Ratings based on 260 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh Pa

Nice hotel close to the caverns

Posted Jul 14, 2014
We enjoyed our stay. It was close to the attractions we wanted to go to. I am glad I chose to stay at this hotel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor customer service

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Price and distance to the soccer complex.
Cons: Customer service, most definitely. More attention to upkeep of the hotel.
Location: Close to soccer complex, Luray and Shenandoah Park.
We were in town for a soccer tournament and arrived at the inn (9:30 am) after the first game in hopes of being able to check in early. My daughter was exhausted after a long car ride and tough early morning game. There were 5 vehicles in the lot.The desk clerk told us that we would be able to check in at noon. Great! We then went out and got some breakfast and arrived back at noon. The clerk then told us that we would have to check in at three. I pointed out that she told us to come back at noon. She said that the rooms were still being cleaned and that the manager was adamant that no one could check in early. I said, "Surely you have rooms available - there are only 5 cars in the lot!" She apologized and reiterated that the manager was firm about not checking in early. I asked to speak to the manager and she said he wasn't there. I then asked, "What kind of manager isn't present at his property?" She changed her story to say that he was cleaning rooms in the back and was unavailable. I would have understood if we were initially told to come back at 3, but don't lie and then compound the lie by heaping more lies on top of it. Very disappointed in the customer service. Inn quality was as expected for the price point - spartan but adequate. Front door latch was broken, the bathroom door would not latch and the tub drain plug was defective (no soothing bath). Pool was ok, breakfast offerings of premade waffles,corn flakes,toast,yogurt,instant oatmeal,apples.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not recommend.

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Didn't change the sheets. Thin walls. Breakfast was ok. Furnishings were old and damaged.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from maryland

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: They was a pool so that was very nice.
Cons: This hotel needs to be updated and new linens would be nice.
Location: The location is nice.
Wanted a nice weekend getaway, unfortunately this hotel was NOT the best. There was a musty smell during our stay, the shower curtain was moldy, the toilet did not work properly, the air conditioner was very loud, the ceiling did not look stable and there was mildew build up. The breakfast consisted of different varities of oatmeal, cornflakes, toast, waffles, coffee, tea and juice.
1 out of 5
by Chris

Not Clean

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Near New Market Battlefield
Cons: Cleanliness, needs a remodel, better staff
This hotel was not clean, especially the carpet. The walls are paper thin, so I got to listen to a shrill-voiced child in the next room til 1:00AM. Breakfast was disapointing.
2 out of 5
by Ray from New Jersey

Hotel near New Market Battlefield

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: Close to New Market Battlefield, close to the town of New Market. Breakfast was pretty basic, but was edible and saved time in the morning.
Cons: Cleanliness. And while the morning clerk was great, the previous night's clerk was not helpful at all.
Location: New Market Battlefield (150th anniversary & reenactment) was the reason I was there.
I booked the hotel because it was close to New Market Battlefield (1 mile from entrance). I checked in and found a large, dead bug under the window (I think it was a bee, but who knows). Later, I walked in my socks into the washing/sink area outside the bathroom/tub area, and suddenly had wet feet. The carpet was very wet, and obviously, was so upon my arrival. I went to the front desk, and explained about the dead bug and the wet carpet, and asked for another room. The clerk said the motel was sold out. He offered me towels to soak up the dampness. I declined; do I work there? I put a bath towel down (which was tan and wet the next morning), and wore my shoes in the room. The next morning I encountered a different and more helpful person at the desk (about 8:15 AM). He immediately gave me another room. I find it odd the room was supposedly rented the night before, but was available & made up for occupancy at 8:15 AM. This room was dry, but 3 more dead bugs under the window. Doesn't anyone vacuum?
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet and adequate.

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Iron and ironing board in room plus hair dryer in room. Location
Everything was fine. Close to where I attended my 50th high school class reunion.
2 out of 5
by Dianne from Milton, Ont.

Barely OK... I guess.

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: proximity to highway.
Cons: New TV. Nicer bedspreads- fresher paint, new bathtub. Friendlier more welcoming staff. Better breakfast.
Location: only here overnight. Next to a museum.
Reception gentleman was distant, not friendly. Gent is dining room in morning very quiet & not very friendly. Small room, hard rock twin beds. Dark room. Bath tub old looking. Small hole on top of television. Not great overall. Breakfast super basic.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not stay again.

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Pros: The owners said no with a smile. It was a good location. It looked nice from the outside except the loose garbage in back.
Cons: see above!
Location: All of the above.
We had checked in with a small westie. I was going to pay the ten dollar pet fee but now I was told I had to go from a king to a double bed. Nowhere was that mentioned when I made the reservation. I said can I now get a cheaper rate because of the smaller bed? No, because I booked it through expedia. I said, can I get a break on the pet fee, no. The room was freezing cold. It took at least an hour to semi -warm up. The breakfast was a joke. Toast, hard boiled eggs, a frozen waffle and no decaf.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice location close to 81 interstate.

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Location / state of the room
Location: Shenedoah valley, skyline drive, beautiful caverns.
Good, excelent rating cost/features. Nice location close to 81 interstate.