Ratings based on 133 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by chicofrom scotland

great location

Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
hotel was in a great location and was only 10 minutes walk from station - bit outdated, also no curtain for shower resulting in having to use towels to dry wet floor. friendly staff who organised taxi transport to and from airport
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Excellent location

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: location close to sights main attractions and shops and restaurants
Cons: rooms need a little updating but might detract from its charm
Location: on the corner of 2 main squares close to the cathedral, walls and museums Plenty of churches, medieval architecture and all on the flat!
Hotel Universo in excellent location overlooking main squares close to all the sights. Staff helpful spoke good english Rooms a little dated but have all that you need TV hairdryer air con fridge clean with plenty of hot water. An old world charm as the building is 18th century. 10 minute walk to bus station
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Wileyfrom Orange County CA

Great place to stay

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Location was excellent, great staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Great location and good staff

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Having air-conditioned rooms was vital and made all the difference, as Lucca gets very hot and humid in the evening.
Cons: The bathroom facilities could have been better - there was no shower curtain round the bathtub, so water did splash everywhere.
Location: It's an old town, with numerous churches, small roads and cloisters, surrounded by an old city wall. Small enough to soak up Tuscan atmosphere.
The hotel is in the middle of Lucca, within the city walls. It's located in an old building with high ceilings and good decor and was clean throughout. The staff were very welcoming and willing to help and the breakfast the next morning was a good continental buffet. My friends and I had two rooms and we were there at the same time as the summer music festival, when roads were being closed off, so it was great that the staff helped us navigate around that. An added bonus was that given the festival was next to the hotel, we didn't even need tickets to hear the music! All round a good hotel which I would go back to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good stay

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Location and traditional style of hotel and its history. Also hotel has a little library with lots of books about Lucca
Location: Music in July Restaurants buildings and atmosphere
Hotel central - advise parking first then find hotel on foot as sat nav can't cope! Very central and great value - hotel has alot of history - staff VERY helpful especially Deborah - great sense of humour! Lucca is a lovely town unusually flat so great for anyone struggling with mobility - great place!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Elizabethfrom England

Really Good Hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: It had a lot of character and within the walls of the town.
Cons: We loved the old charm of the hotel and to make it pristine and perfect would spoil this .
Location: Ristorante Giglio is amazing and close to many caf├ęs,bars and shops.
This is a lovely old hotel in a very good location. Our room was clean and spacious. It overlooked the Piazza Napoleon which can be quite noisy as it is busy but it didn't really bother us. The breakfast was very good and plentiful but the tables were very cramped and access to the buffet bar was difficult.We were very satisfied with our stay. The bed was huge and very comfortable. Our towels were changed every day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value for money

Posted May 24, 2014
Faded and worn around the edges, but so am I. Fabulous view, brilliant staff, great value for the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carofrom California

Best Location and Classic Decoration Hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: Historic building, classic decoration, pictures of the city over the years.
Cons: Tub shower curtains to keep water off floor.
Location: Hotel is 10 minute walk from train station and 10 minute walk to all major sights.
We selected the hotel for its walking distance from train station, near main attractions and good reviews. We spent three wonderful nights, surrounded by classic decoration, ample rooms, good service and breakfast. Hotel is in front of two plazas, short walking access to the rest of the city and several top rated restaurants nearby. Staff was very helpful in describing differences among the dinner choices and in making reservations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tonyfrom UK

good location

Posted Nov 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room clean and tidy, service good beds made every day and towels changed. Staff friendly and very helpful. Breakfast usual continental nothing special.Only thing that may be a problem if the hotel was busy is the dining room is a bit small. All in all a very pleasant stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barbarafrom Trumbull, CT

Location is perfect, right in heart of Florence

Posted Nov 3, 2013
Pros: Loved opening the large window and looking down into the business of Florence. Room was pretty and clean, staff was very nice & accommodating.
Cons: There isn't coverage at the front desk 24/7. Their sister hotel is close by for any assistance that you would need.
Location: It is just steps to Piazza del signoria (we could see it from our window) and to the Ponte Vecchio. Literally everything to do and see is close by