Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fort Worth

Clean & Nice

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Pros: Breakfast typical pre-made but good. Manager's reception was okay but limited selection and only tea and lemonade to drink. Staff good.
Cons: Higher price compared to other HI Express with no additional benefits. .
Location: Decent location on way out of town. Easily accessible by car to everything. Very historical town with a lot to see.
Typical of HI Express I have stayed in. Common areas being cleaned all day long and room in excellent condition. Not the hotel fault, but cell phones went dead inside the building. Had to go outside to make calls. Oilfield workers stay here and they bring in a lot of dirt. Hotel provided them boot covers to use at the entrance. We were there over Christmas and very few people there. We had a pleasant stay for 3 nights. It was a little higher price than I would like but can usually depend on consistency of HIE.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Douglasfrom texas

Suspect billing practices

Posted Dec 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed in Gonzales over Thanksgiving. The hotel was clean and adequate. I had prepaid my stay on hotels.com but the day I was leaving I received a bill with a different amount for the 2 day stay. I asked the front desk person and she assured me I was not charged again. She said something about doing that to show people what the fee was if I had booked direct? Checking my statement yesterday revealed the charge to still be there. I called and was told that would be refunded within 24 hours. That has passed so I called again and now told it will take 48 hours but that credit has to be approved by someone? I just need my money back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2014
This motel looked brand new. The hotel room was very nice and everything worked great. I stayed two days and it was very relaxing and the breakfast was a bonus. Its was fairly quiet and it was very easy to find and close to the place that I visited. I would recommend to anyone traveling in the area. Thanks
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jessicafrom College Station

This hotel is full of Frac Workers and crickets

Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
When I drove up there were about half a dozen frac workers sitting out in the entry way smoking, with beers in hand, cussing and talking loudly. The parking lot was full of work trucks and empty beer cans. The room was decent and clean, apart from the crickets in the window sill. The A/C wouldn't stay on no matter how many adjustments and auto cycle buttons I hit. We alternated between too hot and too cold all night when the thing would shut off. It was a long night. The location was spot on for my needs, but I wouldn't stay here again. I would stay outside of the general area and drive in for the comfort of a quiet hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great Stay

Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff at this hotel were outstanding
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great place!

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
The beds were extremely comfy and I don't think I could've slept better!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was a great stay. Only complain was that housekeeping kept knocking on our door starting at 7am. There was no "Do not Disturb" hanger for us to use.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 6, 2014 on Hotels.com