Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Richmond, VA

Lovely!

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: We just love this hotel. One free breakfast, free shoe shine. Big beautiful rooms and bathrooms.
Cons: The bathtub stopper could be a little easier to use. A little bit of noise from the restaurant below but not too bad.
Location: Great location for walking around the downtown area. Cute shops. Not far from our favorite restaurant Isabella's in Boonesboro.
While our daughter has been attending college in Lynchburg the past 4 years we have recently discovered this hotel and find it very charming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: The attached restaurant, Waterstone, was excellent! Ate 2 out of 3 meals there.
Location: Unfortunately there's not too much to do in the Downtown area after 2pm on a Saturday, or at all on Sundays. Plan accordingly.
The hotel keeps the wood/metal/brick alive of it's former factory days. Beautiful and clean furnishings. Great attached restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northern, Va

Great hotel

Posted Dec 28, 2014
The niceness of this horel is surprising because it is renovated from an old shoe factory. When we walked into our room we were greered by space and luxury. The only downfall is it is close to a busy rail line.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Leesburg, VA

Hotel you'll want to go back to again and again

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Absolutely everything! It is perfect for a romantic couples stay, business travel, or in our case a family attending Liberty University Orientation.
Cons: Everything was perfect.
Location: In the heart of historic Lynchburg, there are many things to see and do--recommend a stop at Oxide Pottery within walking distance of the hotel.
From the moment we walked in the lobby, our decision to stay at the Craddock Terry was solidified by the prompt, informative and attentive service, and the extraordinary character, decor and charm. The room-delivered continental breakfast is both wonderful and convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London UK

Lynchburgh VA bliss

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Style and comfort, and the fact that it's a reuse of old buildings.
Cons: Nothing I can think of
Location: We were driving around, so Blue Ridge. Skyline and so on were in our plans. Pity about the low cloud for that ...
This is an astonishing place. Rooms are huge, and there's little reason to leave them. I don't know what else goes on in Lynchburgh VA, but who needs to know. We had an astonishing deal pricewise, as far as I can work out, but there was no sense of disdain from the staff about that. Restaurant good, although price, but we had pushed the boat out rather. Next time we'll try the pizza/burger offering and not make my credt card's eyes water so much (although I'd be surprised if we get that room rate again). Great breakfast arrangement, might pall with a longer stay but fine for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sjfrom north carolina

Great historical "haunted" site

Posted May 15, 2014
Loved the shoe related themes. The "shoe box breakfast" was like Christmas for my son and a timesaver for me. Room service was tops. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Sorry, no ghosts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rfrom Virginia

Really enjoyed my stay.

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: The hotel was close to Lynchburg College.
The hotel was close to all the locations that I need to get too. The beds were very comfortable! Would stay there again.
2 out of 5
by Chrisfrom Charlotte, NC

No hot water

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Old shoe factory converted into a hotel, high ceilings, exposed woodwork and brick.
Cons: Be responsible for what goes wrong and offer to make it right.
Location: Shoemakers restaurant is right next door or head down Rivermont Ave to Isabella's for some wonderful Italian food.
Love the building and the location. But hard to give a high overall rating when there was no hot water in the morning. I appreciate the fact that things go wrong sometimes however there was no offer to discount the cost of our room or anything else to offset the inconvenience. At $177 tax included you have to do better than that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by KTMfrom Northern Virginia

Potential for Better

Posted Dec 1, 2013
Pros: stylish beautiful interiors, comfortable bed, nice selection of TV channels, complimentary internet
Cons: would not stay at ground level again to avoid vibrations from the "machinery" below, bathrooms are not well leveled, blinds need to be better fitted
Location: close to downtown. The Pizza place in attached to the hotel was excellent. Also - if you like good coffee - White Hart downtown is a must!!!
We stayed in the hotel on Thanksgiving night, after visiting friends for dinner. The hotel was rather empty on that night. It's beautiful inside and out…the rooms have extremely high ceilings made of wood. The walls are covered with what seems to be leather. The furnitures are stylish and the bed was exceptionally soft an comfortable. The bathroom was enormous, with a large mirror (definitely a bonus), and their beauty products were first class. Breakfast was OK - nice idea - delivered into the room in a "old shoe-shine box". I think I'd rather have an option of hot breakfast. But the place has potential for more! We stayed at the ground level (which I think is level 2 since our room number was 2xx). Right below us was some sort of boiler room/ mechanical room, with constant humming… I can sleep through anything, and my husband can't sleep in a total silence, so ultimately we didn't mind, but it was noticeable and… the floor was vibrating from it. The bathtub and the bathroom itself were not leveled properly. The shower would leak water outside of the tub, and the stream would flow away from the tub, not only throughout the whole bathroom, but also outside of it - requiring significant amount of towels to "tamponade" the flood. Finally, the hotel was lit up in holiday colors from outside - alternating green and red lights along the windows. The window blinds were not covering the widows entirely, so we had a green glare inside our room all night long.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No Go

Posted Nov 21, 2013
While in route to Craddock Terry we were notified of booking error and had to make other arrangements once we arrived in Lynchburg, Virginia. We did however enjoy dinner at The Shoemaker. Restaurant that sits parallel to hotel. I would highly recommend restaurant . Little pricey but food and atmosphere was excellent.