortunately, I had no time for a morning jog, but the hotel is right by the beach for those of you who enjoy this.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Bello ma non...

Posted Oct 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
ma non un vero Grand Hotel... porte e finestre "primitive", colazione con prodotti da supermercato di qualità media, poca scelta di canali Tv. Per il resto camera spaziosa e pulita e vista magnifca dal balcone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great value at the beach front

Posted Oct 21, 2014
historic building, good pool area, great location, reasonable price
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Manchester UK

Lovely, elegant hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Stayed here for 6 nights in October. The weather was fantastic so the pool and gardens were still open which was great after a day of sightseeing. The resort is an excellent base for sightseeing as the train station is close by and the bus to Pisa stops right outside. The staff were fantastic, especially Giuseppe in the American Bar who provided excellent service and made great cocktails. Overall a wonderful stay.