Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel in Fantastic Location

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: Staff, Location, Building
Cons: They weren't bad by any means, but better beds and bathrooms would be my one suggestion.
Hotel staff were fantastic. Made us feel welcomed, arranged transportation to airport as well as an early morning packed breakfast that we could take with us and gave us a great rundown of local sights and restaurants. Hotel itself is a gorgeous building and the rooms were spacious.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter

Good for the price but could be better

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: The staff were very pleasant and the price was good in terms of western European prices.
Cons: A double bed should have a double duvet.
Location: The location is good ... near the old town.
The 'superior' room I stayed in at the George is kind of what you would expect at a 'standard' hotel. I would wonder what the quality of their 'standard', let alone their 'economy' rooms were like, though. My double bed was made up of two singles put together with two single duvets (which could be a problem if there are two sharing). Outside the room, it's a bit 'shabby Soviet' (though not 'shabby chic') and could do with a bit of a revamp. The price at about 45 pounds is cheap by western European standards, the staff are friendly and it's location is good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 19, 2014
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Me

Posted Dec 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by John from Los Angeles

Great Classic Hotel!

Posted Dec 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great Classic Hotel! Excellent service and a really old traditional feel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by business&more from ha

Hotel in Lviv Centre

Posted Nov 23, 2013
Very good overall
2 out of 5
by Dylan from Washington, DC

Huge rooms, but they're empty. Really, no bath?

Posted Nov 9, 2013
Pros: location
We moved to a different hotel the next night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by kayers13 from New Jersey

Right in old historic part of city

Posted May 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel was probably one of the most beautiful in Europe about 100 years ago. Emperor Franz Josef I of Austria (among others actualy stayed here). However years of invasions and being part of the Soviet Union continuously from 1944 to 1991 took its toll. The owners are working hard to renovate this hotel but it is still in need of a lot more work. The hotel has an excellent location, steps from the old part of the city. The staff are very friendly and speak some English. The breakfast buffet is quite a spread. The rooms are large, but the furniture is left over from the Soviet period and isn't very comfortable. I was also in one of the cheapest rooms that had a shared bathroom and shower--which was an adventure. If you're not into that then they do have rooms that include facilities and showers for slightly more. The hotel doesn't have air conditioning so I imagine it could be quite hot in the summer. I was there during a spring heat wave and had to open the windows. That worked well enough to cool the room, but then you can really hear the traffic since Lviv's streets are cobblestone and the cars make a lot of noise when driving. I'd recommend this hotel for the location and price. If you're looking for luxury then this isn't your place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Irvin from London, UK

A hotel with a sense of history

Posted Apr 28, 2013
I stayed a total of 3 nights in the George. Two nights were in beautifully furnished large bedrooms with spacious bathrooms ( bath, shower and toilet) and views onto the sqaure opposite the hotel. For one night I had a " tourist" bedroom which faced the back yard and had two single beds and a wash basin with use of a shared toilet and shower room a couple of doors down the corridor. There is a slightly faded feel to the carpets and paintwork in the hotel which did not put me off. It has a great lobby, grand staircase with pillars and chandeliers. There is WiFi throughout the hotel. The staff at reception were friendly, spoke very good English and responded very well to queries. A very adequate buffet breakfast is served in a large room. The hotel is well located being a 5 -10 minute walk from the Rynok Square.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by andy

Posted Mar 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
i think it wąs a nice hotel but next time with have en suite .Verz helpful staff and excellent breakfast will be back for sure maybe next year.