Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Sep 30, 2012
Ideally located for central Luxembourg. Easy reach of airport by bus (No 16) for only EUR1.50 and stops right outside hotel. Hotel advertises free airport transfer but think that is from the hotel to the airport and on request - as there were no hotel shuttles apparent at the airport. Great location for the railway station too (opposite) if you were wanting to travle onwards by train. Plenty of bars, shops, restaurants nearby. Limited in facilities but to use as a base during a visit I can't fault this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ed from Lincolnshire

Good for rail and bus travellers

Posted Aug 17, 2012
A little run down but room was large, with air con, essential for August. Handy for train station.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by CMR

great location

Posted Jul 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
somewhat higher rates so that lowers the rating but great location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Steven from Leeds, UK

Ideal for one night

Posted Jul 25, 2012
Good location - oppoite the station. A bit noisy in the morning. Also the wooddeen floor in my room creaked every step I took. Otherwise OK. Whilst it is supposed to be a 4 star hotel, I think it gace the impression of being a 3 .75 star hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by JD & TJ

Just what I envisioned a Luxembourg hotel should b

Posted Jul 23, 2012 on Hotels.com
Last-minute reservation, late check-in due to late arrival, but all was just what we needed after a long, tedious trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Seattle, WA

Good Luxembourg hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2012
Nice hotel very close to the train station. Downtown Luxembourg is pretty small, so it's very walkable and this hotel it certainly within walking distance of restaurants, etc. The staff was very helpful and they have a nice dining area on the first floor. For American's travelling overseas, the room wasn't anything special and I'd classify it as "ok". It was certainly clean and you get everything you need, but we certainly weren't wowed by any special amenities. However, to be fair, hotels in Europe can be pretty expensive and this certainly wasn't on the very pricy end of things, but we didn't walk away raving about the accommodations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by jcband from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Rail station hotel

Posted Jul 1, 2012
From the airport there are several buses to the central station, costing 1.50 euros per person. It is a impressive bulding, viewed from the station. Inside only a normal hotel, Good breakfast, including fruits and cake. Our room was quiet, but didn´t get much natural light. I don´t know why many hotels have only spot lights, lacking a central lamp. It was the case of that one. The bathroom was divided in a WC and a shower, each one with an independent door, what is a good idea. After checked out, we walked to the station, just in front, to continue our trip.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nick

Got a Twin room instead of a Double

Posted Jun 25, 2012
We were only staying for one night so there isn't much to review. The main gripe is that we asked for a double and got a twin.
3 out of 5
by Mary from London

Mercure Grand Hotel Luxembourg -

Posted Jun 7, 2012
Pros: location
Cons: stained carpets and high prices
Location: very good - near train station but quiet.
The hotel location is good - across the road from the station and a 10 minute walk into town. Rooms and bathrooms were large and beds comfortable. Reception staff were helpful. However, carpets were stained throughout. Minibar prices for soft drinks were very high - unacceptably so in a city where the shops are closed on Sundays. We didn't eat in the hotel - again this was largely due to price - £18 for breakfast seems more than a tad unreasonable. Overall impression: could do better.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 29, 2012 on Hotels.com