Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not quality inn!

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Run down, should be torn down! Rates with some of the worst places I've stayed. Not worth $29 a night an definitely not worth the $114 I paid!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Washington D.C.

value for money not o.k.

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Hotel should undergo renovation. Personell friendly and supportive. Restaurant disappointing.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Walpole, MA

Old fashioned

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Cons: Upgrade to digital TV's please.
D├ęcor a little dated, especially the analog CRT color televisions. WiFi was sketchy, but plenty of SSID's available so finding a working router wasn't too difficult. Combined restaurant served a decent reasonably priced breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Low budget hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Somewhat convenient to JMU and good price compared to ther hotels. While visiting JMU we are only at hotel to shower and sleep.
Cons: Clean the cigarette butt tray outside the side entrance more than annually. There was hundreds of butts laying in there. Get friendlier people to work
Location: Convenient to JMU.
Hotel had front desk clerk in a cranky mood when I checked in and out. Had to wait 5 minutes for clerk while checking in as a sign was placed on counter saying "Be right back". When she came back she barely greeted us (2 other travelers were also waiting) ans seemed annoyed. The bathrooms are relatively clean but old. The bed linens were clean but the bedspread was a bit skeevy. The carpeting in the rooms are pretty disgusting and have been there a while and smell musty. The side entrance doors to the hotel also never lock and anyone can just walk in. I know we were in rural VA but one still needs to be aware of personal safety.This was my 4th or 5th stay at this hotel and is only good for a shower and a place to sleep. The bottom line is this hotel is better than paying the ridiculous hotel rates close to JMU
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2014 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear Paul: Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Sincerely, Property CHI General Manager Quality Inn/Shenandoah Valley
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom F. syracuse, ny

So much better than reviews!

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Needed two rooms and this was the only place available on our way to the Homestead. We had a plreaant stay in clean room at a decent price. The staff is friendly and professional and breakfast at Johnny Appleseads was enjoyed by all. Yes the place is aged but we will stay again while traveling this route (and I am a gold elite member of marriot. The courtyard was full and $299 per night this busy weekend.)Thank you Quality Iinn for a great stay at a very reasonable price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Not What It Seem To Be!!!!

Posted Aug 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
I expected to have a free Continental breakfast like the rest of the quality inn. We was suppose to be in a non smoking area. but as soon as you leave the room you can smell the smoke in the hallway. The location was terrible. You have to drive 15 miles to find somewhere decedent to eat. When looking on hotels for a close hotels none of the ones we seen closer wasn't even listed.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by R Bfrom Columbia, MD

Disappointing Night Stay

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was disappointed by the Quality Inn New Market, VA. From the front it does not look like an older property. However, once you step inside you soon see it is dated. I have a number of concerns: Mini fridge would not cool TV remote would not work Even though rooms were all marked as no smoking walking down the halls an odor of old cigarettes was pervasive. The door to each room had marks on it from an unknown origin and did not look like they had been cleaned in many years. Televisions were old analog sets. The gym equipment was not functional.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Why?

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Why not paint, change carpets, update everything ? It is the oldest place I've stayed in - for a long time. Lobby is nice but that was it. Old carpet, chipped paint- etc
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel staff was very rude and acted like it was a bother to help anyone. The front desk person made us wait for 10 minutes late at night while she did something else.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to Interstate for easy on/off.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Nice swimming pool.
Cons: Workout facilities were unavailable and told under renovation.
Location: Shenandoah Caverns nearby This location is close to Skyline Drive and Virginia countryside.
Restaurant was in hotel (Johnny Appleseed's) was clean and offered discount to those who stayed there.