Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near to Leicester

Posted Jun 28, 2014
The Chequers has lovely comfortable rooms and was perfect for an overnight stay. The room had just been refurbished and they had a wedding party so not everything in the room was as we wanted but the staff were very helpful and friendly and we enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nath from Barnsley

Great, friendly and recently modernised

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Modern and new room, friendly locals and staff
Cons: Only the lack of privacy in the bathroom.
Location: Lutterworth was only a few miles away for PJ's cafe for breakfast or lunch which was really good. Easy to get to Leicester and motorways.
Very easy to find. We were greeted very nicely and shown to our room. Nice size very new and modern. The bed was very comfortable. My only complaint would be the lack of frosted glass or a blind in the bathroom, I'm sure this is on the jobs to do list but we couldn't really take a shower with the car park and onlooking houses hence my comfort rating only being OK. The locals were very friendly and the staff very helpful trying to find us a taxi into Leicester at a very busy time. It wasn't that far about 15-20 mins by car (12 miles). Nothing else to say as we didn't eat here as we missed breakfast, but overall a very pleasant stay in a very quaint pub with a modern twist.
3 out of 5
by dean from oh

Not ready for prime time

Posted May 26, 2014
Quant pub, but the room I had was not ready for occupancy. Walls were unfinished. There was a single bare bulb hanging from a wire, and there were no curtains.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by MW from Chester

Communication breakdown

Posted Apr 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had tried several times to call the hotel before we stayed and failed to get through. When we arrived, they clearly were not expecting us (or any other guests) and are in the middle of a major refurbishment which meant that, although some of the rooms were (nearly) finished, the corridors approaching them resemble a building site and there was no heating. Ownership changed early 2014 and the communication lines between the new owners and hotels.com is clearly not working. However, they were very apologetic and found us a very comfortable and well-equipped room and went out of their way to locate a hair drier. The evening meal and breakfast were both very good indeed, as are the staff and I'm sure when the work is finished it will be an excellent choice (rating reflects what will be!). But be warned that the hotels.com-listed telephone number is not correct and the website is that of the previous owners and so defunct.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

no response

Posted Apr 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Booked this hotel for late evening arrival. Phoned continuously from 7pm but no answer. Arrived 11pm and all closed up for the night. They don't need the business then!! but
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Micmacmoony from Warrington

Shocking

Posted Apr 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
I think the hotel must have changed hands as my experience was nothing like the previous reviews! The hotel is undergoing renovation and in my opinion shouldn't be renting rooms - 15 minutes after I'd checked in I was was moved to another room which had the light fitting hanging off the ceiling, the TV power socket cover missing so the live cables were exposed and the radiator didn't work and the wifi could only be accessed from the bar area . There was nowhere to hang my suit and all the corridors were bare dusty floorboards as the carpet had been pulled up. I went down for breakfast in the morning to be met by a mystified member of staff who told me she wasn't expecting anyone for breakfast....I went back to my room and used the ONLY tea bag to make a cuppa and left......no a happy camper!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by The Wanderer

Quiet and relaxing

Posted Jun 15, 2013
Pros: location, free car park, free wifi, breakfast included
Cons: wifi was not stable
Only stayed overnight but enjoyed the atmosphere and the calm. Food was good and very nice to have home cooked breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Close to Lutterworth

Posted Aug 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
Room was not cleaned one morning with no fresh towels. Breakfast was totally forgotten about on one morning. My breakfast was booked for 7:30, only for the chef to appear at 8:15 very apologetic and offer me a glass of orange juice and a bacon sandwich to take with me to my business appointment. On a positive note the room was neat and tidy and the bathroom had been recently refitted. I did not sample any evening meals, but they appeared busy with satisfied local customers. In my opinion the new owners are concentrating more on the pub and food side than the rooms.The saying you get what you pay for comes to mind!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A nice hotel for a night or two

Posted Aug 28, 2012
Pros: It was very peaceful and quiet. I couldn't hear any noise outside. The room was nice and clean too.
Cons: Being booked into a twin room instead of a double. If I was staying for more than a night I would've asked to be moved.
Location: Very quiet little village.
I had booked a double room for my partner and me. When I arrived they had booked us into a twin room, despite my Expedia confirmation clearly stating we had a double room. It was a busy weekend though, as the wedding party I was with had pretty much booked out the place. The hotel was good value for money and had breakfast included in the price, which was a full Englsh breakfast or anything else we preferred. I would recommend this hotel for a night or two, perhaps if you're en route somewhere or attending an event in the area like I was.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Tony

Quaint with nooks and crannies

Posted Aug 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
Friendly service and ideal location for sports event I attended south on Fri then north on Sat. Nice breakfast but not normal b&b with cereals fruit OJ left out them bfast order taken. Most came to bfast at same time and simply asked if full bfast wanted, with tea, toast etc. very nice. Room well equipped but age of blg meant tight double with unusual corners as olde style house. Nice location and bar handy for a drink later in evening. Only difficulty I had, like prev reviews shower takes good few minutes to get warm so just ran and was patient. Unit was a mini quadrant bath where had to sit and head touched angled roof so to shower had to curl up and use shower as a hand held unit. Similar if standing at toilet. Nature of slopes, nooks and crannies so an adventure. Would recommend and stay again.