Ratings based on 220 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ireland

Don't bring a car

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Great front desk staff. No kettle in room as specified on website, so no morning tea in bed. Parking was offered, but the ominous price was never disclosed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom N.Ireland

Good value stay, convenient location.

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: Location, friendly & helpful staff, clean comfortable room & free airport shuttle.
Cons: A little money needs to be spent on re-flooring the rooms and corridors.
I was completely satisfied with my stay at this hotel. I requested a room at the rear as other reviewers had complines about noise from the street at the front where the railway and bus stations are. Room was quiet, perhaps a little overheated, with a comfortable bed and good bathroom facilities. Other reviewers had also mentioned the state of the carpeting and they're right- it does let the room down, although my opinion would not be that the carpet was dirty so much as that it hasn't stood up to being cleaned as well as might be hoped- it appears to have been bleached by the process. Looks like someone made a bad or poorly-informed choice when the rooms were being decorated, and hopefully the management will bite the bullet and refurbish soon. Otherwise, staff were very helpful, I didn't try the food as breakfast looked a little pricey- you can get coffee and a freshly-baked pastry at the Brioche Doree or Fischer just a few steps away for a couple of euros- but the location is the most important thing about this hotel. Great for using Luxembourgs fantastic public transport system to see the city or country (4 euros to travel anywhere by bus and rail!) and in the centre of the city's nightlife. It is, as others have noted, right by the red light district, but I have to observe that this doesn't seem to amount to more than a handful of clubs and cabarets, and I walked around the block in the evening without feeling threatened or being hassled in any way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Varese

Consigliato

Posted Apr 7, 2015
A 10 minuti dal centro, di fronte alla stazione, buono rappprto qualità prezzo, camera spaziosa e pulita, personale cortese
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Grossstadt in Deutschland

schönes hotel mit altmodischem flair

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: zimmerservice
Cons: die speisenauswahl beim zimmerservie könnte etwas grösser sein. wieso gibt es das wiener schnitzel nicht aufs zimmer ?
Location: direkt am bahnhof, um die ecke das kleine rotlichtviertel. im dopplezimmer macht es preislich keinen unterschied, ob 1 oder 2 gäste es bewohnen.
Ich kam beruflich bedingt recht spät abends im Mercure in LUX an, tarifbedingt war das zimmer allerdings unbegrenzt verfügbar. dies war nicht meine erste übernachtung um "Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg", ich wusste daher, dass man, wenn man zum bahnhofsplatz nach vorne ein zimmer hat, so hoch wie möglich gehen soll. stock 6 und 7 waren tabu, dort sind die fenster abgeschlossen, der gast könnte ja aus dem fenster fallen, oder womöglich, gott bewahre, gar selbst springen. also wieder umgezogen, runter in den 5 stock. dort ging das fenster auf klappe, die klimaanlage läuft soweit recht gut, aber nachts ist sie sehr laut, ich hab sie abgeschaltet und das fenster auf klappe gestellt, ich brauche frische luft. nachts war ein krawall auf der strasse, das ich diese nacht kein auge zu bekam. also wer zlärmempfindlich ist, nimmt besser gleich ein zimmer nach hinten hinaus. ansonsten liebe ich das hotel, es ist noch noch eins dieser hohen, grossen alten hotels, man vermisst den gepäckträger in der grünen schürze. wie furchtbar war es, als das alte metropol in münchen geschlossen wurde, eines der letzten häuser dieser art. aber hier ist noch eins davon. ja, es ist hier und da ein wenig heruntergekommen, der teppich alt und an manchen stellen abgetreten, aber ohne löcher zu haben, hier und da ein kleiner fehler, ein kleiner schaden im holz des schrankes oder des bettes, aber nichts wirklich schlimmes habe ich gesehen, und diese "schlampigkeiten“ machen den charme
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Köln

Zentrales Hotel direkt am Hauptbahnhof Luxemburg

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: zentral, freundliches Personal, sauber, Preis pro Nacht absolut in Ordnung
Cons: Parkplätze, Hotelrestaurantpreise sind wucher
Location: zentral am Hauptbahnhof (man gelangt überall hin)
Wir waren über das Wochenende in diesem Hotel. Es liegt sehr zentral, was den Vorteil hat, dass man schnell überall hinkommt. Auch wenn sich vor dem Hotel bzw. in Hotelnähe teilweise komische "Gestalten" aufgehalten haben, war es im Hotel ruhig und angenehm. Das Personal war freundlich und sehr bemüht. Die Stadt an sich war auch sehr schön und sehenswert. Den Zimmern war zwar anzusehen, dass sie schon oft bewohnt wurden, waren aber trotzdem sauber und angenehm bewohnbar.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

酒店对客人关怀不足

Posted Jan 18, 2015 on Hotels.com
由于行程安排问题未能入住,酒店没有任何询问。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dagfrom Skælskør

Super fin service

Posted Jan 7, 2015 on Hotels.com
Fejret Nytår i Luxembourg. Spiste i hotellets udmærkede restaurant, vi blev betjent af en håbløs amatør tjener. Det er til gengæld det eneste negative fra opholdet. I øvrig super professionel betjening. Gratis transport til lufthavnen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jon Nybakkefrom Rykkinn

God pris, god belligenhet

Posted Jan 7, 2015 on Hotels.com
Veldig nærme sentralbanestasjonen. Veldig god service i restaurant og bar. Ikke så bra i resepsjonen. Ellers korte avstander til det meste.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by richardfrom UK

Overnight in Luxembourg

Posted Jan 7, 2015 on Hotels.com
Just an overnight stay to see Luxembourg city. Very average hotel. Our room was on the front of the hotel. Very noisy in the morning as it was next to the bus and train station.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne

You get what you pay for

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Hotel was right in front of the main train station so getting there was easy to find - and it's about a 15 min walk to Luxembourg city centre. Facilities were fine - although our bathroom had a few blatantly cracked tiles on the walls and the heating didn't really work. Staff were super friendly though. Unfortunately, wifi was a bit of a hit and miss - worked only /outside/ of your rooms.