Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to shopping and transport.

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Nice staff well trained. Convent location close to other places and easy transportation.
3 out of 5
by Mike from Harare, Zimbabwe

OK but there are better hotels in Lusaka.

Posted Dec 29, 2013
Pros: The airport transfer
Cons: The hotel is unattractive and in need of more colour and light.
Location: Did not experience as we were not there long enough, however we know the area and it is ideally situated for Lusaka.
We arrived after 11pm due to flight delays and were told that they had no room service. The room was ok but very noisy being near a nightclub? With less than 5 hours sleep we went down to breakfast which was fine and our transfer to the airport was on time.In general the hotel was ok however the rooms and common areas are fairly drab and in need of a bit of colour and light The staff were helpful and friendly at all times.We have stayed at a hotel 300m away in the last 2 months and it was cheaper and far more well appointed, if we had to choose it would not be the Arcades Protea.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 15, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Allister from Canberra, Australia

Protea Arcades,, Lusaka

Posted Oct 2, 2013
While staying at the Protea I was admitted to hospital with malaria which I had contacted in Congo. I was travelling alone from Australia on business. The hotel staff provided an excellent service while I was in hospital bringing me my essential supplies from the hotel. They also picked me up from hospital on my release and checked on me in the room on the day I returned. The staff certainly went beyond their basic job description in order to provide a brilliant service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Elizabeth from Washington, DC

Close to everything you need

Posted Sep 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very good - full breakfasts are a bonus; hotel had surprisingly good food & wine; Arcades Mall has supermarket, banks, hair/nail salon, Sunday market, fast food, lots of restaurants, a few bars, taxis, and more. You can't beat the location, esp. if you are a business traveler and need amenities at hand.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Barry from Cambridge

No Atmosphere

Posted Sep 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
A clean and fairly comfortable hotel, but the bar and restaurant area was totally devoid of any atmosphere. Unsurprisingly, even though the hotel was almost fully booked, there were very few people using the hotel facilities. Much better to go into the next door Arcades.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Norm from USA

Posted Sep 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Protea Hotel Lusaka was a decent place to stay at in Lusaka. I felt it was overpriced, but the room was spacious, clean, and the hotel was located close to some pretty good restaurants and shops. Also, I thought the staff was friendly, attentive, and helpful. One particular employee, Amos, was excellent- he gave me a large cardboard box in which I could place some masks (souvenirs/gifts), and then he helped me tape it up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kama from Australia

Friendly Staffs and Clean room

Posted Sep 5, 2013
Pros: Friendly atmosphere.
Cons: Need tighter security measures. Apparently, ladies claimed to work nearby who are not staying in the hotel allowed to the pool side seeking for fun.
Location: Close and walking distance to shops and restaurants.
The hotel staffs were very friendly and attentive. Clean room large. Worth the money spent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Krish

Good location - right next to the Arcades shopping

Posted Aug 20, 2013
Overall a good experience. Helpful staff. Housekeeping could be better -
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jennifer from USA

Very good stay

Posted Aug 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were happy with our one night at the hotel. I was concerned about the noise, based on previous reviews, but it was v quiet on a Sunday evening (apparently Wed and Fri are the noisy nights). V convenient being near the Arcades mall!