Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reading, UK

Do not recommend if you are travelling by car

Posted Sep 7, 2009
I travelled by car and the parking is too far from the hotel and you are charged per night to park in a shopping centre car park allocated car slot which, as it happened to me, was used by shoppers and could not part in my slot. You have to carry your cases from the car part one block away and if it is raining then you and your cases will get wet. Also the TV failed 1st night and confirmed by staff member that it was faulty, but it was not repaired during my stay. The staff on reception ware helpful. The hotel was near the train station and about 1 KM from the town Centre.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brussels

Not what I would consider a 4 star hotel.

Posted Jul 20, 2009
The reception staff was helpful and spoke English well, the room was not too cramped, and the location was decent (close to the train station and only about 10 minute walk to downtown). That is where the good ends. The room had a weird stone floor with a couple of very-stain floor rugs on the sides of the bed. There was no air conditioning, but I was pleasantly surprised to find a fan in the room. Unfortunately, the fan was about 20 years old and made random, and very loud, clunking noises. That made it difficult to fall asleep. The room also included breakfast. Included breakfast's are never that good, bit this was particularly bad. It was from 7-11am, and they stopped refilling things by 9:45. 10:45, even 10:30 I could understand, but this was ridiculous. That meant we had to fight with other guests for the scraps that were left. And, while the internet was free, it was like dial-up speeds. Overall, this was not horrible for the price,but I would pay a little more for a better experience next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted Apr 22, 2009
Good location and included breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Germany

City Hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2008
Overall the hotel was just okay. Not important to many, but no bathtub. We requested a late checkout, and it was about 10 am when normal checkout was 11 am and the maid walked right in my room as I was standing there totally naked waving at her! No knock, no nothing. Anyway, nothing bad to say about the place. At least the maid was cute! :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor

There are rocks on the floor

Posted Nov 18, 2008 on Hotels.com
This hotel is not in the touristy part of Lux but very centrally located near the train station. The hotel itself is clean and friendly. My one complaint is that my room had alternative flooring - instead of carpet, wood or vinal, there were small rocks glued to the floor. This surface made it uncomfortable to walk around the room barefoot and was not welcomed by my feet.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible...

Posted Sep 29, 2008 on Hotels.com
We knew we were getting a not so great hotel and that was ok for one night, however it was horrible. We checked in after the allowed check in time, only to find the maid still cleaning our room. So we decided to wait a few minutes since we didn't want to leave our stuff in the room with someone in there, and she proceeded to go ballistic on us. It was a horrible experience, and the front desk (who had given us the keys to go to our room) made us leave the hotel and told us to come back later. For all that happened, the hotel was so sub standard that I wouldn't suggest it, even as a cheap alternative.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Good Hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2008
This was a nice hotel that I would stay at again. The room was clean and comfortable and just across the street from the train station. It takes about 10 minutes to get the center of the town and you get to see some nice sights as you're crossing a bridge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Seattle, USA

Good Basic Hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2008
This is a good basic hotel very near the train station. It does not offer much frills, but it is a good value for the money. It takes 10 to 15 minutes to walk to the older part of the city with the main shopping area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from belgium

not what we expected

Posted May 29, 2008
We had booked two rooms for one night. When we arrived, room 1 wasn't ready and the room 2 had a window showcasing the contruction workers doing their job. (The hotel was, clearly, under construction, so even on a saturday morning there were builders outside our window at 8am!) We waited for room 1 to be cleaned while requesting to swtich room 2. Staff wasn't pleased, but agreed to do it and the room was better; clean, comfortable & quiet. Room 2, on the other hand, smelled like smoked and was much smaller (same rate). Breakfast was very good. Location was a negative surprise, with no nice restaurants nor parks close by. If travelling with kids, bring a stoller to make the trip across the bridge more pleasant!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Met our needs

Posted Apr 1, 2008
City Hotel was in a good location which was convenient. Staff were friendly and helpful. The fixtures and fittings were clean and well maintained. On the downside; The breakfast room was the only place free of cigarette smoke smells. The beds weren't very comfortable, and even with a window open the room got quite stuffy.