Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David

Near the old town which is full of character.

Posted Aug 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
My wife and I were not too impressed by the hotel. The room, which is entirely decorated in white, makes it easier to spot defects and uncleanliness. We did not find the hotel staff particularly friendly. They definitely lack the enthusiasm to serve. The amenities were bare, both in the room and the hotel itself. Free coke and mineral water is a good touch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by MB

A unique hotel experience

Posted May 19, 2012 on Hotels.com
Good hotel with helpful staff. Hotel is older, but with modern touches. Good location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great location/unique decor. Highly recommend.

Posted Nov 29, 2011
Very well located in Old Lyon. Beautiful & unique school-theme decor. However, rooms are all white and minimalist. As I was travelling by myself, I was given a very small room. That said, there are more spacious rooms available. Water & cold beverages are provided by the hotel at no additional cost which is a nice touch. I enjoyed the nice dining/breakfast room and its original decor. Staff was courteous & professional. I recommend this hotel and would go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Charming whimsical hotel!

Posted Oct 10, 2011 on Hotels.com
I would highly recommend this charming hotel. It is designed like a primary school, with great attention to detail. We didn't try the restaurant so I can't tell you how the food is. the parking is a bit of a nuisance since it is in a cramped area and you need assistance to get at your car. But the balcony overlooked Vieux Lyon and the view was spectacular. The room was immaculate and the hotel is in a great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 29, 2011 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2011 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Madrid

College Hotel - alternative hotel in the Old Lyon

Posted Nov 29, 2010 on Hotels.com
College Hotel is in Old Lyon. You can expect the hotel furnished simply but presented in such a way you want to smile all the time. Perhaps a bit pricey for what you get. Try and decide for the next time - it is worth it especially when combined with other "alternatives" of Lyon such as the public "velo" system.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Columbia, SC

Bare Bones Room. Nice Location

Posted Aug 23, 2010
This is supposed to be a 3 star hotel. Positives first. Hotel was clean. Location was very good for exploring the Lyon Old Town on foot. The breakfast was priced well and ample with cheese, bread, meats, cereal juices and dairy products. The staff was pleasant and their English excellent. The room was quiet, the internet free and cold soda and water was available free from a cooler on each floor. The hotel is themed (?) as a boarding school and it is carried to the extreme. We had a third cycle room (top-price) and the furniture comprised two concrete building blocks (nightstands), a metal locker for a closet with cubby-holes for drawers. The only usable flat surface in the room was a 0.5 x 1.0 meter "desk". There was no clock, coffee/tea maker. The room was quite small, even for a European hotel, especially when the room is supposed the best. Inquiry led us to believe that the extra money simply got us a room higher up in the hotel where there was less noise. The bathroom was unusually large but the tub had no anti-slip on the bottom nor was there a shower curtain. One bath and one hand towel was provided per guest. The towels were rough and took me back to gym days. This hotel advertises "Select Comfort" (their caps) beds. They were not present and staff seemed not to know what they were. There is a coin laundry a short walk away. There are many restaurants offering regional food. Be careful when you choose. Food was authentic but the cooks could not cook!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 9, 2010 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Themed hotel in Vieux Lyon

Posted Apr 29, 2010 on Hotels.com
Great location in Vieux Lyon, we did not have any problems with noise on the 3rd floor. Soft drinks & water at no extra cost was a nice gesture. The school theme throughout is cute and consistent. Did not eat on site, so many cafes nearby to choose from. Also convenient to the C3 bus that took us to the Part Dieu train station.