Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom LOS ANGELES

wonderful self unwinding spot

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: scenery, landscape, hospitality
Cons: rooms might need renovation
Location: all the treasures of Egypt are around !!! wooow
very quite clean romatic place where you can regenerate your sole and enjoy every minute
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Highly recommended, you won't be disappointed.

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: Very clean and well maintained, quiet location, beautiful gardens & view by the Nile, relaxed and friendly atmosphere.
Cons: Service a bit slow and a wider a la carte menu choice for lunch and dinner would be better as it got a bit boring after a couple of days.
Location: Quiet location in upper Karnak but very convenient and no problem getting downtown any time - taxi only 10 - 15 mins and cheap enough.
I have stayed in most of the large hotels in Luxor (been coming for years), including Winter Palace, Jolie Ville and the wonderful Hilton...but the Mercure in Karnak is my favourite. It is located at the top end of Karnak, a quiet area away from the noise and hassle but only a 10 - 15 min taxi from the centre of town so there is no inconvenience whatsoever in the location, just peace and tranquillity. The room I had was lovely with a little sofa niche through an arch and nicely styled with a modern Arabian touch. Balcony was small but to be honest I spent most of my hotel time by the pool or sitting in the extensive gardens so it wasn't an issue for me. Ground floor rooms have a small patio opening straight onto the gardens so that would be nice next time. Hotel is set in lush tropical and well manicured gardens with many flowering shrubs and ample palm trees swaying in the breeze. There is a fantastic sunset terrace overlooking the Nile and Theban mountains - the hotel borders the Nile directly and the view is truly amazing. Staff were friendly and overall atmosphere is very relaxed and friendly, which is why I prefer it to the Hilton and Winter Palace. Service was a bit slow at times, but there have been staff cut backs due to the drop in tourism the past few years, but it is picking up nicely again now so hopefully jobs will return for the locals. Hotel is well kept and maintained, the pool is lovely with a nice outdoor restaurant beside it. Wonderful place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Woking, Surery

Impressive views of gardens or Nile

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: The extensive gardens and views of the Nile. Also all the rooms are set out in bungalow style rather than high-rise.
Cons: Breakfasts - staff were too casual and not always even present!
Location: It's a little bit out of town, but well served by taxis. Superb location for Valley of the Kings, Nile excursions, temples of Karnak and Luxor etc
Friendly, gated hotel which gave children safety to play in the gardens and the pool. Great extra facilities such as table tennis free of charge. Very helpful and accommodating pool staff (but also alert - I witnessed one saving the potential drowning of a toddler)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom kent uk

Karnak Mercury resort review

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Staff good, pool good
Cons: There is a gym which could be great but most of the computers on the equipment is not working. Buffet Breakfast was ok but was always the same.
Location: 6km from Luxor and close to Karnak temple. Hotel on Nile which is lovely and grounds are kept very well. Beautiful!
Spent 2 weeks there. Room service excellent, staff friendly and will go out of there way to help. Hotel about 6km from Luxor but walkable in an hour. Taxi normally 30 Egypt pounds each way. 60 Egypt pounds to airport. Internet a bit hit and mis and only in reception area. Pool, sauna, jacuzzi excellent. Was not that busy when I was there so outside bar area was closed and there was no entertainment. Evening meals themed. Not bad but preferred to go out and eat in local places to experience the place. Beware when shopping and eating out there are tourist priced menus and Egyptian priced menus which are at least a qtr of the price! Overall an excellent place to stay. I would recommend it. It's not 5 star but it's a good 4 star
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne, Australia

Relax and enjoy

Posted Feb 23, 2015
The staff at the resort were always helpful and very friendly. Food was very good and varied except for breakfast which was plentiful but the same every day. The pool was well maintained and pool staff were always on hand to provide towels and to supervise young swimmers. The gardens were a pleasure to sit in and provided the opportunity to view a range of interesting birds. The room was generous in size with a very comfortable bed. The cleaning of the room was not so good with dirty bath tub, grubby corners and used items (toilet paper, bath gel) not replaced and used cups not replaced with fresh ones daily. Though they did spend a lot of time making towel animals on the bed each day. However, overall we had a very pleasant two weeks at the resort and would certainly rebook if travelling again in Luxor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Heemstede

De grote tuin gelegen aan de Nijl was heerlijk.

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: Dat het een oude inrichting had in plaats van een moderne uitstraling. Je waande je echt hierdoor in Egypte. Mooie uitstraling en goed onderhouden.
Cons: Zou het zo niet weten.
Location: Goed locatie, dicht bij de tempels en vliegveld. Doordat de stad nabij was, is deze makkelijk te bereiken. Voor mij de tempels belangrijk.
De benedenkamers waren heerlijk met het zitje op eigen terras. Je keek uit op het groen. Een mooi zwembad, ook het kinderbad. De kinderhoek was leuk ingericht voor ouders met kleine kinderen Overwal buiten goede verlichting. Goed restaurant en vriendelijk personeel. Maaltijden goed verzorgd. Dicht bij Karnak en Luxor Tempel en de stad zelf. Zeker aan te raden.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet location next to farmland -

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Quiet location next to the Nile , short ride to centre of town.
Only stayed for 2 nights, couldn't fault the resort. Lovely room, pool and gardens, very good breakfast. Excellent value for money, would definately stay there again. Very sad to see very few guests as Luxor deserves better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Resort just out of the hustle of bustle

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Location: Location is remote which is actually a great thing in Egypt. You can escape all of the constant nagging of the street hustlers.
The hotel is and enclosed oasis, gated and exclusive access right on the Nile River. Plenty of amenities abound. Large Pool with swim up bar, several restaurants-for breakfast, for the pool, fine dining, casual and bar. Rooftop Bar has a great view of the Nile and sunset.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cairo

Hospitality Bench mark

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Location, it is near from all Luxor attraction
This Resort is exceptional, really... you will enjoy the view of the Nile along your stay, feel the nature with the gardens on the Nile Bank
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A nice hotel in the off season

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Very quiet as it was the off season, but a nicely laid out hotel, with good pool area.