Ratings based on 221 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Georgiafrom Pensacola, FL

More of a "Lodge," but very functional

Posted Nov 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Visited for two nights, right at the end of the season. Calling it a "resort" is a bit grandiose -- Skyland "Lodge" would probably be a better name. The rooms have few of the amenities modern travelers expect (no fridge, no microwave, no phone, no wifi), but what else do you expect for a motel on the top of a mountain? If you're looking for a place to sleep while exploring beautiful scenery, this place is perfect. If you're looking for an actual "resort," you'd probably be better off staying in one of the valleys at a swankier place. SKyland's beds were comfortable, and there was plenty of hot water to wash off the hiking grime.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Cabin

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: The location, and the views from the cabin.
Nice cabin, with clean bathroom, reasonable heating. View was amazing. I think we had the best possible view in the middle of the group of cabins overlooking the valley. Small hike to the restaurant. Food was ok. Get there early if you want a window seat. Seating was impossible at the bar when the musician played, but we found a couple seats just outside the bar door. Overall, it was a nice place, comfortable, and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by susanfrom Falls Church

Skyland

Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed at the end of the season and the room was warm and clean with a great view.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jainn-Jimfrom Taiwan

.general fair

Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is in the nation park and you can experience the night and morning of the park. It is very beautiful and the hotel can serve the good view for every custom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Reading, UK

Wonderful stay...

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: Perfect location, great staff, great food, very comfortable room...
Cons: Very little...
Location: The clue is in the name...fabulous setting amongst a very beautiful part of the world, especially for hiking. Highly recommend the trip up Old Rag.
I stayed at Skyland for two nights while travelling on the Skyline Drive on a seven day drive from DC to Nashville. Stay was very pleasant indeed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Geraldfrom Delray Beach Fl

Skyland

Posted Oct 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our first drive on the famous 101mile "Skyline Drive". At mile 41, after looking out at gorgeous views of the Shenendoah Valley and ridges of the the Blue Ridge Mountains, we arrived at Skyland. Our room, an all cedar space looked out from 4000 feet. The short walk to the dinning room and bar was a lovely trail through the woods. The food and drink was delicious. There are many hikes or horseback trails. We will go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sallyfrom Fredericksburg, VA

Great scenery from the bedroom baywindows

Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room is clean. Bed is soft and comfy. Terrific view of the mountains with colorful foliage from the bedroom's bay window and balcony .I could have given 5/5 rating if room has refrigerator and microwave.Overall it is a good stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom virginua

Oct 10-12 visit

Posted Oct 13, 2014
It was foggy all three days but the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. We will be back next year.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by P.J. Meadfrom Richmond, VA

Probably won't go back

Posted Oct 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was our 6th trip to Skyland. Since the new management takeover we have found the quality and service to be on a constant decline, from the rooms to the restaurant. There have been no renovations to the rooms that we have stayed in...very old and shop-worn. Plumbing backed up in both rooms. Menu is very limited. I ordered the "special" of blackened catfish...it came out simply pan fried. The "Chef" declared that it WAS blackened. Service that night was poor to say the least.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Lindafrom Alexandria, VA

Great remodel!

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
I haven't stayed at Skyland for about 4-5 years, but some there was some very nice remodeling done in the rooms, with nice faux wood floors and a beautiful new bathroom. Also, they got big, flat screened TV's and direct TV, so you can get many channels. You are there to be outdoors and enjoy nature, but it was very nice the time we were indoors.