Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Chris from Charlotte, NC

No hot water

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Old shoe factory converted into a hotel, high ceilings, exposed woodwork and brick.
Cons: Be responsible for what goes wrong and offer to make it right.
Location: Shoemakers restaurant is right next door or head down Rivermont Ave to Isabella's for some wonderful Italian food.
Love the building and the location. But hard to give a high overall rating when there was no hot water in the morning. I appreciate the fact that things go wrong sometimes however there was no offer to discount the cost of our room or anything else to offset the inconvenience. At $177 tax included you have to do better than that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by KTM from Northern Virginia

Potential for Better

Posted Dec 1, 2013
Pros: stylish beautiful interiors, comfortable bed, nice selection of TV channels, complimentary internet
Cons: would not stay at ground level again to avoid vibrations from the "machinery" below, bathrooms are not well leveled, blinds need to be better fitted
Location: close to downtown. The Pizza place in attached to the hotel was excellent. Also - if you like good coffee - White Hart downtown is a must!!!
We stayed in the hotel on Thanksgiving night, after visiting friends for dinner. The hotel was rather empty on that night. It's beautiful inside and out…the rooms have extremely high ceilings made of wood. The walls are covered with what seems to be leather. The furnitures are stylish and the bed was exceptionally soft an comfortable. The bathroom was enormous, with a large mirror (definitely a bonus), and their beauty products were first class. Breakfast was OK - nice idea - delivered into the room in a "old shoe-shine box". I think I'd rather have an option of hot breakfast. But the place has potential for more! We stayed at the ground level (which I think is level 2 since our room number was 2xx). Right below us was some sort of boiler room/ mechanical room, with constant humming… I can sleep through anything, and my husband can't sleep in a total silence, so ultimately we didn't mind, but it was noticeable and… the floor was vibrating from it. The bathtub and the bathroom itself were not leveled properly. The shower would leak water outside of the tub, and the stream would flow away from the tub, not only throughout the whole bathroom, but also outside of it - requiring significant amount of towels to "tamponade" the flood. Finally, the hotel was lit up in holiday colors from outside - alternating green and red lights along the windows. The window blinds were not covering the widows entirely, so we had a green glare inside our room all night long.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No Go

Posted Nov 21, 2013
While in route to Craddock Terry we were notified of booking error and had to make other arrangements once we arrived in Lynchburg, Virginia. We did however enjoy dinner at The Shoemaker. Restaurant that sits parallel to hotel. I would highly recommend restaurant . Little pricey but food and atmosphere was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Christi from Virginia

Nice Stay

Posted Nov 19, 2013
Friendly staff. Clean and spacious rooms. Convenient pizzeria located in lower level of hotel with nice bar and food. Ample safe parking and close to downtown shopping. Late checkout (Noon). Really a nice treat!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David & Carolyn from Stratford upon Avon. UK

Chose this hotel as short way from Blue Ridge Park

Posted Oct 27, 2013
The Craddock Terry is a fascinating creation of a modern hotel from an old wharehouse factory. The conversion has been to a very high standard with interesting public rooms and roomy bedrooms and great bathrooms. Breakfast is delivered to your room in an old wooden shoe box linking back to the building's histoery. Only a continental breakfast is available and unfortunately the hotel does not provide a restaurant alternative.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sarah from England, UK

The comforts of home in a stylish, boutique hotel

Posted May 6, 2013
Pros: The personal service and the location
Although quite a large hotel, the Craddock Terry still retains an intimate, home from home atmosphere that made us feel glad to come back every evening. All of the staff without exception were friendly and welcoming, and the front desk staff were always particularly helpful in giving us directions to various attractions, restaurants, etc. The hotel was fully booked during our stay but we always found easy parking in the car park. It's in a great location down by the river: we love walking and could walk to restaurants, and along the river trail to the Point of Honour house. I can't imagine going to Lynchburg and staying anywhere else.
2 out of 5
by Brussels Alan from England and Belgium.

Ear plugs would not be enough

Posted May 13, 2012
Pros: The restaurant
Cons: The room should not be in use
Unique hotel of huge potential with an excellent restaurant. But our room appeared to have a generator or compressor running all night below it. The noise did not stop and when you took off your shoes you could feel the floor vibrating. Complementary breakfast was offered, delivered to your room, but ours lacked the promised croissants. Apparently we were not alone. The staff did nothing to rectify either of these faults. Our neighbour set an alarm early and I could tell you the story running on the early morning news, despite desperately trying to remain asleep. Sound proofing is rubbish. Stay elsewhere and use their restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lynn from Atlanta, GA, USA

Fun and Lovable Boutique Hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2012
Pros: Shoe Theme and great Location
Cons: none
Location: Located in downtown Historic District of Lynchburg within walking distances of shops and the riverfront walk area.
This boutique hotel is in an old shoe factory building. The family has renovated the building and continues with the shoe theme from the huge red slipper at the entrance, shoe making artifacts in the lobby, shoe mats, shoeshine breakfast boxes, to shoes displayed on the room door and key. What a fun place to stay. Both the casual and fine dining restaurants have great food and service. A must stay or visit if you are in the Lynchburg area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JR from Washington DC Area

Quircky Most Excelent

Posted Apr 3, 2012
Pros: Theme ... It is a SHOE IN.
Cons: Linchburg is on the slow assent from the economic events of the past five years. HELP your soul with a visit and boost the local economy.
Location: On the James River near historic Poplar Forest ... Thomas Jeffersons other home.
A GEM in the places to stay in Linchburg Virginia . Quircky YES with that giant red high heel shoe attached to the hotel on not one but two sides of the building. And every door has a shoe theme spot lighted for affect. And the effect is stunning. You have to see this hotel in a former shoe factory to believe it. And if you are a train buff the trains are rolling all day by the James River which is just down the hill. At night we did not notice any train traffic. DO plan a visit and DO enjoy a walk along the James River and across the bike and hile bridge that crosses the river. AND eat at the two restraunts. We dined at Shoe Makers and I have to say 10 stars for the meal and the service. Did I mention that to get breakfast dilivered you place your order inside a shoe shine box and leave the box outside your door. Next morning breakfast is boxed. Errrrr :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matteo from Italy

Excellent

Posted Mar 15, 2012
Great hotel! We will definitely stay there again when we travel to Lynchburg.