Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Close to bike rentals, train station, park-on-wall

Posted Nov 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had an extra night as part of a work trip and decided biking along the wall in Lucca as suggested in Rick Steve's guidebook sounded like a nice way to help get over jet lag. Le Violette was well situated for this, and also for our morning train to the Florence region. Anna was very nice, her paintings in the room were delightful, and the traditional European light breakfast was a nice start to our European travel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carole from Glasgow

a well-run pension

Posted Oct 27, 2013
Pros: Its position, pricing and convenience
Cons: The landlady, Anna, is friendly and helpful. Just let her know in good time if you plan to arrive later in the day.
Location: The pension is right near Teatro del Giuglio, and a few minutes walk from the centre, train station and buses
The rooms are clean, and the pension has a number of personal touches, helping guests to feel relaxed and at home
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Leslie on vacation from Chicago

Good stay in Lucca

Posted Oct 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Le Violette was a fine hotel for our short stay in Lucca. It was a bit noisy at night (our room was over the late night hangout below) and early in the morning (street cleaning and garbage pickup) and not spotlessly clean, but good enough. WiFi was very good, breakfast not so good, the bed was very firm, the shower great with lots of hot water, and the shutters on the windows blocked most of the noise. Our hostess was pleasant and helpful. The location excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Glasgow Girls from Scotland

Posted Sep 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Such a good location so close to the railway station and 2 minutes from the Wall surrounding Lucca . Very clean and basic accommodation with continental breakfast served in the morning .
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Barkcloth from Hawaii

Love Lucca

Posted Sep 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
We loved Lucca and this place was close to their grand wall. We're more comfortable in something quieter and more upscale . Anna needs an assistant to work on the place, she sure is nice, tries hard and got up early to make us breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Denny

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Joanne from California

Great....except for the street noise!

Posted Sep 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Anna was wonderful, helpful and her breakfasts were good. But, unfortunately, the city of Lucca has made a pedestrian mall a half block from Le Violette. Maybe it'll be better after school starts, but when we were there in earlySeptember, the street noise was horrendous -- and it went on until about 2 a.m. every night! And then people would start walking under our windows about 7 a.m. in the morning....even a street sweeping machine!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by travelnz from new Zealand

location and service excellent

Posted Sep 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Anna the host was lovely. Helped out with places to go and did our laundry. Great location. 2 night stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Ian from Nottingham

Comfortable and friendly B & B

Posted May 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
The lady who runs Le Violette is very helpful and clearly takes great pride in her business. The B & B occupies the first floor of a grand old building within the walls of the old town, easily accessed from the station. The rooms are large with high ceilings. Breakfast is good by Italian standards with the added attraction of home made pancakes with honey. Overall a nice place to stay and good value for money
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Marta from San Diego, CA

Simple Accomodations

Posted May 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
The rooms were very simple and like most beds we had on this trip to Italy, the mattresses tend to be very firm, that said; the room was comfortable and the location was very good. Inside the wall, with an entrance to the pedestrian walk on top of the wall just a few mintues away. Parking is available for free outside the wall and a good 20 minute walk from the hotel. We were able to drop off our luggage but you need to make sure you don't cross into any restricted zones if you are driving and haven't obtained a permit - taking the GPS most direct route, we were fine. The rooms were clean and the staff/hosts were most helpful and accomodating. The price seemed a bit high for the quality of accomodations.