Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eastbourne

Excellent location to old city and all tourist att

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Lovely old world style hotel. The staff were extremely helpful especially at reception who took time to explain the tourist attractions and gave us a map of the area and highlighted a walking tour.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Hotel straight out of the 70s

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Friendly front desk staff. Nice location.
Cons: Soundproofing, updating of the interior, modernising of the entire experience.
Location: Next to Cathedral de Notre Dame, opposite Casemates, lots of restaurants nearby.
This was a hotel experience straight out of the 70s. The decor is terribly in need of an update, considering that the generation it is catering to is close to becoming extinct and the newer 30-something-year-old tech-savvy generation is coming in by bounds. First of all, wifi costs 6 euro an hour, even in the lobby. For a 4-star hotel, wifi should be complimentary. Second, the radio in the room was literally dated from the 70s. Breakfast was included in the price of my stay, though consisted of croissants and other condiments to compliment bread. Fresh fruit was nowhere to be seen. However, the location was great - situated right near the Casemates and pick-up point for lots of tour buses. If you want to sleep though, then this is probably not the hotel for you. There is virtually no soundproofing, so you can hear all the loud music from the restaurants below and chiming from the bells of the cathedral next door, which not only chime on the hour, but every 15 minutes!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Went there 1 night during a business trip. It was okay, except that my room was just above a big street and it was quite noisy. Bus except this detail it was totally fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Newcastle upon Tyne

Old world charm in the centre of Luxembourg

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: City centre location, everything in walking distance
Cons: Free wifi and parking
Location: Perfect city centre location NO PARKING
We enjoyed our stay at the Gran Hotel Cravat, the rooms and hotel were very clean. The only negative we have to say is that we booked a double bed, which was very small and wasn't really comfortable then expected. The breakfast waiter was grumpy as it get's and ordering hot water and two boiled eggs caused some serious discomfort on the waiters face! On top of that we were charged for ordering 2 boiled eggs!!! Overall, clean, grumpy waiter, charged for breakfast standards. Noisy at nights due to be on main road and lively night atmosphere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Very convenient location

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: It was an old hotel and it retained a lot of charm from the original era. The views from the room were also excellent.
Cons: Add air conditioning.
Location: The hotel was right across the street from the casemates and looks across to the Pont Adolphe. Walking distance to restaurants and the squares.
The hotel is right in the middle of everything and you can access a lot of the area by walking from here. The casemates were very close by (across the street) and the hotel breakfast was very good. A very large selection and open until 10am. The view was also excellent from the room. The only disappointment was the lack of air conditioning. Opening the windows was nice for the fresh air but at night, the bugs fly in if the the windows are open. Overall, a good visit and worth staying here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Auskiwi from Australia

No air conditioning

Posted Jul 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely quaint atmospheric hotel. But the lack of air conditioning /fans/ventilation made it unbearable in the heat.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from la

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Location
Good location close to everything .Staff very unpleasant to deal whit
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Centrally located, old but clean. Very nice hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic hotel, prime location

Posted Jun 26, 2014
We greatly enjoyed the three nights we spent at the grand Hotel Cravat. Although an historic hotel, the rooms were clean, up to date and comfortable. We were within walking distance of everything we wanted to see in the city from its prime location. The staff was helpful and friendly and breakfast was extensive and delicious. I would recommend it to those who are traveling to Luxembourg city and I would book it for myself again.