Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Lovely hotel inside the walls of the city.

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: Everything about this hotel is wonderful, but most of all, the warmth of the owners is genuine and one feels at home in this palace.
Cons: Everything was perfect! No improvements needed.
Location: The hotel is inside the walls and moments away from shops, cafes, restaurants, and important sites.
This family-run hotel is absolutely beautiful and I hope I have the chance to stay here again. Everyone was pleasant, warm, and so helpful. I looked forward to the abundant breakfast buffet and exquisite cappuccinos in a palatial setting. My ample room was lovely, comfortable, and clean. I could live here! ...I wish I could have stayed much longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Friendly staff, comfortable staff, great breakfast!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from v

Very nice hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Very nice hotel Wonderful location Everything. Is Great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leicester, UK

Great Location - Good Choice

Posted Sep 8, 2014
An enjoyable 2 night stay in the lovely city of Lucca, at the Palazzo Alexander. Good location within the walls of the old city, a nice flat stroll to the main sights and restaurants. The hotel has a lot of charm, nicely restored and decorated. Service was excellent, friendly, efficient and helpful. The buffet breakfast is very good, excellent quality meats, cheeses and pastries along with great coffee. Wi-Fi worked well, very fast and good coverage. Good place to stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast Australia

Old Worlde charm in a very good location

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Location,room (triple) , friendly service
Cons: Tea making facility in the room
Location: General sightseeing inside the wall, good restaurants, shopping
Very comfortable 4night stay. Mario and Son could not have been more helpful. A mixup with our booking when we arrived was handled well, and corrected as soon as it could be.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta Canada

It doesn't get better than this

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: I loved the helpful staff and the wonderful food for breakfast including two tortes every day, croissants, eggs bacon toast coffee.
Cons: There is nothing I can think of........
Location: Location is central to many of Luccas sites. The whole inner city within the walls can be reached by walking in 20 minutes.
We stayed at this hotel for 9 days August 2014. The staff was exceptional and we really got to know the three main workers for the hotel who are Mario, Alexander and Gabrielle. They are very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are a mix of traditional decor and yet functional and comfortable. It is very clean and well taken care of. The rooms are spacious and the air conditioning works well
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ont. Canada

Excellent hotel and location!!

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Beautiful d├ęcor with a real Medieval feel. Friendly staff; excellent location.
Location: Right inside the walled city of Luca. This allowed us to walk easily anywhere we went.
We loved staying here! An excellent experience to stay inside the walled city of Luca. A gorgeous room, and a hotel. Great attention to cleanliness. And a gorgeous parlour where we had breakfast each morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Essex

Silver wedding trip

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: Beautifully restored. Ideal location for a celebration. Just what we were looking for in an Italian city break.
Cons: Tea / coffee in room would be good, as would a shower curtain !
Location: Circuit of the City Walls, climb the Guingini Tower for the best view in town, visit the cathedral, eat lots of ice cream, wander around for hours.
Beautiful hotel in a fabulous city. Attentive staff, nothing appeared to be too much trouble. Very atmospheric location with everything in close reach. Easy place to spend hours just wandering around. We were recommended Rama restaurant by the hotel staff - fantastic if you like seafood.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Richard Fitzpatrick from Chico, Ca

Excellent hotel, with phenomenal service.

Posted Jul 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed two days at this fine hotel at the end of June, 2014. The hotel is very well situated in Lucca, and easy to reach, in a quiet, attractive location. The room was in great shape, clean and spacious. Classic looking, in a very good way. Service in this hotel was superior, with Mario (General Manager) exceeding expectations. Polite, helpful, and fluent in five languages, his level of service and attention to everything, made our experience here fantastic. I cannot say enough of how well we were treated. Highest possible marks.