Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Some gross rooms in a moderate hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Noisy, avoid room 9, not worth the money unless you want to be in that exact location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

1 night stay in Lyon

Posted May 28, 2014
Four adults stayed here for 1 night. Walking distance to everything. Very clean room. Our room would have been perfect for a family with 1 full bed and 3 bunk beds but the bunk beds fit the adults just fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dorothy from Irvine, CA

Good location

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: Location and price
Cons: Needs modernizing. But the step up to the bathroom was the biggest downside.
The Bayard is in a great location on the Bellecour plaza, within easy walking distance to sites, restaurants, and shops and close to the metro. The staff was helpful and welcoming. The room and beds were comfortable, and the shower was great. The decor, while seemingly trying to be like old world elegance, was outdated. There was a step up to the bathroom that required remembering so as not to trip when entering or fall when leaving. There is no place in the bathroom to store toiletries. There is no elevator, so luggage has to be carried up at least one flight of stairs, depending on which level your room is located. I would recommend the hotel because the price and location were quite good, and the room was quiet - just the few things mentioned bring it down to a somewhat lower rating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Boston

Excellent location and price/performance ratio

Posted May 24, 2014
Pros: Location, price, quiet, charm.
Cons: The internet was in flux while I was there -- when it worked it was great. Also, a little more attention to the entry corridor would be nice.
Location: Everything in Lyon can be walked to, or the metro is just there if further away. Eat!
I stayed for business, and having a lot of work with the US east coast, ended up working at the hotel in the early evening. I did want to enjoy the culinary pleasures of Lyon, so wanted to be in the middle of things although my work was at U Lyon 1. It worked very well for me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Debbie from UK

Business Trip

Posted Apr 8, 2014
This was only a one night stopover for a buisness trip and I wanted a hotel in the Centre of Lyon which this one is, close to restaurants which was another tick. The staff are very friendly and speak good English and our rooms were clean and comfortable. My colleague did have a dodgy lock on her door and could not get out, but called reception and this was very quickly sorted out. Continental breakfast, but quite a lot of choice and was very nice. Lots of steps to reception - not sure if they have a lift as we were ok with using the stairs. I wouls cetainly stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel in a perfect location.

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Cons: the room temperature was a bit too hot at night, could have done with some air-con or a fan
Location: perfect
perfect location, nice tidy clean quiet room, good blackout blinds, friendly staff, great values for money. The hotel offers no facilities other than B&B facilities but being right in the city centre, you don't need them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Robert from Naples, Italy

Good location, nice hotel for the price

Posted Nov 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Centrally located, this hotel shows its age but is otherwise a good base of operations for a stay in Lyon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by t from Houston, Texas, USA

Good place to stay

Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel was quite comfortable. I had the smallest room layout. There was barely any room to move around. Other than the size (which was expected) everything was very comfortable. The staff spoke English well enough and were very friendly and accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Fredfr from London, UK

central, simple and friendly

Posted Apr 20, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: nothing
Location: extremely central
Simple and very central, staff was very nice and helpful. Perfect for visiting the city !
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Kay

Posted Mar 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was very well located with a friendly, accommodating, English speaking staff. My room was updated and comfortable. Some elegant artwork (framed architectural drawings of the areas buildings for example) on the walls would have been lovely but I appreciated the warm tones and clean white bedding. Free wifi worked out well. The Place Bellecour is a center of activity both above and below ground (it is a major transfer station for the Metro). Both banks of the river and many sights are within walking distance. A pleasant experience!