Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Luxor

Amazing hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2014
One of few hotels that is exactly the same in person as shown in the pictures. Friendly staff and amaZing service. The breakfast was great too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Anders from UK

Not a very nice welcome to a nice hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
I have mixed feelings about my time at the Steigenberger - so will divide them in into positives and negatives. Starting with the negatives, I had booked a twin double room but accidentally on the hotels.com app only made it for i guest instead of 2 (my fault) - upon arrival reception wanted to charge me double what I had paid for the entire room, until I said forget it that we would book elsewhere for our stay. They quickly changed their tunes and their prices. With everyone in Luxor trying to get a place in your wallet it was unfortunate that this extended into the "5 star" hotel. We also found the decore a little tired and the free internet very slow and only free in a 5 square meter area of the hotel - not very convenient. The tours/transport provided by the hotel were also about 5 times more expensive than if you bother to cross the road to some of the local travel agents. Apart from that the hotel was good, the breakfast was great, the service from all the other staff exceptional and the pool area very nice, there is a wide selection of restaurants in the hotel, we only ate at the Lebanese place which was ok. There is a restaurant called the Lantern close by, English run, with an international menu including local dishes. Food and Service was AMAZING tastiest food I have had in a long time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by luis arrazcaeta from miami

Posted Mar 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
everything about this hotel deserve a+(inside),outside there is a lot harassment from the locals ex;taxis,vendors,etc... .other than that i have wonderful stay on luxor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cosmin from Cyprus

Excellent hotel

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: Excellent position on the bank of the Nile
Cons: Tea and coffee making facilities in the room, WiFi connection in the Salon Bar-Nubian Terrace very poor-needs improvement
We had a wonderful stay.Excellent breakfast, staff attentive and smiley.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Al from Kuwait

Great Stay for the Price! Watch the word "VIEW"

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Pros: Staff and their service.
Cons: Communication about what a "view room" really is. Cleanliness could use a boost.
Location: The Nile River is the main attraction. Many restaurants and bars around the immediate vicinity of the hotel. Also, the star historical attractions
I write this after just returning on a four night visit. Times are very tough for the tourism industry, they cannot afford to employ too many people when there is an 80% vacancy rate, so I am mindful of this in my rating. The sleep was good. I paid for a "view room", but that meant interior patio view of courtyard, not view outside or of river. The Staff was great all around the hotel in pools, bars and restaurants - however closures were a happenstance of current conditions. The room was clean, comfortable with a nice patio. View of the Nile at sunset was priceless.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Australia

late check-out

Posted Jun 1, 2013
Pros: very nicely appointed
Cons: staff
Location: excellent
Even though we did not arrive until after midnight, we were no allowed a late check-out. Hotel was practically empty, so was not impressed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mr Bob

Very comfortable stay.

Posted May 13, 2013
Pros: breakfast buffet. view of the Nile. cleanliness of the room.
Cons: Provide access to the roof for sunset viewing. No access while I was there. Upgrade the free internet access. Currently only slow speed available.
Location: Not far from Temples of Karnak and Luxor but best to go by taxi or with guide to avoid all the hassle from the people on the street.
The hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast buffet offered a wide choice of selections. The view of the Nile and the sunset was magnificent. The room was clean. The shower water pressure varied and the hot water pulsed but stayed warm enough. The flower gardens were wonderful and well maintained. Overall nice stay and would recommend this hotel to a friend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Reykjavik, Iceland

Good "Oisis" for everyone

Posted Apr 7, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Fume and engine noise from the Nilecruisers docked at next hotel.
Location: Very good
The Steigenberg is very well situated in Luxor and you have there all you need. Outside the hotel, on street and at the market (souk), hustling and haggle is terrible. The only bad thing connected to the hotel is the diesel fume and engine noise from the Nilecruisers docked at next hotel.
1 out of 5
by Sam from New York, NY, USA

This Hotel Does Not Care For its Guests

Posted Mar 31, 2013
We had an absolutely appalling experience at Steigenberger primarily due to the customer service from the management. After being told from reception a local call would be free to make, we were produced with a bill charging us for that call. The management called us liars and claimed that we would never have been informed a local call would be free and when asked for the managers name, he refused to give it, covered his name badge up and dissappeared from the reception area leaving no one to deal with us! It was not the cost of the call I was unhappy about , but the simple fact that the manager refused to admit that someone from his team misinformed us and instead of apologising, he insisted we were lying and point blank refused to deal with us further. Another manager was called in to deal with us who just ended up to be as useless as the one before. His basic english was well below parr and we could not understand him. This is highly unprofessional and not something we came to expect from a five star hotel. This hotel is not bad for the price and the staff who work there are friendly. However, the Management team just lets everyone else down. Would not recommend to my worst enemy im afraid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 19, 2013 on Hotels.com