Ratings based on 138 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2014
The hotel was good, clean, well situated except for two niggles: 1. It was very hot inside, despite being freezing weather. We called up the staff and they suggested opening the window, which we did, and problem solved. 2. The door to the bathroom does not lock - in fact it does not even "close" in the normal sense of the word, because by design it's one of these modern all-glass doors in a stainless steel frame with about a 1 cm gap on all 4 sides between the glass and the frame. The hinges and the door frame don't have stops, so if you try to "close" it, it simply keeps going past the center position and "opens" out the other side. We got around this by wedging a piece of tissue paper between the door and the frame so it would stay put in the closed position, but I rated room comfort 4 out of 5 as in general I prefer to have a bathroom door that locks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve & Jen from Perth Australia

Great hotel with late checkout

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: Good value for money overall.
Cons: Would be good to have a safe in the room.
Location: Very close to the old city, so easy walk.
We would have stayed longer in Lucca but could only fit one day in to our itinerary. Having a midday checkout instead of the standard 10:00am made a big difference.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Larry

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marino from Australia

Eurostar Lucca Italy

Posted Oct 9, 2013
Pros: Close to centre of town for exploring and around the corner a nice and inexpensive cafe/bar/restaurant called Nicko's for dinner.
Cons: Sleeping pillows could be a little softer.
As from 6th Oct 2013, Staff was very helpful, facilities very good and clean, one of the best breakfast we had while touring Italy and all for a very good price. The hotel was a bit hard to find as the entrance was hidden and no sign to say that you had arrived, otherwise a good experience so we booked a second night.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by frequent traveller from london

disaster

Posted Sep 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had booked two rooms for three nights to celebrate a family birthday. The problems started immediately: the internet service did not work and the international tv-channels were also out of order. When claiming, we were told that a technician were on his way, but three days later he had still not arrived. The staff capacity at the breakfast was not sufficient to clear tables and fill up supply of food and drinks resulting in continuous claims. Finally the last morning the water supply was cut for over three hours resulting in guests having to leave without showers and possibility to use toilets. in addition the fire-alarm sounded twice without anybody knowing why and forcing guests to gather in the lobby without explanation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, very clean, super staff

Posted Aug 28, 2013
Stayed with our teenagers and took advantage of being able to walk into Lucca. Front desk staff very helpful, cheerful and accomodating. Rooms clean and modern. Included breakfast amazing and Italian! Something for everyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mary from London, UK

Handy for Luccas

Posted Aug 16, 2013
Pros: Fridge, free wifi and location.
Cons: Lack of a view from the room
Location: 15 minute walk to the walled city of Lucca part way without a pavement.
Convenient but not scenic location, comfortable room with fridge and air conditioning. Nice modern bathroom. Enjoyable breakfast. Helpful and friendly staff. Free car parking - good value!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Conor from Derry, Ireland

Ideal for short stay

Posted Aug 6, 2013
Pros: Easy access, great price
Cons: As a budget hotel no complaints
Location: Easy access from motorway and to Lucca (Beautiful walled city)
Stopped off here for one night after late evening arrival in Pisa. Easy to find off Autostrada. Ample safe parking. Friendly, helpful staff. Simple comfortable rooms. Quiet. Nice pizza restaurant about 5 minutes walk. Breakfast was a simple affair. 2 minutes drive into Lucca the next morning. Okay for short stay as a budget hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ian from UK

Well priced hotel within reasonale reach of Lucca

Posted Aug 4, 2013
Pros: Price
Cons: Welcoming in bar and restaurant area - availability of staff in both
Location: Reasonable - near to main A road which was handy for us for airport but maybe not so if staying for a few days.
Hotel was in reasonable location given price, being 20mins walk to Lucca old town which was main reason for visit although room did have 'pleasure' of a view of mcdonalds but sound-proofing mitigated any issues. Reception staff helpful but difficult to get help in bar in evening or restaurant during breakfast. Hotel could possibly do with helping navigate one of the most confusing junctions in italy to get to hotel! Finally could do with more pillows in room but to be fair we didn't ask at reception!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by ken from n. california

pretty good

Posted Jul 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
it was fine. Hotel itself good - but while 15-20 minutes walk to/from train - the route was not always on sidewalks. Also - it was 15-20 long minutes away from a gate into the walled city so taking a late afternoon break was a time waster.... times two. Finally - I hoped to do some fitness stuff for upper body and their fitness room was essentially nothing. The lack of a fitness room was biggish for me since it was a specific draw. Finally - the staff WAS VERY GOOD and helpful. Thanks.