Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dale from Sacramento, CA

Old Palace Still Pleases

Posted Jan 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Winter Palace is a wonderful old building located right in the heart of Luxor, and in the heart of Egyptian history. The grounds are beautiful very well-kept, although the hotel is need of minor renovation in order to earn the 5-star rating I would really like to give it. We had a great experience there, and enjoyed staying in a hotel that was part of the original grand tour. The manual elevator doors and giant keys for the rooms added to the character. Our only complaints were that the building in general could use a fresh coat of paint, and other minor things like the carpet was loose around our balcony door and would get stuck on the door. These are minor problems, but for a Sofitel and the premium price that comes with it, you would expect a bit better. Luxor is virtually empty right now due to the ongoing revolution in Egypt, but we would highly encourage people to go, because you have the place to yourself, and you likely won't be disappointed with the Winter Palace.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by carl from sydney

Old world charm

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: The breakfast more variety
Location: Luxor temple is five minutes walk
Very good position next to luxor temple the pool at the back is very relaxing place to spend some time with nice gardens
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old world magic

Posted May 21, 2013
Gardens and pool beautiful.would recommend garden view room as tranquil and quiet.NIle view lovely but noisy.Hotel has the atmosphere of bygone days decked with exquisite old furniture.Felt protected and safe within hotel grounds.Staff attentive but not overbearing.Ate in hotel for all meals and ate from the local cuisine menu ,drank local wine and were pleasantly surprised at how cheap the bill was.A meal including alcohol was roughly $75 for two.ROoms air conditioned,linen clean and rooms cleaned daily.Recommend don't stay anywhere else in Luxor.Magic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sarah from England,Uk

Famous old hotel, luxuriously referbished.

Posted Sep 12, 2012
Pros: It's beautiful historic public rooms
Cons: Leaving the hotel and being constantly hassled by locals
Location: 12 acres of gardens one side and the Nile on the other. Difficult to beat.
Sofitel have restored The Winter Palace in Luxor to a high standard without spoiling its authentic fixtures and fittings. My daughter and I were offered an upgrade without extra cost. The room had wonderfully high ceilings, two large windows and a balcony over looking the garden. The bathroom was large and modern. The public rooms were on a grand scale and had not been divided so that the guest could fully appreciate what it must have been like to be a traveller lucky enough to stay at such a grand and famous hotel as this. The staff were helpful and pleasant. The pool area was stunning. Several large pools joined together and surrounded by tall palm trees. There were plenty of beds and umbrellas with a sign saying guests could not reserve beds. However, this plainly went on! There were two restaurants, one inside, serving French food in a very formal setting, and one outside serving typical Egyptian food including your own little charcoal grill brought to your table. Both were good. There was a large terrace outside the front of the hotel, where we were able to enjoy a cocktail and watch the sun going down. The Nile is just across the road and from the terrace one could observe the colourful life of Luxor citizens going about their daily lives.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Elvis Lesley from UK and Luxor

Live like a King

Posted May 17, 2012
Pros: The atmosphere and service
Cons: We only spent one night there!
Location: The location is the best in Luxor. Our balcony overlooked the Nile and the hotel's garden is like an oasis
We spent one night at the Winter Palace to celebrate our wedding anniversary. From the moment we walked through the door we received the highest possible service. The hotel is wonderful, our suite was amazing - all in all an stay we will never forget.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Andy from Haslemere, Surrey, UK

Post colonial treasure - visit remembered forever

Posted Apr 30, 2012
Pros: Building, pool, garden, service, and especially the atmosphere.
Cons: "Favours" for baksheesh. Wine range & price.
Location: Unparalleled
Wonderful colonial treasure. My second visit (18 years apart) and another travel highlight. Egypt and especially Luxor a wonderful place to visit even now during the political transition. Can't believe it was so empty - highly recommended timing. Management and staff generally extremely helpful (room upgrade, wonderful gift on arrival, extras on room service, service at fantastic pool). Let down only slightly by 1) isolated incidents of favours for possible baksheesh (e.g. to replace large complimentary water that was in bathroom on arrival and which is normally LE50 = £5, offers to show round Royal Suite), 2) the service in the 1886 restaurant which was too familiar in our case (waiter putting a drop of wine in my glass as a joke, which was mildly amusing but out of place). The food in 1886 was fantastic (the fruit salad desert a particular work of art). The wine limited and very pricey (but then you don't travel to a Muslim country for the alcohol). The massive pluses great outweigh the niggly minuses. A visit you will remember forever.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York

Luxor, old style

Posted Jan 26, 2011
The Winter Palace is clearly THE place to stay in Luxor. Its locale and garden are beautiful and it is very conveniently located. The hotel has a certain old-fashioned charm and the rooms are quite spacious. The furnishings, however, are a bit shopworn and the food is not as good as it should be. But it is still a rich experience to stay in this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Fantastic Hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2009
I had a wonderful experience at the Winter Palace in Luxor in May 2009. After long days outside in 100+ degree heat trekking through 3000 year old monuments, there was nothing better than the comfort and relaxation of the Winter Palace. I probably would not have stayed here under normal rates, but I found an off peak steal on expedia for nearly 70% below the normal price. If you can find a deal like this do not pass it up. This old and elegant hotel is beautiful on the inside and out, and as you walk the halls you can almost feel Charlie Chaplin and other early 20th century stars relaxing and reliving the amazing things they witnessed in Luxor. The outdoor garden and pool area are fantastic and exactly what you need after a long day in the sun. The food in the hotel restaurants was quite good as well, much better than anything else we were able to find in Luxor.