Ratings based on 265 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lansing, MI

Nice place very close to the golf course, casino

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: breakfast availability and wifi worked well
Location: golf and casino and fishing close
The thing that I liked was the wifi worked well. have been to some that had wifi but could not connect. The breakfast is also very nice feature.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Northern Michigan visit

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: I said it all above.
Cons: You need plastic shower liners! Fabric shower curtains get wet, soiled, and smell a bit moldy despite housekeeping's best efforts. Add bananas.
Location: Nice places to walk---boardwalk along the channel, beaches and pier, free music in the park on Tuesday night.
Our first visit was from Monday thru Friday (August 2014) and we were pleasantly surprised. The king room was very nice, comfy bed and pillows, larger TV than the one in the individual queen room (and a frig & microwave), the renovation made the rooms more aesthetically pleasing (and dare I say, "luxurious") than we expected for a Super 8, lots of handy outlets to plug-in devices, good breakfast choices---especially make-your-own waffles, flavored coffee creamers, and yogurts, friendly, helpful front desk person (Diana). We came back on Sunday night and ended up paying the same rate for a single queen and it was very disappointing and didn't seem as comfy or clean as the king room. It may be difficult to maintain the quality of this motel as it attracts quite a diverse clientele including fishermen who dried overalls (or something that clanged loudly) in the dryer outside our room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gets the job done

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Nice room with a helpfull staff and a free breakfast. Cant complain about that
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Long-term smoking room

Posted Sep 1, 2014
This room was billed as smoke-free, but smelled as if it has been smoked in heavily on a long-term basis.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London Ontario Canada

Front desk clerk not too friendly

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Very well looked after
Cons: Nothing, maybe a nice patio to sit on when enjoying the nice weather outside
Location: Downtown Manistee water walkway and historic downtown Manistee as well as the Bungalow restaurant, although you have to drive to both these places.
The hotel is nice place, the front desk clerk when we asked to have rooms together was not too happy about having to adjust our accommodations saying "since we booked thru expedia" the rooms are already assigned, but with some nudging on our part she accommodated our request.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manitowoc, WI

Nice handicap room with roll in shower.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Good location and needed a handicap accessible room with roll in shower. Had no problem booking it for one night.
Staff was gracious and courteous. Wished the room would have had 2 queen beds or a king, instead of only one queen bed. The breakfast was good, too. Nice way to start out your day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vandergrift,PA

Nice place to stay for a night

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Price, nice clean room.
Cons: Better breakfast choices
Location: Close to downtown Manistee but nothing in walking distance.
The hotel was recently remodeled and the room was very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful with local things to see and do. There was no pool or view to speak of but it was close to downtown Manistee which had much to see and do including a nice riverwalk and a public beach. There was a sparse complimentary breakfast which was ok at best.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2014 by Cindy, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad you found your room to be clean and comfortable and the staff to be friendly as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tecumseh, ON, Canada

Our mini vacation in July.

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: How efficient the Hotel was run by the personnel. Made sure there always was coffee in the morning and they were there to help people.
Cons: Only one thing could be improved a small table by the window would have been nice, but it was not a big issue.
Location: The location was fine, it would have been nice, if there were some sidewalks to walk on, we had to walk on the grass. Not much to do right there.
We were pleasantly surprised how clean and comfortable our room was. We will go back any time. The only thing we missed was a small table in the room, but we brought a TV table and that worked just fine. We stay at Super 8, when we go to Florida in the winter, and so far we have been pleased with all of them. Chuck, I called you and requested a renovated room, and it was the best. Thank You! The breakfast was excellent. We will definitely come back to Super 8 in Manistee.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2014 by Cindy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found our Super Start breakfast a great way to begin your day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2014
The hotel was ok but there was no elevator & there's 3 floors
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2014 by Cindy, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our property. We do not have an elevator, but there are only 2 floors as opposed to three. It is always an option to request a first floor room also.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2014
The lady at the desk did not know where our room was! That was disappointing to me!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2014 by Cindy, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Manistee. We apologize for any difficulty upon check-in. We were in the process of training a new front desk agent which would explain the situation.