Ratings based on 384 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC

Not ready for prime time!

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: The only good thing is that because it is brand new, everything is new/clean.
Cons: This property will be nice once it is finished, but crazy to have guests at this point and charge them over $150/night. Fire front desk staff.
Location: On a hill above Liberty University.
This property should not be taking guests yet. It is totally under construction. Facilities are NOT ready for guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Everything was good

Posted Feb 12, 2015 on Hotels.com
Was under construction but was still fine. Pool was closed. Pool was also closed last year when I went same time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Nancyfrom Landenberg, PA

Great place for Liberty University parents

Posted Jan 18, 2015 on Hotels.com
We stay at this hotel when we come visit our son at Liberty University. We love the friendly, homey atmosphere with all the staff ready to serve their guests with any needs. The views from the guest room windows is beautiful, overlooking the vast Liberty University campus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 15, 2015 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by nancyfrom Elkton

LU parent

Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels.com
Hotel was very clean, nice and quiet(unlike others in the area), breakfast was okay, would have liked to have seen more hot items. Would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Weekend

Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels.com
Trip was just for the weekend, Hotel was nice, but it would have been nice to know ahead of time the hotel was under renovation and the pool was closed. Also renovation work was ongoing throughout the day, even on the weekend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Annefrom Richmond, VA

Inform people that renovation is going on

Posted Dec 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
While very nice, this hotel is being renovated, and I didn't know this when I booked the room. I didn't expect to spend Christmas in a construction site, so this was a surprise. There were other surprises including no housekeeping service on Christmas Day and an unusable electrical outlet for the coffee maker which required a couple of trips to the front desk. Without the services that came with the hotel description, it would have been decent for the management to offer a reduction in what I paid. This didn't happen, and I doubt I'll stay at a Wingate again.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom va beach

Nice view of city

Posted Dec 25, 2014
Nice view of city of Lynchburg. We could not switch our room for a room with a view because we booked through expedia according to hotel staff. The hotel was under renovation for almost a year...hardly any other guests were staying. The breakfast was just okay. The gym was locked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice and clean

Posted Dec 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very comfortable and clean. Staff was exceptionally friendly
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well it's been better

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Staff was friendly
Cons: Wait until after the Christmas season to begin the remodel.
Location: Liberty U and TRBC
Under construction and remodel - very messy inside and outside