Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beaconsfield, England

Comfortable period house with great rooms.

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: It felt like a well-appointed modern apartment.
Cons: Hot breakfast.
Location: Lunenburg is a delightful small town on the southern shore, with some good restaurants. There are historical tours and an entertaining ghost walk.
We were in the annexe across the street from the main Georgian house, but it was equally, if not better kitted out with modern facilities. We had a suite of bedroom, luxury bathroom and sitting room. Breakfast was good quality continental. The staff were helpful in every way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

comfortable, quaint historic inn

Posted Jul 20, 2014
excellent experience. friendly, welcoming. Great breakfast buffet with amazing home baked ginger scones. Fabulous location near the waterfront and in the heart of old Lunenburg.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg

Close to everything

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Location and comfort and historic charm.
Cons: We had no complaints but a couple from England that stayed in the older part said their a/c was very loud and their window wouldn't open.
Location: We really enjoyed the Fisheries museum, horsedrawn carriage ride and the harbour.
Loved this place! Very comfortable and unique. We were in the newer part. Fabulous breakfasts and very accommodating for celiacs and the need for gluten free food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

enjoyed the suite (CRANBERRY SUITES).

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Location: nice restaurant : shaker salt (good menu, no fried stuff,nice ambiance ,with terrace overlooking harbour).
It was a very pleasant stay.The room was in the pink building next door, all newly renovated. A suite with a living room,nicely designed bathroom and a separate bedroom, good mattress and nice crisp bed linen .. Breakfast in old building , nicely done with e.g. smoked salmon and cold cuts, yogurts etc....friendly people. I certainly would book again, asking for the cranberry suites.The hotel was also far enough from the smelly fish and chips restaurants along the harbour....
2 out of 5
by Benson from Raleigh, NC

Missing Details

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Breakfast.
Cons: Pay attention to details, and keep your promises.
Location: Excellent location in the middle of the hub of activity without being disturbed by outside noise.
We were rudely awakened at 5:15 by a blaring radio in the next room. After complaining,at the desk, we learned the room was unoccupied that night. Staff should check to see that clock radios are off, especially since I suspect there were complaints the previous night. We were offered compensation, but none was given at check-out. Breakfast was great. and that staff person helped compensate for the poor night's sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Doug from Vancouver

We'll established b&b in the heart of town

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: Location excellent. Great breakfast, we'll prepared and presented. Staff friendly.
Great time in Lunenburg. Bit quiet in May,, too bad Bluenose not completed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by S.G. from Bathurst,NB

Perfect location

Posted Oct 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
We loved staying at Mariner King. The location is perfect...right in the middle of the old city of Lunenburg. Service was incredible and the included breakfast was the best we had in an hotel with the delicious scones, smoke salmon, fruit salad and freshly grind coffee. For tea lovers, you can even choose your cup from a selection of old china. We had a suite which was on 2 floors with the living room downstairs and the bedroom upstairs.The only negative point was the comfort of the bed wich was sinking in the middle and too soft for my liking. Would definitely stay there again and recommended it to everyone!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brian from Sicamous BC

Wonderful heritage inn in beautiful Lunenburg, NS

Posted Sep 26, 2013
Pros: See above. We pretty much liked everything.
Cons: Keep doing what you are doing! It's great!
Location: This inn is perfectly located, a short distance from the waterfront and the Maritime Museum - lots of interesting shops and restaurants close by.
We decided to stay in Lunenburg overnight just before the end of our Nova Scotia holiday. A friend recommended the Mariner King Inn and we decided to book. We were very pleased with our accommodations. The staff were all very friendly, efficient and competent. The stair access is really all that's necessary, but that funky elevator is fun just to ride up and down once or twice. The room was small, but very well laid out and wonderfully appointed The beautiful shower alone was worth the price. We had a fireplace, discreet air conditioning unit (built into a picture hanging on the wall), leather chairs and a very comfy bed. Nice touches like a Keurig coffee machine, premium soap and shampoo, laundry facilities and a fitness room make this a great place to stay in a very special town. We didn't think it could get any better but then we had the included breakfast. Fresh fruit, yogurt and the best, bar none, baking powder biscuits and ginger scones on the planet. We felt we received very good value for our money. A couple of the reviews I read before our stay mentioned lack of parking. There is no inn parking, understandable when you consider the location. Parking is on the street but there are lots of spots available within close proximity of the inn. I have stayed in hotels where I have had to walk the equivalent of a city block or more from my car to the front desk. In any event, we were able to park right outside the front door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Couples get away

Posted Aug 26, 2013
Pros: Breakfast and room.
Very nice stay. Our room was clean and comfortable. I found the bed a little too plush but overall comfortable. The airconditioning was loud and we were able to shut it off. Breakfast was very good. Overall, a comfortable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from St. John's, Newfoundland

Posted Aug 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent hotel with pleasant service, good breakfast and convenient downtown location. Would stay there again!