Ratings based on 148 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom nj

Expected better than it was

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Arrived at 11:00pm. Hotel staff was great. Bought through Expedia. Our room was all the way in back of hotel. Went into room n light did not work. The tub had marks on it which could have been cleaned off. Didn't bother any staff about since only staying until 7:30 am n wanted to sleep. In am noticed crumbs on floor. Glad I kept my socks on. Very disappointed would not book here again
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not quality inn!

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Run down, should be torn down! Rates with some of the worst places I've stayed. Not worth $29 a night an definitely not worth the $114 I paid!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Washington D.C.

value for money not o.k.

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Hotel should undergo renovation. Personell friendly and supportive. Restaurant disappointing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Patrick

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Walpole, MA

Old fashioned

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Cons: Upgrade to digital TV's please.
D├ęcor a little dated, especially the analog CRT color televisions. WiFi was sketchy, but plenty of SSID's available so finding a working router wasn't too difficult. Combined restaurant served a decent reasonably priced breakfast.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Cindyfrom jackson

disappointed traveler

Posted Oct 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Expensive for what you get. No excuse for the dirty walls and dirty doors. Needs paint and updated bedding. VERY disappointed. Scared to stay at another Quality Inn.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Low budget hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Somewhat convenient to JMU and good price compared to ther hotels. While visiting JMU we are only at hotel to shower and sleep.
Cons: Clean the cigarette butt tray outside the side entrance more than annually. There was hundreds of butts laying in there. Get friendlier people to work
Location: Convenient to JMU.
Hotel had front desk clerk in a cranky mood when I checked in and out. Had to wait 5 minutes for clerk while checking in as a sign was placed on counter saying "Be right back". When she came back she barely greeted us (2 other travelers were also waiting) ans seemed annoyed. The bathrooms are relatively clean but old. The bed linens were clean but the bedspread was a bit skeevy. The carpeting in the rooms are pretty disgusting and have been there a while and smell musty. The side entrance doors to the hotel also never lock and anyone can just walk in. I know we were in rural VA but one still needs to be aware of personal safety.This was my 4th or 5th stay at this hotel and is only good for a shower and a place to sleep. The bottom line is this hotel is better than paying the ridiculous hotel rates close to JMU
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2014 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear Paul: Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Sincerely, Property CHI General Manager Quality Inn/Shenandoah Valley
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Peter

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ryanfrom Rhode Island

Bugs!

Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel staff were extremely courteous, and the attached restaurant, while not offering free breakfasts, serves really good food throughout the day at discounts to hotel guests. However, there were two bugs in my bedroom that appeared by the time I woke up in the morning. One was a smaller bug that apparently died on the bathroom floor. The second bug was a big cockroach, about the size of my thumb going from the tip to the knuckle, which I saw and stepped on when it crawled across my bedroom floor. I left the bugs' corpses on the floor when I checked out. I'm not sure if "only two bugs" is relatively good or bad for this area, but it's unusual compared to hotels in other regions. I was too grossed out to try the shower, which had dirt/mold ingrained on its floor, before checking out and leaving in the morning.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stevenfrom NY

Quality Inn should be renamed to Inn

Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Arrived at 2:15 , check in was after 2. Room not ready. When we came back to the hotel at 11PM to check in no one was at the front desk except a sign saying be back in a minute. 10 minutes later checked in. One of the electric outlets of the three available did not work. Toilet was broken and could not flush.