Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not a comfortable stay!

Posted Aug 14, 2014
I got a room on the 3rd floor. The noise from the main street is so loud that I could barely open the widonw for my entire stay. The wall is also too thin. I can hear what my neighbour were talking and which channel they were watching.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Great budget hotel in Luxembourg

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Location: The location is great, right across the street from the train station and within walking distance or an easy bus ride from the city center. The hotel
This is a great hotel for anyone looking to visit Luxembourg on a budget. The rooms are quite small, but clean and comfortable. Also, there was a very good breakfast buffet included. The staff was very helpful and kind. They answered our questions about the city and also let us leave our bags at reception after check out so we could continue our visit before leaving in the evening. The location is great, right across the street from the train station and within walking distance or an easy bus ride from the city center. The hotel is situated on an extremely busy street, but with the soundproof widows, we had absolutely no trouble sleeping at night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, MB (Canada)

Two nights in Luxembourg City

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Loved the location. Made travelling to and from very easy. Breakfast was great.
Cons: I think given the space and location constraints, other than updating the interior finishes from time to time, there's not much else.
Location: The hotel is across the street from the main train station. Public transit is easily accessible. Not many restaurants and attractions nearby.
We returned to Luxembourg City to stay in Hotel Empire after a bike trip across Luxembourg. The hotel is conveniently located across the street from the train station. The room itself is a standard hotel room, nothing fancy. Everything was clean and tidy. Our room was on the third floor and looked out over the main street onto the train station. There is some street noise, but we have white noise generators, so the traffic noise was not an issue for us. With the windows closed we heard very little of the outside. We slept soundly. The breakfast was larger and had more variety than anticipated - standard european breakfast fare (breads, cold meats, cheeses, pastries, eggs, coffee, tea, juice, yogurts, cereals, fruit, etc.). Distance to areas of interest was ok for us - bit of a walk to the grund and the city centre (~ 20 min), bit of a walk to restaurants we were interested in. Easily accessible to public transit, if we had been interested in pursuing that as alternative transport. The elevator down/up to grund was ~ 15 min walk away. Our experience was similar to other reviewers - our stay felt like a high-end economy hotel or low-end elite hotel. If we were travelling back through Luxembourg City (especially for another biking trip), the convenience of the location, the breakfasts and the quality of the hotel room can't be beat for the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Close to Station ,clean and tidy

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Cons: reception
Noisy people next door playing guitars and singing at midnight,onto red reception noise stopped,occupants returned to Hotel at 4.30 am and were very noisy and shouting till they fell asleep.Complained to reception in morning but just got shrug of the shoulders reply,which is a pity ,otherwise Hotel was reasonable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jan from Melbourne, Australia

Convenient hotel close to station

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Convenience
Location: The Empire is located close to attractive walking tracks through the "Vallee de la Petrusse" and many beautiful buildings.
We stayed at this hotel because it was close to the bus/train station and we planned to explore the countryside. It was also within walking distance of the city centre and a number of places of interest. We enjoyed our stay although struck some problems with transport as it was the National Day weekend resulting in a number of changes from the normal timetable and routes which we were not made aware of until they affected us. For good dining we needed to head to the Centre of the city.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by The Whites from Stony Stratford, UK

Very convenient for the railway station.

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: Very close to the railway station and an excellent breakfast too.
Cons: Room could do with an update and aircon too.
Location: Close to railway station, restaurants, bars and shops and also old town.
We chose to stay at this hotel whilst on a rail journey from the UK to Switzerland and just used the hotel for a night stopover. We also had a quick look around the city as the hotel was not far from the old town. There were plenty of bars, restaurants and supermarket nearby. The hotel was directly in front of the railway station but on a very busy road which was quite noisy, and for most of the night too. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, our room was quite small and basic and stuffy, and also smelt of pizzas from the pizzeria below. There was a table fan provided though, but no room safe. Breakfast made up for the bedroom and was absolutely excellent, being served in a spacious and interesting breakfast room overlooking the main road and station. The choice was varied and very good and the croissants the best we had on the entire trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bri from Montreal

Perfect location in Luxembourg

Posted May 19, 2014
First of this is a perfect location in Luxembourg! Right across the street from the main train station. The room was a decent size for a double bed room ( the beds were very close together though with only 2in of wood separating them) The stairs from the ground floor to the first floor were under reparations so using the elevator was mandatory. Sadly the elevator was very slow. The first morning we waited over 10 minutes for it. The buffet breakfast was amazing with great variety and a very nice dinning area. The staff was very helpful with tips on what to see and how to get around. Unfortunately the main complaint I had was with the shower. I wasn't used to how small the shower was ( I'm not big I'm 6feet tall and weight 150 lbs and I had a hard time turning around) the shower tiles had spots on them and between them ( looked dirty) and the water seemed to be leaking out of the shower as after the shower the floor was always wet; at least a towel and extra towels were provided. Overall though had a great stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

DIRECTLY ACROSS THE STREET FROM THE TRAIN STATION

Posted Jan 22, 2014
Location: It is directly across the street from the train station. The main bus terminal is located outside the station. Perfect location for getting around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Dennis from USA

Good budget option across from railway station

Posted Oct 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Empire has a good location immediately across the street from the railway station. It is a reasonable walk or a short bus ride to the city center. The staff are nice, and the breakfast is good, especially for a budget-priced hotel. The room was old-fashioned, but not unsatisfactory. Luxembourg has "big city prices" when it comes to hotels, so I thought the Empire was excellent value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Sep 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very Good - Very easy to get to places of interest. Hotel was very good value. Staff were very helpful. We enjoyed our stay very much.