Ratings based on 215 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salisbury, UK

The perfect hotel for Lucca

Posted Jul 22, 2014
This is an excellent hotel for the price. It could not be better positioned and the rooms were spotless. It is very efficiently run and the parking provided is very useful although be warned that this is not especially cheap. Breakfast were excellent and nothing ever ran out no matter how late you went down. A very small negative point is that the sound insulation between rooms could be improved.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Wonderful hotel within the wall

Posted Jul 12, 2014
This is a wonderful place to stay within the walls of Lucca. The staff are exceptionally accomodating and also able to help you plan a variety of day tours once you have exhausted exploring the citywithin the wall . The rooms are clean and well appointed, bicycles are available free of charge, there is an afternoon snack bar open free of charge to guests,a terrace to enjoy the evening and breakfast is also included. What more could you ask for!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

5 minute walk to Arc leading to historic center.

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Mentioned above in Experience.
Location:
We stayed here 6 months ago, Nov 2013, and now on route to So. Italy by car from Paris we stayed 2 nights on way down and 3 nights on way back up. Franco, owner of the hotel, explained the map in the living room lounge...Marco Polo's journey To China, Queen Isabella of Spain & Columbus Voyage and other interesting historical stuff. At the time it was thought the world was flat. The hotel has family connections with the 3 best restaurants in Lucca in my opinion, Buca di SanAntonio(Guiliano Mgr), Ristorante Giglio( Paula Mgr, Franco's daughter) & Gli Orti di via Elisa( Samuele Mgr). Hotel Mgr is Paolo, Franco's son. All staff are very friendly and knowledgeable about recommendations in the area. Bikes are available to circle the 3 mile wall around Lucca & bike within the historical center. Free drinks, Diet Cokes, Beer, Water & sweets available all day in the living room type lounge with library and TV. Car parked on premises & available in 5 minutes. Best breakfast of all hotels we stayed at in Italy and available until 10:30 for late risers. Only problem is I was too full frequently to have a desired lunch..HA ! Since I have characters remaining those in the SF Bay area, Marin Joes in Corte Madera, Ca., should relate to this...the owner of the best Italian restaurant, grilled meats are specialties, Romano della Santina and sons, Paolo & Rafaelo, are from Lucca & recommened this hotel and I am grateful to them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, ME

Very good place to stay

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Its location, which made it so convenient to all of Lucca's offerings. Inside the city walls, it provides easy access to all the sights.
Location: Lucca is an extremely walkable city, and the Ilaria is very near access to its town wall, which is a grand promenade.
The Ilaria is very well-situated, close in proximity to Lucca's fabled town wall, and an easy walk to all of this lovely city's sights. It is a newer hotel, with a very convenient food station by the fron desk, where one can get drinks, cookies and the like. There are small tables there as well. In the small foyer area is also a number of seating areas and a big screen TV. We were able to watch some of the World Cup matches there, and the hotel also had magazines and books available on nearby tables. Our room was very pleasant, with two beds, a TV, desk area, good closet with refrigerator and safe nearby. The good-sized window had a view of the street fronting the hotel, and had a room-darkening shade which worked well. The bath was spacious enough, and well-appointed. There was a lovely breakfast area on an upper porch which was charming. The breakfast offerings were ample and delicious. In addition, on that same first floor was another porch with chaise lounges and a hot tub, though I am not sure that was operating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

An great hotel in every respect.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Everything!!
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Close to Pisa and Florence. Recommend guests take advantage of the free bikes available at the hotel.
The hotel is in an excellent location, has friendly staff and well appointed rooms. Breakfast was really good and the bonus of a running drinks/snack service throughout the day was a very pleasant surprise. We would not consider staying anywhere else in Lucca.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable large unique suite

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Bicycles
Cons: The shower was a little strange and leaked.
Location: Tour inside the wall.
Inside the wall of the town of Lucca is all about history. Inside the Hotel Illaria is all about comfort. The room was a beautiful suite with a stone wall. The breakfast was a nice spread in the covered outdoor veranda.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jimex3

Good Hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: The nice added touch of cycles and snack bar
Cons: Room air conditioning
Excellent Situated Hotel within the walls of the old city
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mando Romano

Less Then 3 min walk to arc into Historic Center

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Location, good air-conditioning, staff friendly & helpful, bikes free, best restaurant recommendations, beverages & snacks available all day .
Location: Viareggio/ Forte de Marmi beaches 1/2 hour west. Florence less than 1 hour east.
We stayed here 6 months ago based on a recommendation. We stayed now 2 nights on trip south in Italy and plan to stay 2-3 more nights on return back to Paris.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Moni from New Delhi

Great place to stay in Lucca

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: Its location, facilities, the quality and efficiency of its staff and services, and the value for money which it offered.
Cons: The quality of the toilet paper.
Ilaria offers all that we hoped for - a wonderful location inside the city walls with its own parking space, proximity to all the major sights of the city, a most helpful staff, a lovely terrace on which to relax and unwind, and an ambience of great charm and comfort. We felt at home from the moment we set foot in the hotel. The room size is modest but more than adequate, and the breakfast excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gill from Channel Islands

Wish we could have stayed longer

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: Friendly, approachable staff
Cons: We didn't see anyone using the hot tub during our stay and thought this might be because it is sited in a very small, public area.
Location: The hotel is centrally located and there are plenty of places to visit and lots of eating and shopping opportunities close at hand.
We stayed at the hotel Ilaria for a week and thoroughly enjoyed it. I would describe it as small but beautifully formed. We prefer to stay in small hotels and avoid the stuffiness and formality of larger ones. Here the atmosphere was quite informal and we appreciated being able to help ourselves to coffee and light snacks during the day. The hotel staff were very welcoming and able to answer our queries about what to do in the area. Lucca is a perfect size to walk around and everywhere we went for coffee or a bite to eat we were waited on by really friendly locals who value their tourists and take the time to talk to them and explain things. I would have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending the hotel and the city of Lucca to anyone thinking of visiting Tuscany. I was sorry to leave at the end of my first visit and can't wait to go back.