Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Western Australia

Good Hotel

Posted Oct 21, 2014
We enjoyed our four-night stay at this hotel. It is ideally located for seeing the main sights of Lucca. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The room was very clean, spacious and pleasant. Our only grumble: the bread at breakfast was freshly baked on only one occasion. It was not 100% fresh on the other days. Also, we were disappointed in the the canned fruit, although we did receive fresh fruit salad, when breakfast was delivered to our room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Expensive and very gloomy green!

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: The 'free' breakfast is excellent… but guess what, you really are paying top dollar, so it should be great; right?
Cons: The decor in the green rooms. I believe there are red rooms but I was not offered an alternative. It was all a bit too gloomy for our taste.
Location: Great, one of the reasons we chose it! Good for onward travel to Pisa airport but don't rely on the hotel staff to know anything about the timetable.
We booked here at the last minute following an Italian train strike. It is a pleasant hotel and has many trappings that you would expect of a four star establishment. It is not perhaps as brilliant as some of the glowing recommendations make out and I would caution those who are used to quality with more style. The hotel has Italian elegance and the staff were very polite although their cultural advice, onward travel information and recommendations for eateries out of the hotel was very poor and we found ourselves being quickly disappointed. It may be because we had a forth floor room, but the room we were given had very small windows and the drapes that they have across them make the room dark and uninviting; this, coupled with the dark-green decor, contributed to a very gloomy feel. I pointed this out at reception but was not offered an alternative. This is an expensive place to stay. We spent most of the time out of the room in beautiful Lucca so all this wasn't a problem but I would look elsewhere for value and something more modern in future. Go to Lucca… it's lovely!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara CA

Great hotel to see Lucca

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Location and that every member of the staff made us feel welcome.
Location: Perfect location to see the sights walking or using a hotel bike, circling the city walls is a unique experience.
Well situated just inside the old city and perfect if you have a car rental. Staff was very helpful with advanced driving directions and where parking permitted during check in, then parked our car & brought the luggage to our room. Provided a map and explained several areas of interest of note and for shopping. On request they had several dinner recommendations and made a reservation for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Arborfield, UK

Excellent hotel inside the walls of Lucca

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Perfect location. Quiet rooms. Great staff
We stayed for 3 nights and it was the perfect choice. The staff are extremely helpful. The barman mixes a mean Negroni and when we asked for some ice so that my partner could cool an old foot injury they pulled out special bag for it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great hotel with large rooms, in a great location

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: Everything is within walking distance at a strolling pace
This was a last minute booking for an overnight stay and was ideal. Within the walls and with on-site car parking, made it very convenient. Very pleasant staff added to the experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Friendly staff, in smart but relaxed hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Cons: Hotel bicycles (free to guests) okay but need attention to maintenance (handlebar was loose and another had a knocking crank)
Had a small hire car which was parked in the adjacent yard for 15 euros a night. Entry from the road is outside the ZTL restricted area but they said they would register the car with the authorities just in case we had erred. Great location and a very pleasant place to stay in a very pleasant old town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Lucca old town

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Lovely peaceful hotel just inside the city walls. Room larger than expected and very comfortable with air conditioning. Breakfast satisfactory - we enjoyed fresh melon particularly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kailua, Hawaii

Gem of a hotel!

Posted Jul 14, 2014
We loved this hotel - service was excellent, room was very spacious and well appointed. Bathroom was large, spotless and well equipped. Staff was outstanding. Quiet location and close to everything (but Luca is small anyway!). Wish we had booked another night. Would definitely stay here again. Absolutely no complaints!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Reading UK

Quiet Elegance in Lucca

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Friendly helpful staff, the night barman, quiet, understated elegance.
Cons: Nothing
Location: It's Lucca! Medieval walled city full of history and some very good restaurants. The train journey up to Castelnuovo di Gafangana
We just spent 3 nights here, during a short stay in Lucca to see The Eagles. Everything about this place was great, from the friendly night barman, full of tips on the local area to the helpful front of house staff. The room was huge, quiet, very well furnished and decorated, and spotlessly cleaned daily. There was a large choice for breakfast ( B&B only, seemed a trend with hotels in Lucca, maybe because of huge number of good eating places) We loved the place Thank you, Simone and team.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

central location

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: central position and friendly staff
Only stayed for one night on our tour of Italy, but the central location was great for walking around Lucca.Hotel staff were very attentive and gave great service.Rooms were spacious and very clean, and the car park around the corner was an added bonus.