Ratings based on 1,143 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom humble TX

Posted May 18, 2015
Even thought the stay did. Not include free breakfast, this hotel was very nice and comfortable. The restaurant off the lobby offers a nice breakfast in a quiet pleasant atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Miami, Florida

A hotel that caters

Posted May 12, 2015
I've stayed at the Kirkley a 3 times for a few intensive courses at Liberty University. They never disappoint!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice place to stay. Great staff.

Posted Apr 30, 2015
It was a wonderful place to stay I will stay here again. I will refer to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2015
This was our first visit and was most impressed. We will be staying here again when we visit the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom VA

Nice hotel for business trips.

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Really nice! Huge room and very clean. Awesome staff! Will be staying there again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice but not very quiet

Posted Apr 27, 2015
The hotel staff was very nice. There was always someone at the front door to greet you. The downsize was the noise. You could hear every door open and close in the hall. Normally I would turn the HVAC fan to "on" and that helps drown out the noise. The fan didn't work. So we turned on the AC. It kicked on like a bomb going off and then went off to full silence. This happened every 30 minutes or so. If the fan setting would work on a constant level it would have been better BUT it did not.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Clinton, NJ

Call it a nice 3-STAR, Overall Modern and Comfy

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Modern, Comfortable
Location: within a five mile radius there is nearly every store and restaurant you could want.
When I read a review I want to know as much as possible. OVERALL we enjoyed our stay. The room was clean, bed (King Size) was VERY Comfortable (on the softer side, but we slept great). Everything in the room worked perfectly. The SHOWER was fabulous (had a rain-shower head!) The air conditioners of other rooms were audible in ours (we didn't have ours running on the first day, but did use it the 2nd and worked well), but overall a quiet spot (we were on the rear-side of the building on 3rd Floor). The breakfast buffet was $10.00 plus tax and was worth it, however it's about the same as you'd get at a hotel with a free-breakfast... There were some little issues - patio furniture was a bit weathered and wicker was broken, vent in our bathroom was clearly dirty/dusty, a lamp didn't work in our room, but OVERALL We'd happily come back to stay at this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved staying here!

Posted Apr 26, 2015
We stayed here for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our time. Beautiful, historical hotel right on the river with two great restaurants downstairs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: Very comfortable and spacious rooms.
Very nice hotel. The food in the Great Room restaurant was excellent. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom South Carolina

Very good hotel in general and excellent for price

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: The staff, from front desk to breakfast chef, knew what they were doing. The place is clean. Even in low traffic areas, you don't spot cobwebs, etc.
Cons: Smokers are a nasty lot with butts, ashes and spilled drinks as part of their trail. Moving them away from the front door would help maintain appeal.
The Kirkley is not the Washington Mayflower or similar top-level, big-city hotel. But, when compared to upscale, name-brand hotels in the Lynchburg area, the Kirkley stands right there with them and does so at an excellent price. By any measure used to evaluate a property (grounds, lobby, rooms, baths, parking, etc.), I had to give high marks when price is part of the consideration.