Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leesburg, VA

Hotel you'll want to go back to again and again

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Absolutely everything! It is perfect for a romantic couples stay, business travel, or in our case a family attending Liberty University Orientation.
Cons: Everything was perfect.
Location: In the heart of historic Lynchburg, there are many things to see and do--recommend a stop at Oxide Pottery within walking distance of the hotel.
From the moment we walked in the lobby, our decision to stay at the Craddock Terry was solidified by the prompt, informative and attentive service, and the extraordinary character, decor and charm. The room-delivered continental breakfast is both wonderful and convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

Lynchburgh VA bliss

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Style and comfort, and the fact that it's a reuse of old buildings.
Cons: Nothing I can think of
Location: We were driving around, so Blue Ridge. Skyline and so on were in our plans. Pity about the low cloud for that ...
This is an astonishing place. Rooms are huge, and there's little reason to leave them. I don't know what else goes on in Lynchburgh VA, but who needs to know. We had an astonishing deal pricewise, as far as I can work out, but there was no sense of disdain from the staff about that. Restaurant good, although price, but we had pushed the boat out rather. Next time we'll try the pizza/burger offering and not make my credt card's eyes water so much (although I'd be surprised if we get that room rate again). Great breakfast arrangement, might pall with a longer stay but fine for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sj from north carolina

Great historical "haunted" site

Posted May 15, 2014
Loved the shoe related themes. The "shoe box breakfast" was like Christmas for my son and a timesaver for me. Room service was tops. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Sorry, no ghosts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by R from Virginia

Really enjoyed my stay.

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: The hotel was close to Lynchburg College.
The hotel was close to all the locations that I need to get too. The beds were very comfortable! Would stay there again.
2 out of 5
by Chris from Charlotte, NC

No hot water

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Old shoe factory converted into a hotel, high ceilings, exposed woodwork and brick.
Cons: Be responsible for what goes wrong and offer to make it right.
Location: Shoemakers restaurant is right next door or head down Rivermont Ave to Isabella's for some wonderful Italian food.
Love the building and the location. But hard to give a high overall rating when there was no hot water in the morning. I appreciate the fact that things go wrong sometimes however there was no offer to discount the cost of our room or anything else to offset the inconvenience. At $177 tax included you have to do better than that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by KTM from Northern Virginia

Potential for Better

Posted Dec 1, 2013
Pros: stylish beautiful interiors, comfortable bed, nice selection of TV channels, complimentary internet
Cons: would not stay at ground level again to avoid vibrations from the "machinery" below, bathrooms are not well leveled, blinds need to be better fitted
Location: close to downtown. The Pizza place in attached to the hotel was excellent. Also - if you like good coffee - White Hart downtown is a must!!!
We stayed in the hotel on Thanksgiving night, after visiting friends for dinner. The hotel was rather empty on that night. It's beautiful inside and out…the rooms have extremely high ceilings made of wood. The walls are covered with what seems to be leather. The furnitures are stylish and the bed was exceptionally soft an comfortable. The bathroom was enormous, with a large mirror (definitely a bonus), and their beauty products were first class. Breakfast was OK - nice idea - delivered into the room in a "old shoe-shine box". I think I'd rather have an option of hot breakfast. But the place has potential for more! We stayed at the ground level (which I think is level 2 since our room number was 2xx). Right below us was some sort of boiler room/ mechanical room, with constant humming… I can sleep through anything, and my husband can't sleep in a total silence, so ultimately we didn't mind, but it was noticeable and… the floor was vibrating from it. The bathtub and the bathroom itself were not leveled properly. The shower would leak water outside of the tub, and the stream would flow away from the tub, not only throughout the whole bathroom, but also outside of it - requiring significant amount of towels to "tamponade" the flood. Finally, the hotel was lit up in holiday colors from outside - alternating green and red lights along the windows. The window blinds were not covering the widows entirely, so we had a green glare inside our room all night long.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No Go

Posted Nov 21, 2013
While in route to Craddock Terry we were notified of booking error and had to make other arrangements once we arrived in Lynchburg, Virginia. We did however enjoy dinner at The Shoemaker. Restaurant that sits parallel to hotel. I would highly recommend restaurant . Little pricey but food and atmosphere was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Christi from Virginia

Nice Stay

Posted Nov 19, 2013
Friendly staff. Clean and spacious rooms. Convenient pizzeria located in lower level of hotel with nice bar and food. Ample safe parking and close to downtown shopping. Late checkout (Noon). Really a nice treat!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David & Carolyn from Stratford upon Avon. UK

Chose this hotel as short way from Blue Ridge Park

Posted Oct 27, 2013
The Craddock Terry is a fascinating creation of a modern hotel from an old wharehouse factory. The conversion has been to a very high standard with interesting public rooms and roomy bedrooms and great bathrooms. Breakfast is delivered to your room in an old wooden shoe box linking back to the building's histoery. Only a continental breakfast is available and unfortunately the hotel does not provide a restaurant alternative.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sarah from England, UK

The comforts of home in a stylish, boutique hotel

Posted May 6, 2013
Pros: The personal service and the location
Although quite a large hotel, the Craddock Terry still retains an intimate, home from home atmosphere that made us feel glad to come back every evening. All of the staff without exception were friendly and welcoming, and the front desk staff were always particularly helpful in giving us directions to various attractions, restaurants, etc. The hotel was fully booked during our stay but we always found easy parking in the car park. It's in a great location down by the river: we love walking and could walk to restaurants, and along the river trail to the Point of Honour house. I can't imagine going to Lynchburg and staying anywhere else.