Ratings based on 369 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from virginia

Dirty, loud

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Pros: Close to Liberty University
Cons: Clean it and make sure people aren't loud in the halls at 3 in the morning
My feet and socks turned black walking on the carpet! Tiles in the bathroom were cracked and broken. People in the hallways at all hours. You could hear every footstep above you and every conversation in the hall all night long. Internet access was sporadic and breakfast unpalatable. Not worth the money I saved
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Do Not Expect the Ritz

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: The location was great.
Cons: The rooms need to be updated. I had an office chair, but no desk for computer work.
Location: The hotel is convenient to everything at Liberty University.
I was concerned about staying at this hotel, because of a very recent unfavorable review. I went ahead with my stay , because it was non-cancelable or changeable. I took extra sheets, bug spray, cooler, etc., but I was pleasantly surprised that I did not need to use them. This is an okay hotel and it is not one that you would enjoy spending extra unnecessary nights, but the location is excellent. This hotel could be rated as "good," if they would take some "elbow grease" action and develop consistency. You can not check-in early without paying a fee, so be prepared to arrive after 3 pm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for the price and very convenient.

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: Convenience and value
The hotel was fine for my stay and was convenient to my classes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Great value.

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Pros: Value, location
Location: Very close to Liberty University where I had classes for the week.
I appreciated that I could find a safe, clean hotel at an affordable price. The room and staff were fine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina near Asheville

Smoking room

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: affordable...
Cons: rooms could be checked better and cleaned a little better.. maybe use fabris in the smoking rooms
Location: Liberty college is near by..
Had to stay in smoking room so I won't complain about the smell.. It is to be expected. There were 2 dirty towels left on the hook behind the door.. honest mistake most likely by the cleaning crew... The tub would not drain well.. Bed was comfortable. wish we could have gotten a non smoking room..
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2015
Pros: location to university
Cons: Cleanliness of room and updating of the hotel.
The room was at the bare minimum of cleaning standards; the staff was pleasant. It it wasn't for the location of being walking distance across the street from the university (therefore, not requiring a rental vehicle to go to the university functions), we would never stay there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from STAFFORD,VA.

WON;T COME BACK.

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: LOCATIONI NEEDED
Cons: I ASKED FOR ICE FOR MY WATER COOLER, (ONE SCOOP OF ICE) AND WAS TOLD I COULDN'T GET ICE FOR COOLERS. I ONLY NEEDED NO MORE THAN A QUART OF ICE..
Location: EASY TO FIND., & EASY ACCESS TO CITY DESTINATIONS.
WE HAD TO WALK T5HROUGH SMOKERS (EMPLOYEES) TO GET TO THE LOBBY. WE HAD NON SMOKING RESERVATIONS. I NEEDED ICE TO KEEP MY WATER COLD AND WAS TOLD I COULDN'T. THIS WAS A RULE OF THE MOTEL.I ONLY NEEDED A QUART OF ICE. MY RULE IS THAT I WILL NOT STAY AT ANY SUPER 8 HOTEL AGAIN.I WILL NOT RECOMEND SUPER 8 AGAIN , AND NOT GIVE FAVORABLE RECOMENDATIONS TO ANY OF MY ASSOCIATES. ALL BECAUSE OF FIFTEEN CENTS WORTH OF ICE.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Great location, terrible in most every other way

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: The location was the only thing to like.
Cons: Absolutely everything from the whole staff down to the carpet needs to be gotten rid of and replaced.
Location: The university is across the street with its skiing and ice skating centers. There is a large mall nearby.
The hotel was exactly where I wanted to be, across the street from the university. That was basically the only pro. Cons were many. When making the reservation, I asked that a roll away bed be in the room for a special needs child. It was not there and the desk clerk told me that I would be fine without it since two double beds were plenty big enough for two adults and two children. This same clerk told me at check in that there was something wrong with the door lock and I would have a hard time getting in the room. That was quite true as it took usually 8-10 tries before the handle would unlock. Once, I had to go get the clerk and it took him about 10 tries as well. The fridge did not work. The coffee pot had old grounds in it that clogged it so that it would not work. A different front desk clerk first asked if I had plugged it into an outlet that worked since apparently several outlets did not work. Then he told me to bring it down to him and let him clean it and see if it would work. Two days later, I still had no coffee pot in my room. I asked the same clerk if there was a pool and he said "No, unfortunately this is not a 5 star hotel." The carpet in the room was sticky and the fabric shower curtain stunk from the mold all around the bottom of it. When I opened the bottom dresser drawer to put away my clothing, it fell out. The toilet clogged and overflowed and I was told to come down and get the plunger and clean it out myself, then to mop up the water with bath towels.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

noisy guests

Posted Apr 29, 2015 on Hotels
everything was fine except the other guest did not seem to have any concern for anyone else needing to sleep
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by stephanie from Charleston

Review

Posted Apr 27, 2015 on Hotels
The room was not clean at all!! The bed was very hard. It was very loud until late.