Ratings based on 222 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Savannah, GA

Perfect hotel in a charming town

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: The hotel is a couple blocks inside the wall which surrounds the historic center of Lucca. Everything within the wall is within easy walking distance.
Wonderful hotel with all the modern conveniences in a picture perfect 15th century town. Private parking lot, breakfast, internet and use of bicycles all included with room. My wife and I definitely would return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

An excellent stay in Lucca

Posted Sep 11, 2014
My wife and I stayed the Residenza dell'Alba suite room (across the street from the main Hotel Ilaria) for a couple of nights. The unit was awesome—spacious and beautifully set. Living room and the larger bathroom with a spa is on the first level, and the bedroom is on the upper level with the second bathroom. Breakfast was at the main Hotel Ilaria building, and it was good. They provide complimentary bikes—nice touch. It is close to everywhere :) If you drive, get inside the city wall from Porta Elisa, just go straight, and turn right on Via del Fosso just before the twin towers where the ZTL (limited driving zone) starts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Lucca convenience

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Room basic but fine. Hotel in good position and easy to find. Parking convenient and parking assistant takes over . Nice roof terrace. Breakfast good. Foyer drinks and cakes are nice touch. Jaccuzi on roof not working. Overall good stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

Hotel in Centre of Lucca

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Being right in the city walls meant walking through the City was easy.
Cons: Stay in the Main Building.
Nice Hotel and really well positioned however we were in the Annexe and would have preferred the main building. Ask to be in the main part if you are thinking os staying. Great to have car parking within the walls of the City so unlikely to be bettered for facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salisbury, UK

The perfect hotel for Lucca

Posted Jul 22, 2014
This is an excellent hotel for the price. It could not be better positioned and the rooms were spotless. It is very efficiently run and the parking provided is very useful although be warned that this is not especially cheap. Breakfast were excellent and nothing ever ran out no matter how late you went down. A very small negative point is that the sound insulation between rooms could be improved.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Wonderful hotel within the wall

Posted Jul 12, 2014
This is a wonderful place to stay within the walls of Lucca. The staff are exceptionally accomodating and also able to help you plan a variety of day tours once you have exhausted exploring the citywithin the wall . The rooms are clean and well appointed, bicycles are available free of charge, there is an afternoon snack bar open free of charge to guests,a terrace to enjoy the evening and breakfast is also included. What more could you ask for!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

5 minute walk to Arc leading to historic center.

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Mentioned above in Experience.
Location:
We stayed here 6 months ago, Nov 2013, and now on route to So. Italy by car from Paris we stayed 2 nights on way down and 3 nights on way back up. Franco, owner of the hotel, explained the map in the living room lounge...Marco Polo's journey To China, Queen Isabella of Spain & Columbus Voyage and other interesting historical stuff. At the time it was thought the world was flat. The hotel has family connections with the 3 best restaurants in Lucca in my opinion, Buca di SanAntonio(Guiliano Mgr), Ristorante Giglio( Paula Mgr, Franco's daughter) & Gli Orti di via Elisa( Samuele Mgr). Hotel Mgr is Paolo, Franco's son. All staff are very friendly and knowledgeable about recommendations in the area. Bikes are available to circle the 3 mile wall around Lucca & bike within the historical center. Free drinks, Diet Cokes, Beer, Water & sweets available all day in the living room type lounge with library and TV. Car parked on premises & available in 5 minutes. Best breakfast of all hotels we stayed at in Italy and available until 10:30 for late risers. Only problem is I was too full frequently to have a desired lunch..HA ! Since I have characters remaining those in the SF Bay area, Marin Joes in Corte Madera, Ca., should relate to this...the owner of the best Italian restaurant, grilled meats are specialties, Romano della Santina and sons, Paolo & Rafaelo, are from Lucca & recommened this hotel and I am grateful to them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, ME

Very good place to stay

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Its location, which made it so convenient to all of Lucca's offerings. Inside the city walls, it provides easy access to all the sights.
Location: Lucca is an extremely walkable city, and the Ilaria is very near access to its town wall, which is a grand promenade.
The Ilaria is very well-situated, close in proximity to Lucca's fabled town wall, and an easy walk to all of this lovely city's sights. It is a newer hotel, with a very convenient food station by the fron desk, where one can get drinks, cookies and the like. There are small tables there as well. In the small foyer area is also a number of seating areas and a big screen TV. We were able to watch some of the World Cup matches there, and the hotel also had magazines and books available on nearby tables. Our room was very pleasant, with two beds, a TV, desk area, good closet with refrigerator and safe nearby. The good-sized window had a view of the street fronting the hotel, and had a room-darkening shade which worked well. The bath was spacious enough, and well-appointed. There was a lovely breakfast area on an upper porch which was charming. The breakfast offerings were ample and delicious. In addition, on that same first floor was another porch with chaise lounges and a hot tub, though I am not sure that was operating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

An great hotel in every respect.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Everything!!
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Close to Pisa and Florence. Recommend guests take advantage of the free bikes available at the hotel.
The hotel is in an excellent location, has friendly staff and well appointed rooms. Breakfast was really good and the bonus of a running drinks/snack service throughout the day was a very pleasant surprise. We would not consider staying anywhere else in Lucca.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable large unique suite

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Bicycles
Cons: The shower was a little strange and leaked.
Location: Tour inside the wall.
Inside the wall of the town of Lucca is all about history. Inside the Hotel Illaria is all about comfort. The room was a beautiful suite with a stone wall. The breakfast was a nice spread in the covered outdoor veranda.