Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisa from london

Lovely hotel, great location opposite the beach!

Posted Jun 26, 2014
My husband, baby & I stayed here for a couple of nights whilst making our way along the coast to Tuscany. The room we had was huge which was great when having a baby! The bed was big too & very comfy. Breakfast was a wide choice of ceral, cooked, fruits, teas, coffees & lovely welcoming staff everywhere u went. Be sure to check out the roof top bar with incredible views of the beach and promenade! Def would stay again! :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by michele from toronto

A stay at the beach

Posted May 23, 2014
We had a comfortable room and balcony overlooking the main road and beach across from it. The staff were accmodating and the breakfast was tasty. Parking was very close by. No complaints!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by GB from London

Lovely hotel. Worth a stay just for the breakfast.

Posted May 18, 2014
Early in season, so hotel and resort comparatively quiet. A lovely hotel with superb breakfast choices and friendly service. Stayed in a Deluxe room which is certainly worth the extra cost; the large private roof terrace is a huge bonus . Who needs the beach? There is also a roof terrace with bar which I imagine is busier later in the season. The lounge areas could do with a bit of livening up and feel a bit austere. You're not exactly encouraged to sit around for a drink. But I'm sure later in the season there is more of a buzz. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from London (UK)

Character hotel, near the beach

Posted Nov 6, 2013
Pros: Expedia search
Cons: A little money spent on public area carperts wouldnt go amiss, but who cares less as long as staff are this good
Location: Dont miss the really pleaseant park just back from the hotel. Spent a great hour chatting to the loacls who were playting some local version of bowls.
Very welcoming staff. Good size room, easy parking (though we were out of season.). Good breakfast. Close to beach, but quiet rooms as its paralell to the main 'drag'.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing Hotel across the street from the beach

Posted Sep 24, 2013
Pros: The location was first and the people right close behind.
The hotel itself was great.... It takes you back to a time of tradition and style. You are greeted right away, given a map, discounted parking on request, beach information etc. the Breakfast here was top notch. Situated across from not only the beach but the best promenade which was loaded with shops and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carol from Brighton, UK

Brilliant location. Brilliant staff.

Posted Sep 18, 2013
Pros: Location and service
Cons: Needs updating on decoration
Location: Brilliant location. 30 mins Pisa airport. Train to Florence 1hr 40, to Lucca about 17 mins. .
Nice hotel, on seafront, right in the middle of shops, bars, restaurants. Convenient parking outside for small charge. Decoration was a little tired but couldn't fault cleanliness. Rooms have safe, fridge, air conditioning (although not very powerful). Usual Italian breakfasts - breads, cheeses, fruit, scrambled eggs, bacon every day - got a bit repetitive. We had b&b but heard mixed reviews from other guests about evening meals. Staff were exceptional - friendly, helpful, going above and beyond to help us. About 15-20mins walk from Viareggio station and large supermarket. Hotel has roof terrace with sunbeds, umbrellas etc which we used instead of paying 20 euros a day to go on beach opposite hotel. Market on promenade opposite hotel on Weds mornings. Would recommend this hotel for location and service. Tried two back street Italian restaurants but felt we got 2nd class treatment - so reverted to those on promenade
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from West Sussec

Palace Hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2013
Pros: The accommodation was comfortable and well appointed, if a bit dated. The staff were particularly helpful and friendly. The hotel was well located.
Cons: The air conditioning was noisy and not very efficient. The extractor fan in the bathroom did not seem to be very effective.
Location: It was very handy for the beach and sea promenade, and for walking to the station and shops.
I had an enjoyable, relaxing week at the hotel. The accommodation was comfortable and well appointed, if a bit dated. The staff were particularly helpful and friendly. The hotel was well located.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sally

Lovely hotel with multi-lingual staff

Posted Sep 4, 2013
Pros: The staff were professional, friendly and courteous and the cleaning staff were really friendly and helpful, when I met them.
Cons: Nothing! The hotel, the location and the staff were all lovely.
Location: Superb location! Right on the beach, which is safe, though it costs 23.5 euros a day for the hotel beach concession (cash!).
I had the most wonderful, relaxing holiday at the Palace Hotel, Viareggio. The Reception staff could not have been more helpful and even spoke to me in Italian, as I'm trying to learn the language. The buffet breakfast was first-class and, when I did have dinner in the restaurant the meal was superb. I shall definitely return!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Alison from Cumbria

Good location

Posted Aug 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
A bit dated decor, but you accept this with one of the original hotels in this area,staff friendly, good breakfast, over priced compared to our previous hotel in Lucca. Great for cycling along the prom, bikes hired locally, try the fish & chips from the boat at the harbour, cooked to order lip smacking good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Very old hotel. It needs a remodeling!!!

Posted Jul 16, 2013
Pros: In some way, they are making the effort to have a nice hotel and have something good for their clients.
Cons: A remodeling is urgent!
Location: Good location. In front of the sea.
The hotel seems to be dirty because it is too old and in poor condition. It is NOT a 4 starts hotel...it seems a 3 stars hotel.